We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must experience Hacienda San Jose Pachul for yourself”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinchil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda San Jose Pachul
Ranked #1 of 1 Kinchil B&B and Inns
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You must experience Hacienda San Jose Pachul for yourself”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

There is a certain poetry of place that is created by light, color, sound and shape that meet at a particular place in time. It is the magic of a place that touches us, a special space and time that we occupy; this is what Hacienda San Jose Pachul is to me.

The hosts, Jose and Richard, are experts at creating meals and memories that remain with you. The bar is a laboratory of laughter. We had special margaritas made by Jose. He also makes a dirty martini that can change your entire view of the world.

The food is prepared and presented with great care and looks like art, almost too beautiful and delicate to eat. It is absolutely delicious. From the appetizers to the desserts, each dish is a blend of unique fragrances and flavors. You will close your eyes as you taste it. It is indeed the stuff that poetry is made of. Get yourself there and experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtanoury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJosePachul, Owner at Hacienda San Jose Pachul, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit! We enjoyed having you and your friends partake of our hospitality. Your words are so kind, we know it was a special day and we are so pleased that you had the experience you so beautifully described. We truly look forward to your next visit! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

had the pleasure of dining a hcda San Jose Pachul today. Incredible - we lingered over lunch/dinner for 6 hours, and never once felt rushed to leave. The food was amazing, every course served with care and precision, fresh place settings, and grace. just a short drive outside Merida and you are in this oasis. We've not yet stayed overnight, but will. The rooms are amazing, the grounds an oasis, and oh just the thought of breakfast...

Room Tip: doesn't matter which room you choose, they are all beautiful and private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJosePachul, Owner at Hacienda San Jose Pachul, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
The pleasure was ours! We are happy that you found your dining experience to be what you described. This is exactly the type of experience that we want to give all of our guests. Thank you for appreciating it so much! We look forward to a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a great getaway afternoon for a bunch of foodies! This gem in the Yucatan is not to be missed if you want a dining experience usually reserved for Michelin starred restaurants. Richard and Jose could not be more welcoming, the ambiance is rustic but chic, and the food, local and fresh, is out of this world. We did not stay overnight, but did view the rooms available and look forward to an overnight stay in the future, the rooms are beautifully appointed and are reminiscent of a fine spa. Who knew you could find this level of comfort and food less than an hour from Merida!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJosePachul, Owner at Hacienda San Jose Pachul, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to have you here with your friends and give you all a bit of pampering! We look forward to a return visit next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Well where to start, I guess first and foremost with Richard and Jose (a big thank you). They literally invite you into their home and what a home it's beautiful, charming and relaxing. Just the right mix of modern and modern Mexican. Great art work spread around the rooms along with art gallery white and strong earth tone colours just my palette.

The food is just beyond description each dish holding some little surprised like Yucateco Sheppard's Pie with a whole chicken breast that is hidden at the bottom of the dish. We our group who try to visit new places a couple of times a month have been twice now. The first time we met another group of people we knew and they left like us counting the time that they could return. The second time it was to celebrate several birthdays and had the whole place to ourselves. Again the food outstanding and would stand up anywhere in the world and would end up being in the top ten of where ever you could pick.

The food and wine selection is perfect, I come away fully satisfied and it's not often that you can say that.

All of our group decided to give the the very top marks and wish that we could put a "Plus" beside it. Don't be put off by the drive it soon fades into the background and if you imbibe too much I'm sure a room could be found for you. The rooms are lovely and would make a great start to any vacation.

Well done Richard and Jose, Vancouver's loss is our gain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenandpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJosePachul, Owner at Hacienda San Jose Pachul, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your return visit. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your friends to the Hacienda. And, thank you for your very kind words regarding your visit. It is wonderful to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves so much. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

During our six weeks in the Yucatan, my wife and I received a tip from a well traveled gourmet about a hidden paradise less than an hour from Merida. Hacienda San Jose Pachul is an exceptional property for those who want to experience beauty, exquisite architecture, relaxation, affable hosts and, for us, the best food experience we have had anywhere in the Yucatan, or, for that matter, anywhere in Mexico. Richard and Jose, the two hosts and owners, transformed this old hacienda into a stunning two bedroom retreat. The rooms, one very colonial and one Mexican modernist, were inviting, both with a design hotel palette and architectural detail one rarely finds on the hacienda circuit. In fact, we were both reminded of our recent stays in the Aman and Serai hotels throughout Indonesia. The brilliant colors of Mexico, the pool, the indoor and outdoor bars, the terraces and the landscaping were all created with the utmost of detail and design. But for us, the number one reason to visit was the five star gourmet dining experience, clearly the finest food we found on our extended Mexico vist. On our first visit for lunch, four of us delighted in a cold red onion and watermelon soup and a leek, potato and cabbage bisque--exceptional! For the mains we selected a poblano chile with chicken and a Mayan shepherd's pie filled with beef, onions, olives, dried fruit and almonds, with a banana crust encasing the entire dish--delightful! We also sampled the grilled achote' chicken breast, with chorizo and spinach stuffing and guajillo sauce--superb! On a second visit for dinner we sampled the osso buco, the finest we have tried since my grandma's Sicilian kitchen. This was followed by a dessert of cheese cake with a chocolate mousse topping, encased with a caramelized orange rind with a mango coulee. All of the ingredients were fresh from the markets, as one of their goals is to support the indigenous farmers. Jose has over 35 years of experience in the food and beverage industry and his gourmet cooking qualities transcend any of the other fine chefs we had experienced in this wonderful part of Mexico. Richard was all accommodating as host extraordinare. For those of you desiring a true hacienda experience with the finest array of reasonably priced gourmet food to be found in the Yucatan, don't hesitate and drive out to Hacienda San Jose Pachul for lunch, dinner or an overnight stay. Call or email and they will send you driving directions from Merida. This was the highlight of our visit to Mexico. We loved the property and the two gracious owners and will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJosePachul, Owner at Hacienda San Jose Pachul, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Many thanks for your comments about Hacienda San Jose Pachul. You are indeed very generous in your praise and we are very flattered that you would include us in the same mention as some of the best resorts in the world. We strive to provide a unique, personal, ad private atmosphere for our guests. Thank you again for your kind comments! Richard and Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Wow! The bar has been set for understated luxury in Merida! This well-appointed and well-run hacienda exceeded our expectations when it came to service, design and comfort. It is rustic and modern at the same time with unique touches from the owners' personal collection of art and decoration. The room (we stayed in the Orange Room) was clean, had nice amenities and lots of room to lounge, play cards or even dine. We really liked the patio with the day bed that sat just near the very large orange tree which, by the way, its oranges are used by the chef for desserts! The grounds are large and very natural. We also loved the pool as it had a shallow section where you could put a chaise into. But the best part was the owners. Jose and Richard are the quintessential hosts. It was almost like they could read your mind as to when you wanted company and when you wanted to be alone which is very important since it is a very small boutique property with only two rooms. They couldn't have been more accomodating or kind and for someone who works in the hospitality industry, this was very meaningful to me. We only booked one night and were sorry that we didn't book two as it was so relaxing and so quiet. The extra day would have put the cherry on the cake. This unique hacienda is a definite must stay when coming to Merida!!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are great. It just depends on whether you want a more modern room or a more traditional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blinkingmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJosePachul, Owner at Hacienda San Jose Pachul, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at Hacienda San Jose Pachul. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to a return visit in the future. Thank you again. Jose and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

One of the things we love about Merida is the mix of experiences you can have, old world or new, quiet and contemplative or exuberant and energetic. Hacienda San Jose Pachul fits in beautifully with this dual personality. Part historic hacienda (the main building is the former machine room where the hennequen was processed), part Barragan-inspired modern retreat, this small hotel was one of the great finds on our recent visit. Just enough off the beaten track to make it feel like we were in the middle of nowhere, yet within a short drive of Celestun, Sisal, Merida and the Ruta Puuc, staying at HSJP was more like visiting friends in their country house than staying in a hotel. The road in from the highway was a little rough, be prepared if you have a horrid little rental car, but we loved it! It immediately transported us into a different frame of mind and brought back wonderful memories of childhood trips to our family cottage. Richard and Jose, who were waiting for us in the parking area, truly were the perfect hosts, adept at knowing when we wanted to chat or when we wanted to just sit and enjoy the views out over the endless trees. Feel like a tour of the gardens? Richard is there. Feel like lounging by the pool with a fabulous banana colada (made with bananas grown on the property)? Jose is there. Or feel like retreating to a hidden corner, listen to the birds and daydream and you would swear you have the place entirely to yourself. The food was some of the best we have had in Merida, not overly complicated and trying to impress, just made with fresh, local ingredients, stunningly presented and absolutely delicious. And you can go just for lunch if you make a reservation, fantastic if you are doing Celestun in the morning but are tired of fried fish! There are only two generous sized guest rooms, one designed in a more classic colonial fashion and the other in a somewhat modernist feel, both with fantastic bathrooms and private courtyards, both very comfortable. But perhaps our favourite spot was the rooftop terrace with the gorgeous feature wall of original stucco, if only we could take that home as a souvenir! Watching the sun set, having a glass of wine with our hosts, gazing at the millions of stars that appeared as the sky darkened, we could have slept right there on the terrace. Truly a perfect experience and one we can not recommend enough. We only wish we had been able to stay for three or four days! Oh well, next time!

Room Tip: The modernist room is closest to the pool and a nice break from Colonial design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank er_rh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJosePachul, Owner at Hacienda San Jose Pachul, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about Hacienda San Jose Pachul. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here. It is true, we are off the beaten path, but that is the point, I guess. We are so glad you decided to take that path to our place! We hope to see you again in the future. Gracias! Richard and Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinchil
18.4 mi away
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Hacienda Santa Cruz
#44 of 103 in Merida
168 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel
24.6 mi away
Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Chable Resort and Spa
Chable Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chochola
19 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Jose Pachul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Jose Pachul

Property: Hacienda San Jose Pachul
Address: Kilometro 41, Carretera Tetiz, Kinchil 97360, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Kinchil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kinchil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hacienda San Jose Pachul. Hidden in the peaceful countryside of Yucatan, Mexico, Hacienda San Jose Pachul is a unique retreat dedicated to tranquility, beauty, relaxation and fine cuisine.Located just thirty five minutes from Merida’s international airport, Hacienda San Jose Pachul will transport you to a place where cares slip away and life is calmer, away from crowds, surrounded by nature.Most of Yucatan’s famous attractions are simple day trips away, but you may well prefer to just unwind in your own spacious room, relax in the gardens, or lounge by the pool enjoying the sound of rustling leaves and gentle breezes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing