We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local joint”
Review of Schooner's

Schooner's
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Hull
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local joint”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Clam chowder champs 3 years running. Friendly atmosphere mixed with tourists and locals. Good pricing and decent food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbyoutback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    60
    20
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
roslindale ma
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Chowder”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

While waking the lovely Nantasket beach we found this quaint bar-restaurant open. So in we went for the best thick ,creamy clam chowder iv'e had in years!! Service was fine.Price was only$4.99 for a big bowl!! Check it out!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bachiboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, MA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great value - real homestyle food!”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We love Schooners. It's a great basic place for delicious fresh food at a very reasonable price. The atmosphere is family-friendly and very casual. OK it's a little beat to be honest, but when you taste the mashed potatoes you won't care! The fish and chips is a huge portion and very fresh. I had a Greek salad last visit that was huge and yummy for $7.99. Drinks are well-made (try a cosmo!) and not over-priced. Extenisive menu gives you plenty to choose from and they also have nughtly specials. Try the tomato basil soup - it's AMAZING!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank janutee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Can't say No if you don't want your order”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Schooners has lost 2 loyal customers this weekend. I ordered a meal but when it came to me, it was not what I wanted. Actually, it was a mess. Soggy chips, basically inedible. When I told the server, she said in a loud beligerant voice, something like, 'you ordered it, you knew what it was, etc. etc.' The fact that I ordered a nacho dish but got a vomity looking mess didn't make any difference to her. I backed down and paid for it (9.00), ate a few soggy chips, and that was that. I won't be returning, even though I'm a "local."

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Locals go there. It has to be good?”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We are lucky to be able to walk to this restaurant. We like the scallops and the comfort food meals. All the wait staff are locals. Prices are reasonable. We often get the pizza to go and you can't get better pizza for these prices. They do well even in the winter which says somrthing about the value in this seaside community. I don't think you can go wrong here. I only wish they would provide a larger glass for the soft drinks for which they charge $2.00. It's hard to get through the meal with one 8 or 10 ounce glass full of ice. Oh, I love the fact that they don't blast music during dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brucerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner's also viewed

 

Been to Schooner's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing