We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least do it once.”

Cape Cod Potato Chips
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Hyannis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This busy assembly line produces 150,000 to 200,000 bags of chips a day.
Pickering Ont.
Level Contributor
230 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
“At least do it once.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Everyone has seen Cape Cod chips, so if you're in the area it's nice to say you've at least been to the factory where they are made. It's a self guided tour, which doesn't take long, and the good thing is it's free. When we were finished the tour, a big thunder and lightening storm hit and we were stuck there for awhile before it passed over. The staff there were so nice to us , knowing we couldn't leave, and let us try out the different flavors of chips while we waited. So we had a great time there.!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachglassgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    192
    152
    34
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Imperia, Italy
Level Contributor
268 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“As said before: Waste of time”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

You are in and out in 5 minutes with a self guiding tours and poor information about how they produce chips.
I visited lots of factories in the past where the process of making something was way more informative.
This tour is mostly for people with kids I would say.
We passed 3 members of staff, no one greeted us :-(
A complete waste of time! And you don't even get fresh chips at the end of the tour. Instead you can take 2 small bags of chips.
The idea was good but after the tour, you don't know more about the process of making.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaurentCL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“interesting short tour”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

an interesting insight into how potatoe crisps (or chips as tey say in usa) are made.it is a short tour as other reviews have stated,but interesting and informative.i would never have guessed this was how they put different flavours on the chips.a worthwhile but short free tour,just dont expect a disney experiance.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank xxx186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had a good time doing the tour and seeing how these little gems of a chip were made. The smell of them cooking makes you hungry, and the little gift shop has plenty of samples to bring home for loved ones! Inexpensive, and informative, clean and quick, it's worthwhile doing the tour if you're a fan of these chips, for sure.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogadragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“quick self tour”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

it was short but intresting for the kids , they get to see briefly how the chips are mad. You just walk down a short hallway by windows to the factory. But the best part its free !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank amy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Cod Potato Chips also viewed

 

Been to Cape Cod Potato Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing