We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach!”
Review of Kalmus Beach

Ranked #5 of 37 things to do in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Its convenient location makes Kalmus one of the Hyannis area's most popular beaches.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
416 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great beach!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Beach was beautiful; nice warm waters! A little quieter, more couples/family oriented than Craigville. Parking was easy, though we also arrived right when the lot opened. Only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is the price of parking -- $20. Wish it was a little less! But, still a great choice of beach. Snack stand and restrooms are convenient as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jays165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    103
    31
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Bring your speedo!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great beach without the crowds of the more well known beaches. Swimming is fair but okay for wading. Very relaxing... No problem if you want to wear your speedo. I did and had a great time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank James637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice and Convenient Beach”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Went there shoulder season and the beach was deserted. Nice calm water and lots of shells. Kids enjoyed splashing around, as the water was not too cold. We did not have to pay since it was before season, but it also meant that the facilities were closed and we could only use one dripping outside shower. Nice beach and very convenient.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hidden in Plain Sight”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We used to take a summer place within walking distance of Kalmus Beach, and never bothered to go there because we thought a beach so close to the ferries would be dirty. How wrong we were. Kalmus Beach is probably the best public beach in Hyannis!

Although the beach is close to the most congested part of town, it feels like it is located in a secluded cove. It is quiet and clean, and the water is very calm. My kids really enjoyed swimming there, and we all had a great time finding shells. It was fun to look out at all the boats moored in the area, and to watch the ferryboats leaving for Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard.

This beach offers ample parking, clean restrooms and a good snack bar.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonSummerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet gem of a beach”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent a quiet morning at Kalmus and were the only family on the beach! Our girls loved collecting shells and playing on the beach. It was safe, clean and relaxing, and walkable distance to restaurants, coffee and the downtown. Parking was fine in the morning and was free.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shann346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalmus Beach also viewed

 

Been to Kalmus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing