We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Sanctuary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinchil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda San Jose Pachul
Ranked #1 of 1 Kinchil B&B and Inns
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Sanctuary”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

One of the things we love about Merida is the mix of experiences you can have, old world or new, quiet and contemplative or exuberant and energetic. Hacienda San Jose Pachul fits in beautifully with this dual personality. Part historic hacienda (the main building is the former machine room where the hennequen was processed), part Barragan-inspired modern retreat, this small hotel was one of the great finds on our recent visit. Just enough off the beaten track to make it feel like we were in the middle of nowhere, yet within a short drive of Celestun, Sisal, Merida and the Ruta Puuc, staying at HSJP was more like visiting friends in their country house than staying in a hotel. The road in from the highway was a little rough, be prepared if you have a horrid little rental car, but we loved it! It immediately transported us into a different frame of mind and brought back wonderful memories of childhood trips to our family cottage. Richard and Jose, who were waiting for us in the parking area, truly were the perfect hosts, adept at knowing when we wanted to chat or when we wanted to just sit and enjoy the views out over the endless trees. Feel like a tour of the gardens? Richard is there. Feel like lounging by the pool with a fabulous banana colada (made with bananas grown on the property)? Jose is there. Or feel like retreating to a hidden corner, listen to the birds and daydream and you would swear you have the place entirely to yourself. The food was some of the best we have had in Merida, not overly complicated and trying to impress, just made with fresh, local ingredients, stunningly presented and absolutely delicious. And you can go just for lunch if you make a reservation, fantastic if you are doing Celestun in the morning but are tired of fried fish! There are only two generous sized guest rooms, one designed in a more classic colonial fashion and the other in a somewhat modernist feel, both with fantastic bathrooms and private courtyards, both very comfortable. But perhaps our favourite spot was the rooftop terrace with the gorgeous feature wall of original stucco, if only we could take that home as a souvenir! Watching the sun set, having a glass of wine with our hosts, gazing at the millions of stars that appeared as the sky darkened, we could have slept right there on the terrace. Truly a perfect experience and one we can not recommend enough. We only wish we had been able to stay for three or four days! Oh well, next time!

Room Tip: The modernist room is closest to the pool and a nice break from Colonial design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank er_rh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJosePachul, Owner at Hacienda San Jose Pachul, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about Hacienda San Jose Pachul. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here. It is true, we are off the beaten path, but that is the point, I guess. We are so glad you decided to take that path to our place! We hope to see you again in the future. Gracias! Richard and Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

About 40 minutes outside of Merida is an amazing experience waiting for you!
My husband and I, and our friends, R & L, arrived about 2:00 one recent afternoon, and for the next 24 hours, we were in awe of everything....Richard (one of the owners) met as we parked, helped us get settled and showed us around....we swam in the pool, we had a sumptuous lunch prepared by Jose (the other owner), we had cocktails on the terrace in early evening...all in the most private and calming setting. Then, on to the incredible 5 course dinner...Richard and Jose thought of everything...the food was extraordinary, the service and presentation beyond description, and the atmosphere and decor of the dining room completed the experience. This boutique hotel has 2 guest rooms, each in a different style, and both spacious and private, with all the amenities and all the comforts of a high-end hotel.
In the early morning my husband went for a walk around the premises and was amazed with the variety of birds, the natural environment and connection to history that Hacienda San Jose Pachul provides.
But that's not all....that morning, Richard and Jose were at it again, and 'presented us'
( that's the only word I can use) with breakfast.....a fresh fruit cocktail to die for, home made marmalades and different breads, a traditional type of pastry with an omelet-type of filling, cheeses, juice, coffee, and more.
We cannot say enough about this hacienda...Richard and Jose were excellent hosts and we absolutely declare that we received over and above in value - we would urge anyone looking for a unique and wonderful experience to vIsit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJosePachul, Owner at Hacienda San Jose Pachul, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We were delighted that you and your friends had such a wonderful time at our Hacienda. We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed so much the very things that delight us about our property. I trust you had a safe trip home and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Hasta Luego! Richard y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spent a lovely Sunday afternoon with friends having a delicious, relaxed lunch. Our hosts, Jose and Richard were extremely attentive to all our needs and made the day memorable. The three course meal was creative and sumptuous and our wines also excellent.
After touring the grounds with the owners, we can't wait to return for an overnight visit.
We highly recommend the hacienda.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertoMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJosePachul, Owner at Hacienda San Jose Pachul, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
It was certainly our pleasure to host you for your meal. We enjoyed your comments and look forward to your return visit to Merida and to Hacienda San Jose Pachul! Thank you for your positive comments. Richard and Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Wow.

What a beautiful hacienda. And what beautiful hosts. How refreshing to see people that are doing something they enjoy that they are so incredibly wonderful at. From the moment we pulled up til the moment we left it was a truly wonderful experience.

The hacienda. Beautifully decorated. Small and intimate. Only 2 rooms in which to stay over. Both beautiful. The pool and lounge chairs...with Richard and Jose tending to you. A drink needed? They are there. A conversation to have or questions to ask? They are there. The bar on the roof...perfect for before dinner drinks. And what delicious drinks :)

The food. Delicious. From the dinner to the breakfast...yum. From the salad at dinner- so simple, so fresh yet sophisticated, to the homemade banana bread and jams at breakfast.

The "service". I say "service" because you feel more like you are in the home of friends who are pampering you. I think we spent as much time talking with Richard and Jose as we did with the other couple there.

Can't say enough. Go. It is a great place to go for an overnite, a weekend for a few days. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Both rooms beautiful but I LOVED the more "traditional" room- high ceilings, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacee07NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJosePachul, Owner at Hacienda San Jose Pachul, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very happy you had such a wonderful stay with us! We look forward to seeing you in the near future! Richard and Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinchil
24.6 mi away
Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel
18.4 mi away
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Hacienda Santa Cruz
#43 of 103 in Merida
170 reviews
13.0 mi away
Chable Resort and Spa
Chable Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chochola
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Jose Pachul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Jose Pachul

Property: Hacienda San Jose Pachul
Address: Kilometro 41, Carretera Tetiz, Kinchil 97360, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Kinchil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kinchil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hacienda San Jose Pachul. Hidden in the peaceful countryside of Yucatan, Mexico, Hacienda San Jose Pachul is a unique retreat dedicated to tranquility, beauty, relaxation and fine cuisine.Located just thirty five minutes from Merida’s international airport, Hacienda San Jose Pachul will transport you to a place where cares slip away and life is calmer, away from crowds, surrounded by nature.Most of Yucatan’s famous attractions are simple day trips away, but you may well prefer to just unwind in your own spacious room, relax in the gardens, or lounge by the pool enjoying the sound of rustling leaves and gentle breezes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing