We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile”
Review of Little Chef

Little Chef
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Beware, those who try this thinking that Heston still has anything to do with it, for he hasn't for a long time.
The food is distinctly average and very over-priced for what it is.
I would imagine that the service can also be extremely poor.
On the day I visited, however, we were greeted at the door by a smiling Jodie, who made every effort to ensure our visit was memorable for the right reasons. Not perfect, but she went out of her way to please us.
It just shows what a difference one member of staff can make.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    31
    27
    21
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We have stopped regularly at this little chef since the Heston makeover. It used to have jolly staff. Good tasty food, fresh bread, tasty sausages and innocent smoothies for the kids. The service was friendly. Last Saturday we stopped with our children and it was a totally awful place. Staff were lazy and rude, seemed incapable of clearing tables, taking orders or smiling. We paid 3;50 each for five sausage sandwiches. Gone are the tasty decent sausages replaced by the cheapest worst quality sausages you can imagine and you get one sausage finely sliced in two pieces of cheap white bread for your money. Bread was not buttered and we had to ask for some. The bread used to be fresh bread from a crusty loaf. No sensible drinks for small children. We will never go back, this place is a total rip off and little chef you don't deserve to survive if this is what you now offer. This place was great and is now terrible, please don't go there anyone, you would be better off stopping at tesco in Winchester or andover a buying a sandwich for breakfast.

Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A34 northbound - avoid it if you can”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Wanted to stop off for late breakfast - told minimum wait 20 minutes Tables not cleared & dirty Many people waiting. Little Chef Express staff patronising & rude Family in front wanted kids meal deals only to be told "no kids crisps no meal deal" No please, Thankyou or sorry & staff laughing at customers Needless to say we didn't make a purchase & went to McDonalds instead.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cymruwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Where is Heston when you need him ?”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed at the worst travel lodge next door and used this for breakfast...in desperate need for a face lift...carpets filthy with food not picked up...pancakes cold and rubbery clearly not freshly made but heated up ! Breakfast wrap processed rubbery flattened and veggie sausage sandwich dry like cardboard. What a waste of money. Young blonde eastern European waitress lovely but miserable older women in charge rude and no customer service ! Expensive and poor standards. Never again. Thought they had all had make over but clearly not .

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Did not even wait to eat.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

On Friday at 1.30pm we stopped off at the Little Chef for lunch. We had been here a few times soon after the make-over and had always been very happy with the service and food. Not this time!!!!There was 1 couple in front of us waiting to be seated and a group of youngsters busy paying their bill. There was a man and a woman standing behind the counter and we heard the man tell the couple in front of us 3 times that they were clearing a table for them. The woman completely ignored everyone at the counter. She did not even look at us. We did not see anyone clearing any tables and the one section looked like a storage room with all sorts of cookers etc piled in the room. The few tables that were in that section were covered with dirty plates and trays not cleared up. After standing there for 10 minutes without even being acknowledged and looking at the chaos around us - we decided to walk out the door and went elsewhere to eat. What happened to the service that Heston suggested for this place soon after they revamped? We will not bother to go back to this Little Chef again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireSaffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Chef also viewed

Barton Stacey, Hampshire
Andover, Hampshire
 
Barton Stacey, Hampshire
Sutton Scotney, Hampshire
 

Been to Little Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing