We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated and way too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nantasket Hotel at the Beach
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hull
Certificate of Excellence
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overrated and way too expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Not good value. The room was big but the place feels dingy. Brown rugs, sheets and towels, no elevator and no amenities to speak of. High point is free WiFi. It is a plain motel from days gone by - extremely (way too!) expensive and not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
realest, Owner at Nantasket Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us. Over the past few years the hotel has been through extensive renovations and we do offer quite a few amenities (you mentioned the free WIFI), including complimentary snacks & bottled water in the rooms, kitchenettes in every room, and a light continental breakfast every morning in our lobby area. We also provide complimentary beach chairs and beach towels for our guests to enjoy across the street at Nantasket Beach. I hope you'll give us another try in the future, we do have quite competitive rates in comparison to the Boston chain hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    61
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
57
65
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had reservations at a different resort on the beach that was overbooked. Was relocated to this property...if you need elevator to get to second floor this is not the place for you ! Staff was excellent. I arrived about 930 p and quite frankly neighborhood looked worrisome. Staff assured me she worked nights and always felt safe. I was very glad I stayed. Room was very large with snacks provided and bottled water. Lovely furniture which was very comfortable. Bathroom was small with little counter space however room set up with large closet in hallway leading to bathroom provided plenty of shelf space. rates are not cheap and it is not a resort but is an excellent option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
realest, Owner at Nantasket Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I"m glad you stayed with us and enjoyed your time here! Hopefully the next time you are in Hull you will come back and stay with us again. We appreciate your positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked our trip online and like most people trusted that the pictures shown were somewhat accurate. The exterior pictures depicted a true taste of what the motel, not hotel, looks like. We arrived at the "motel" at around 8:30 pm and were greeted by an employee at the main office. Our reservation was for a double room with an ocean view. We were told our "king" room was all ready. I explained that we had booked a double room with the ocean view as we had 4 people in our group. She double checked our reservation and confirmed that our room was given to someone else. We were then offered a room on the ground level which we took. We asked if there was anywhere nearby that we could get a bite to eat as we had been travelling all day. We were directed to a "family style" restaurant called Schooners which was around the corner. We walked in the door and the foul smell from the place was disgusting. The first person to comment on it was my 7 year old who did not hide his disgust. That being said, we were starving and really had no options as everything in Hull on a Sunday closes at 9 PM. When we finally made it back to the motel and entered the room for the first time, again, not a pleasant smell. It was musty with an attempt of spraying something to mask it. The bathroom was dirty as it had a not very well washed rubber mat in the shower but the stains all around the drain were unsettling. The pictures on the website obviously are a room that may have been renovated but it was nothing like room #10. The walls were marked, the carpet looked dirty, the sink area looked like it was more of a laundry room and there were little black things on the fitted sheet in the bed. Not sure what they were. There was either something through the night that was ticking or it was the sound of mice in the room as that was what the noise was like. The next morning we informed the manager that we were checking out and moving to a "hotel" and relayed our disappointment with the accommodations. At that time is when we saw the Continental Breakfast that some reviews raved about. The muffins were obviously bought in bulk and wrapped in saran wrap. If you asked for ice you got a little measured bag that if you liked ice in a drink may get you 3. As we were leaving, we asked about the amenities in the area so that we may enjoy the beach. We were directed to a building, by the manager, that was supposed be the change rooms. You guessed it, wrong building. We were also told about the Carousel up the road that was really interesting but you could not ride it, you could only watch the person who is restoring it work on the horses. Again, not the case. In speaking with a local vendor we had relayed our comments to him and he said he was surprised as they had spent so much money renovating the whole motel. If I was the owner of this facility I would fire the person who forgot to renovate our room in the process.

It was a very disappointing start to our time in the Boston area but thanks to the Hampton Inn in Braintree, it ended up being a fabulous vacation. I would never say that I would not return to Hull as it is quite quaint. But next time I will be sure to give enough notice and stay at the Nantasket Beach Resort instead. We had breakfast in their restaurant and if the quality of service and cleanliness is any indication of their rooms then there should be only satisfaction from staying there. It was our first choice originally but they were unable to accommodate our dates.

Room Tip: There is nothing good from what we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

What an excellant value and friendly staff! Neat , Clean , Perfect location & Friendly. I suggest you stay here and save hundreds of dollars! Hull has limited hotels and i assure you wont be disappointed with this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
realest, Manager at Nantasket Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you, we take great pride in our hotel here in Hull!
Come back and visit us again if your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and thought it was a great little hotel across the street from the beach, within walking distances to most restaurants in the area, and very clean with updated rooms. I loved all the little touches like the complimentary snacks and bottles of water on arrival and the beautiful flowers all around the property. The owners have done a great job.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
realest, Owner at Nantasket Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the positive feedback!
Please come and stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This property makes the most of what is has. On the outside it has a standard motel layout, 2 levels of rooms with balconies with parking in the front.,,Standard stuff. But inside there is more then meets the eye!

Rooms were larger then i expected with up graded furnishings throughout, and very comfortable bedding.

Staff was very accommodating at time of booking, and check-in.

The bathroom had nice toiletries, and modern facility upgrades, and much like the rest of the property...everything was a step up from what i had initially expected, from a beach side motel.

Staff was friendly and accommodating...they were nice enough to let me leave my car in their lot the next day for a few hours after check-out...it was actually their idea!

Be careful about the ocean view rooms, they are not exactly ocean side, but don't worry, the beach is plenty close, and the rooms are very comfortable, and the quality of the property more than makes up for the 1/4 block walk across the parking lot to the ocean.

Overall, a great balance of price, quality, and location!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandmantv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
realest, Owner at Nantasket Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in our hotel here in Hull and we do have a really great staff and of course a great location across the street from the Beach! Thank you for your compliments on our recent renovations, we are pleased that you were happy with your room and all that we have to offer here.
Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room (king "ocean view" room 6) was huge and the bed was so very comfy. The decor was beautiful and it felt more like we were staying in someone's home than in a motel room. They provided some water bottles and snax, and the lobby breakfast was very good: yogurt, awesome blueberry muffins and Keurig coffee (there was also a K-maker, fridge and microwave, but no dishes, in the room). It was within very easy walking distance to the beach, many dining options and the carousel. Don't bother getting the ocean view option-there is only a glimpse and that is out the door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Nantasket Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and your positive review! We're pleased that you liked the renovations and enjoyed the snacks, bottled water and coffee that we include for the comfort of our guests. Please come back and stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Hull!

Wendy R / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hull
0.8 mi away
Nantasket Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
The Inn at Scituate Harbor
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rockland
BEST WESTERN Rockland
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
9.0 mi away
Boston Marriott Quincy
8.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Quincy
Howard Johnson Quincy
#3 of 3 in Quincy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantasket Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantasket Hotel at the Beach

Property: Nantasket Hotel at the Beach
Address: 115 Nantasket Ave, Hull, MA 02045-3131 (Formerly Sea Shore Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hull
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nantasket Hotel at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nantasket Hotel has recently been completely renovated and offers spacious, quaint rooms with a beach motif. All of our rooms have private baths, King or Queen beds, plasma TVs, Free wireless internet, and a kitchenette area with microwave and refrigerator. Located directly across from 3 mile long Historic Nantasket Beach and close to the boardwalk offering all kinds of restaurants and entertainment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Nantasket Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nantasket Beach Hotel
Nantasket Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing