We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place good location, BUT NO A/C”
Review of Breakwaters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyannis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breakwaters
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We spend very good time at this place, room was clean enough, but wasn' t ready at the time of arrival (4pm). Pool is clean, water is warm. Kitchen has everything what you need. Room service was done daily and good. NO A/C!!!! If it is hot outside inside like sauna. Generally good place and i will go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 37 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2010

We have been staying at The Breakwaters for several years and it just keeps getting better and better. The location is perfect - the beach is so close and you can easily walk to Main Street or to the ferry docks -- it is only a mile. We have stayed in several different cottages and have some favorites but they are all well equipped with everything you need. We love that each unit has a deck with grill, tables and chairs -- and umbrella. Many of the units have views of the water -- and the breeze from the ocean is wonderful on hot and humid days (and nights). The manager and his staff couldn't be more helpful. Everyone is friendly and they make you feel very welcome. We are on our way back for another week this Saturday and can't wait. It is so relaxing and comfortable - a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libbyspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Very bad service and attitude.

The checkout time is 10 am and although the front desk person agreed for one hour checkout delay, the owner -may be manager- asked us to pack and leave at 10 am. If you plan to have visitors, even during the day, get permission first! The 3 bedroom unit we were in had no paved parking.

Very old cottages. Daughter got small rash/bites on hand when she woke up in the morning. Bedding is below average.

The pool is small, maximum 5 ft depth and was not heated on the first day.

Also, a purse was stolen at local Olive Garden. Police complaint is made. May be a bad town, go to nearby Yarmouth.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prav33n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

If you're looking for a relaxing beach vacation then the Breakwaters is perfect! It is just steps to Sea Street Beach, and there's also a nice pool on the property. It's about a 10 -15 minute walk to the Main Street shopping area. The grounds are clean and well-kept, the staff are very helpful and friendly. Our 2 bedroom cottage was a disappointment at first, but after a day or two we got used to it. Being so close to the ocean it smelled damp and musty, so we had the windows open the whole time to get the ocean breeze. There was no fan in our room, although I noticed fans in the other cottages. The cottage in itself was very 'dated'. It was cleaned daily, the towels were always fresh, and we did get used to the slightly musty smell. The kitchen looked old. The fridge worked well, but the stove didn't. Only 3 rings worked, and the temperature numbers on the oven were worn off, so we never knew how hot the oven was. One tv didn't work, some lamps had broken switches, the telephone didn't work, a shelf broke, and the sofa bed was terrible to sleep on ... maintenance in the cottage is definitely needed.
However, we did enjoy our vacation - although I'm not sure if we'd go back to the Breakwaters again. If we did, I would definitely request a more 'up to date' cottage.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyBees4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

The Breakwaters location is excellent. One minute walk to the beach and two minute drive to town. I was so excited to find a place available for our last minute vacation, that I never asked if there was air conditioning. That was our only downfall - it was very hot. Even at night. They had a large fan in the room but it was HOT. We asked for another fan two times but it never came. The cottage itself was clean enough, the bathroom very nice. The kitchen really had everything we needed too. Maid service is great to have in a cottage also. It is a nice ,average place, with an above average location.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gerifray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

This past June was our second visit in two years at The Breakwaters and third in 6 years in Cape Cod. We stayed in unit 5A (1 bedroom). We have two young girls (5 and 7).

The girls stayed together on the sofa in the living room at night and we had a superbe room for my wife and I.

It's a perfect set-up! Not too big and very afordable...don't forget, you are on vacation so likely to visit other places on the cape during your stay....so the unit that we were in was perfect (you're there to sleep, eat, relax)......who needs a 3 bedroom for that!

The place is very clean, cozy and 2 minutes away from the beach so the kids can go to the bathroom or go back to the cottage in no time during a day at the beach.

For those of you who enjoy pool, there is one on premises. You have all the amenities of your home in those cottages; kitchenette, TV, DVD, oven, micro-wave and all the utensils needed included fire starter for the provided BBQ.

It's 5 minutes away from downtown Hyannis (the port, boutiques, restaurants, museum) but also 2 minutes from the beach....You are also 6 minutes from Hyannis port where you can take the ferrie to Martha's Vineyard or Nantucket or book a sailing tour or better for kids; go on a pirate ship!

The manager (James) is very nice and takes care of you. There is a maid service 6 days a week; very convenient with kids. Nice patio outside overlooking the beach and nice breeze during the night.

Even in the last week of June, the water at the Breakwater's beach was warm (around 72F-74F).

I would recommended to anyone, we brought friends this year with us and they enjoyed it very much.

There's nothing like life at the beach!


Benoit and family

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BenQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We have stayed at the Breakwaters three times in the past ten years and have always found it a wonderful place to stay with our children.

However, this time was not the same. We stayed in the 3 bedroom unit , were able to get early summer rates for the week of the 4th, so we were very excited about going.

We arrived and the unit was a bit older than the ones we have stayed in the past, but spacious. Once we began to look around the pans were all rusted and not usable, the stove had a broken burners, However we figured not a big deal we grill mostly anyhow.

The second night we were there my daughter woke me , she is 12, saying she was being bitten in her bed. We pulled back her covers only to find small black bugs in her bed, and bites all over her legs. We lifted the mattress and found several more of these insects on the white dust ruffle.

Went to the office in the am. and told them, said they would remove all of it and replace it with new.

Came back and the same mattress was there(very old) just new bedding..we think...

Later that evening, I was in the master bathroom lifted my hairdryer and a cockroach ran across my clothing from the sink, I showed my husband and he confimed it was one (worked for a Terminx for years), he then told me he had killed one earlier in the day in our daughters bedroom under the top covers, but didn't want to tell us.

That was it for me. With the office now closed for the night we called the emergency number, the gentleman said he couldn't help us and that he could not/would not contact James we would have to wait for him in the morning.

Long story short, we left that evening because none of us could sleep.

Left a detailed note with the keys, tried to call James 4 times in the past 2 days yet he has NEVER returned our call. Emailed, again never returned our call. We are now out 1500.00 for 2 nights of a bug infested room.

This was our vacation...

I would NO LONGER recommend this place to anyone , especially since James took over the office details.

Not getting back to someone to me is just plain ignorant!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank unhappyguest16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyannis hotels
2.7 mi away
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#10 of 22 in Hyannis
59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cape Cod Hyannis
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.1 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#5 of 22 in Hyannis
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwaters

Address: 432 Sea St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4855
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hyannis
Price Range: $95 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Breakwaters Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing