We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm still full!”
Review of Bridgeman's Restaurant - CLOSED

Bridgeman's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $42
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Atherton Road
Description: Bridgeman's features traditional Central Italian Cuisine, combines a distinctive atmosphere with casual elegance and offers tastefully appointed upper and lower level ocean-view dining rooms, a spacious seasonal outdoor patio with fire table, an open theater-style kitchen, full-service bar seating, and ample public parking. Bridgeman's is also available for private functions for up to 70 guests.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'm still full!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

after working a 12 hour day, it was off to Bridgeman's for dinner.. It was a perfect Wednesday evening to sit outside by the fire, quiet and lots of salt air to breath in....Our waitress came right over to take our cocktail orders, give us homemade bread with dipping oil and olives, and give us the specials of the evening. Our meals were delicious! And I am picky because I cook a hot meal for my family practically every night. So this meal was just what I needed.....beet salad with a duck entree and a glass of cab. Perfect!! dessert? warm strawberry rhubarb buckle with homemade ice cream and a cappuccino! To die for!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    33
    15
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were seated on the second floor, right next to the large picture windows at 7PM on a rainy Friday night. If it hadn't been fogged in, there would have been a lovely view of the ocean. That alone would give it many stars in my book.

The pulled pork sliders were amazing appetizers. The fresh sour dough bread was to die for. The balsamic dressing on the salad was so good.

Unfortunately, after that, the food became average rather than 5 star. My pumpkin ravioli was rather flavorless, as was my husband's steak. The chocolate lava cake and cream puff dessert again were good, but nothing to write home about.

I give this place 4 stars because of the view and how amazing our dinner started. And that we got a 4 course dinner for 2 including drinks for well under $100.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_JenRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohasset
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Long time customers no longer.”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We began going to Bridgemans back when it first opened many years ago. There was a different, better chef then, and things were consistent and enjoyable, even if the owners were not particularly welcoming...lots of walking about, checking their watches, a grunt or barely a hello from them, upon entering was customary....not how I would conduct an exchange with frequent customers. That being said, we hung in and hoped that they would reinvent themselves or step it up, but experienced very hit or miss quality.

Our last visit and I state last, on point, consisted of a long wait, burnt sandwich, and cold french onion soup, with a big gloppy cold piece of cheese floating in it. Given the simplicity of this soup dish and how to melt cheese not being rocket science, we requested it be reheated. It was given back to us with an odd slice of cheese that looked as though it was taken from the deli case, cold again. We asked for it to be removed from our check, and witnessed the eye roll of the owner, when the waiter approached him re the matter.

Given that we have spent thousands here, are very considerate tippers and have never sent an item back before, (even when we should have), it is time to say goodbye and good luck. This restaurant needs a complete overhaul, from customer service training at the front of the house, to a new chef, and new concept. It will not last otherwise. Do not waste your dollar here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As good, if not better than Boston”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We live in Boston, MA in Back Bay. The restaurants there have become very boring. Menus are not exciting, prices are ridiculous, and the atmosphere is loud and sometimes very offensive - think cell phones and lots of usage of the "F" word arouind you.

This is our second visit to Bridgeman's and we will continue to share the great experience it is. A location that has an ocean view, ample free parking, meals that are delicious and exciting and staff that is inviting. Surprise someone with this experience that you may not be familiar with. It will be a memorable evening as you get to end the evening either looking at the moonlight on the water or walking along the boardwalk. It's a 5 star winner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Fine Place on The Beach”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

It's about the only white tablecloth rest. on the beachfront. The menu is a bit limited, but understand that these guys stay opened year round and so they do what they have to do to survive the winter.
Prices are fair and the food has always been very good.
In daylight, the 2nd floor offers some water views on street side of that upper floor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ejja55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgeman's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing