We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Place on The Beach”
Review of Bridgeman's Restaurant - CLOSED

Bridgeman's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $42
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Atherton Road
Description: Bridgeman's features traditional Central Italian Cuisine, combines a distinctive atmosphere with casual elegance and offers tastefully appointed upper and lower level ocean-view dining rooms, a spacious seasonal outdoor patio with fire table, an open theater-style kitchen, full-service bar seating, and ample public parking. Bridgeman's is also available for private functions for up to 70 guests.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Fine Place on The Beach”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

It's about the only white tablecloth rest. on the beachfront. The menu is a bit limited, but understand that these guys stay opened year round and so they do what they have to do to survive the winter.
Prices are fair and the food has always been very good.
In daylight, the 2nd floor offers some water views on street side of that upper floor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ejja55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    33
    15
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Took a friend here for a birthday dinner recently and had wonderful experience. Have been here numerous times for dinner as well as lunch and food is still consistently good, was never disappointed. Both the dishes we got were so delicious using freshest ingredients. Great menu, lots of choices. Would recommend for special occasion or just looking for a great meal. The second floor has great views of the ocean. Also impressive wine list. Our waitress was very friendly, attentive yet professional. Would definitely recommend and would definitely return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MEK976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Scrumptious!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Freshest ingredients expertly and creatively prepared. A blend of flavors that works in every dish we've had at Bridgeman's. Just got back from a 2 week cruise in the Western Mediterranean and nothing we ate in Italy, France, Spain or on board the NCL Jade was as good as the meal we had at Bridgeman's.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Havetogonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Food,atmosphere,and service was great. We were upstairs at a table for 5 in the middle of the room. The only complaint are the acoustics. Very, very noisy. You could not hear yourself talk but the restaurant was clean and well kept. Plenty of parking and good views of the Atlantic Ocean

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but a bit overrated”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

It's nice to know there is a "nice" restaurant in town since Hull mostly consists of beach bars and breakfast joints. You will always get great service and they do have a fantastic wine selection. There's a small bar (maybe 8 seats?) and the bartenders are friendly and knowledgable. The atmosphere is great for an intimate dinner with a significant other or some friends. It tends to get crowded so I wouldn't recommend taking a large party here unless you're in no rush. They have an open kitchen concept so if you are in the right seats you can see the chef's preparing your meals, which I always like. The food is definitely good- all higher end meal selections that change throughout the year. The restaurant also offers specials pretty regularly, and they have outdoor seating in nicer weather. I don't think I've ever had a bad meal there, so it's definitely safe to say you will almost always have a good experience, but at the same time, I don't think I've ever left and felt "Wow'd" either. I think I could go into Boston, or to a fancy spot in Hingham/Cohasset and have a better meal for the same or less cost, which is why I didn't give this place 5 stars. Prices aren't bad, in terms of going out to dinner, but I would think the quality of the food would be better for what you pay for. Definitely give it a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mecashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgeman's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing