We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poingant reminder of a famous family”

John F Kennedy Hyannis Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Full-Day Provincetown Land and Sea Scenic Tour
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The John F. Kennedy Hyannis Museum Foundation preserves and promotes the legacy of President Kennedy, his family, and their deep connection to Cape Cod. John F. Kennedy Hyannis Museum is a multimedia exhibit designed to open a window on the days JFK spent on Cape Cod; days relaxing with family, days as President of the United Sates when the Cape provided a time to relax and be reinvigorated and days spent sailing on the ocean to which he was so constantly drawn. The Museum's exhibits features videos and photographs spanning the years 1934 to 1963 and is arranged in thematic groupings to reflect John F. Kennedy, his family, his friends and the Cape Cod he so dearly loved. In addition to photography, a video narrated by Walter Cronkite depicts the president's experiences on the Cape. Several themed areas include charged oral histories of JFK's friends.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A poingant reminder of a famous family”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is more a museum of the Kennedy family life in their summer home at Hyannis Port. Some excellent photography and video. The visit was a very moving experience for anyone who lived through that period.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mmbcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    258
    136
    48
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Focus is on the Kennedy family's time on Cape Cod”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

If you're looking for a museum that shows JFK's life and legend, get in your car and drive to the Kennedy library in Boston. This small, but lovingly maintained, museum focuses on the Kennedy family's love for Cape Code. There are many photographs, a few artifacts, and a short video narrated by Cape Cod. The staff are extremely friendly and proud of their famous neighbors. The museum is a nice little stop while in Hyannis.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“JFK & FAMILY, RELAXING AT THE CAPE!!iw”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This museum is so much different from the one in Dorchester.
We heard about this one in Hyannis and we were in Boston so my husband called to find out the hours they are open. He talked to a gentleman by the name of John Allen, and he told my husband that they would not open for about a week. We were leaving to go back to Callifornia in a couple of days and were really counting on going to this museum. He told my husband that he would tell his assistant Jennifer that we were coming and would give her our names. She would be there preparing for the opening. When we arrived, sure enough, Jennifer and a woman named Barbara were there and let us in. The museum had a lot of pictures and articles we had never seen before. They said a lot were from the Kennedy compound. Some you almost wanted to touch to bring those days back. Their was one special one of President Kennedy in casual clothes with his arm around a 30 or 40 something John Jr. (So Touching). It is not as big as the one in Dorchester but so heartwarming. (Try to go to this one if you have the time)
We Really Have To Thank Mr. Allen for opening it up to complete strangers, we could have stole stuff or broke stuff but he just trusted US, Thank You John Alenn.
We also went to THE CAPE COD BASEBALL MUSEUM & HALL OF FAME that is in the basement of the JFK MUSEUM.
If you like baseball you will love this one. It has so many items, I think it took us about 2 to 3 hours to go through it. It was AWSOME and no one even came down to check us, that's called. TRUST.
As we were leaving we ran into Mr. Allen and talked to him about both museums and how much we
enjoyed them and he told us that they will be increasing them in the future.
In a couple of years we'll be sure to go back to these museums to see the new updates.

P.S. Because they did not charge us admission we left a donation.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Salle, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cape Cod Museum”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We visited this museum and even though it was small it was loaded with photographs and stories of the Kennedys growing up in Hyannis all the way through JFK's presidential years. It was very informative and located right in old town like you you were walking down the street in the 1950's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“JFK's Early Years In Hyannis”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Wonderful photos and history of JFK years spent on the Cape. Worth a visit. Photos include the entire Kennedy family from the 1920's through JFK as President of the US.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYCBX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John F Kennedy Hyannis Museum also viewed

 

Been to John F Kennedy Hyannis Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing