We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defender of Boston Harbor”
Review of Fort Revere Park

Fort Revere Park
Hull, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Defender of Boston Harbor”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We bring all of our visitors to Fort Revere as it is interesting and played an important role in the defense of Boston harbor. The Fort overlooks the harbor islands and provides a spectacular view of the surrounding area. The massive fortifications are still intact and show how the defenders lived 100 years ago. Unfortunately much of the place is covered with graffiti and needs to be better maintained. The original water/watch tower is still there, but access has been prohibited for several years. Overall, the Fort is worth the trip and is free!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“must see”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I enjoyed seeing this park just would like some guideness. I felt like some history was here unmarked. Perhaps time of year.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great View of the Harbor and no admission costs”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Fort Revere Park was nice to drive up to and see. It houses the remains of two seacoast fortifications. All that is left is the concrete structure. Would have been nice if it was done up with cannons, etc., as when it was being used as a fort.

The view of the harbor from here is good for some pictures.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Florencetraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, MA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Unparalleled Views!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

While visiting the Hull Lifesaving Museum, a "local" recommended we check out Ft Revere Park. Incredible views! Sadly, the remains are covered with graffiti, but even that adds a bit of artistic flair. I just wish there was more information re: the history of the Fort readily available onsite. In this age of smartphones, though, it didn't take long to "read all about it." ;-) I agree with the other posters... pack a lunch and enjoy the views.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank periphery10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice View. Not Spoiled”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a Revolutionary War fort built to protect the harbor and continued into WWII. Unspoiled by excessive tourism. To food stands or gift shops here. Bring a lunch and a blanket a watch the world go by. A good camera is a must!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jwcorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Revere Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Revere Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing