We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boz Scaggs and Michael MacDonald”

Cape Cod Melody Tent
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest continuously-operating tent theaters-in-the-round in the US, along with our sister venue the South Shore Music Circus in Cohasset. A 2,300-seat summer, open-air theatre that hosts national artists and comedians on a revolving stage. No seat is more than 50 feet from the stage!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Cape Cod Melody Tent is a one of a kind place to go to. Its elligence has remained untouched since the 70s, No seat is a bad seat there. Boz Scaggs and Michael MacDonald played just like it was the 80s. Fabulous show never to be missed!!!

Thank MaryinNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"revolving stage"
in 25 reviews
"beach boys"
in 15 reviews
"no bad seats"
in 12 reviews
"four tops"
in 6 reviews
"great place to see a show"
in 5 reviews
"concert venue"
in 4 reviews
"cape cod"
in 25 reviews
"intimate setting"
in 6 reviews
"great seats"
in 3 reviews
"parking lot"
in 5 reviews
in 34 reviews
in 25 reviews
in 26 reviews
in 18 reviews
in 9 reviews
in 14 reviews
in 11 reviews

133 - 137 of 242 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We are very grateful to have such a wonderful venue here on Cape Cod. The Melody tent brings such great entertainment to our backyard. It often feels like your own private concert. My only suggestion is that it can be very hot in the summer months, dress accordingly.

Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I went to the July 6th performance of Boz Scaggs. This was my first time at this venue It was hot and humid outside and just miserable inside the tent.They had no fans, no air conditioning, and no way of opening up the top of the ten to let in some air. It was like a sauna inside. I did like that the seats were close, but having the revolving stage I quickly realized 2/3rds of the time I was behind the band, not in front. The seats are not very wide, and I felt like I was in the middle seat on a cheap airliner.For some reason(to sell more overpriced alcohol to more people?? ya think?) the venue lets people bring alcohol back into the tent. Just my luck as some drunk knuckleheads behind me were and acting stupid. It wouldn't take a lot to make this a better place to see a show. Maybe the owners ought to sit in the regular seats sometime.

Thank quinburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirMktg, Public Relations Manager at Cape Cod Melody Tent, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Being an outside concert venue the weather does vary and is something we cannot control. There are openings at the top of the tent which allows some heat to escape but it is true that it can get very hot on a humid night. Our concession prices are the same as other large music venues in the area. The tent is made up of all the same seats. There is no special seating due to the venue being a theatre in the round. Suggestions are always welcome on how to improve the venue and create a better experience for patrons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to see Michael MacDonald and Boz Scags over the 4th of July weekend. We had not been to the Melody Tent in a few years. I forgot how great the seating is. As the stage revolves, you get a great view of the performers. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The prices inside for refreshments are a bit high, like every where else

Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is a good venue to see a concert. More intimate than larger places. On a hot, humid evening the accommodations are brutal. I just can't see why there is not some way air can be circulated in the tent. Is there not some type of fan that can be installed? Would still go back but pray that it is a cool evening.

Thank HappyDestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Cod Melody Tent also viewed


Been to Cape Cod Melody Tent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing