We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel style good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Holyoke
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
220 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Motel style good value”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Older motel style that has been renovated. Not much to look at, on a section of Rt. 5 that doesn't see much traffic anymore, in between Holyoke and Northampton. Rooms have been renovated and in very nice shape. King size beds. Direct TV. No coffee maker, but has microwave and small refrigerator. A few miles to closest Dunkin Donuts. Pillows a bit thin. Somewhat noisy heater/AC common in motels. No breakfast -- go to Hamp for that!

Overall, if you are looking for a lower-price place to stay with a minimum of amenities, but clean and relatively modern, then this place will work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhjraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    13
    5
    11
See reviews for
25
20
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

ABV offered exceptional staff, a spotless room, a microwave and refrigerator in each room. There was plenty of hot water. It was quiet, easy to get to, and a wonderful value. When I misplaced my wallet and called, the owner immediately went to find it and assured me it was safe. It was quiet and we slept well in a large and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle04103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Wasn't expecting much when we pulled in, but we where pleasantly surprised by the nice clean rooms an friendly husband and wife that own the place. Not much on the outside buy nice, inexpensive room for the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were disappointed because their site shows a beautiful brick colonial building, undoubtedly one of their other properties, and this was just an old, sort of refurbished motel. The room was large and clean, but musty smelling. The amenities were almost non existent - no hair dryer, for example. One could get coffee in the office, and that was it, although the room had a mini fridge and microwave for those who were better prepared. But, the location was good and the price was right!

Room Tip: Any room...maybe upstairs has a view of the river?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Holyoke hotels

Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I highly recommend this place.

This motel only has rooms with king size bed per room. The prices were great $50 weekday $80 weekends.

The outside of the building needs a paint job, but the room was awesome, The bed was very comfortable, the pillows were thick, the shower head was great with lots of hot water. The rooms come with fridge,microwave TV, lots of outlets for your chargers. The customer service was great.

The AC/Heater was very quiet.

You could see some minor details that indicated that it is a budget motel, the sheets and pillow cases were obviously warn, but soft (just like at home), the caulking needed replaced in the bath room.

In the front office you could smell the mold but not in our room.

Room Tip: The owner and his family live upstairs so try to avoid rooms 106-107, they have kids which we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glowdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumberland, maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We prefer to stay in smaller family-run motels rather than the big chains. The proprietors of this one are very nice. The shabby outside looks belie the interiors (which are newly renovated with brand new stylish furniture, wallpaper, bath fixtures, etc.). While it LOOKS nice (and is quite clean) our room was musty. Since I am allergic to mildew, this was a problem. Also, we were awoken by other guests returning late, but I'm a light sleeper and that's probably the norm in cheaper motels.
If you're not allergic to mildew and want a reasonably priced place to stay, give it a try! As I said, the rooms do look very nice and everything is new and very clean. The beds are comfortable, too!
(It has a decent location, too, across the street from the river...)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

You can't beat this place for price and value in this area. The owner who checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and quiet, and looked to have been refurbished recently. The location is good or poor based on your personal preferences. It is located off the beaten path, providing quiet and privacy on one hand, but does require a short drive north or south for places to eat and shop.

The outside could use a bit of work, but it is far from gross, as one reviewer put it. As I said before, the room was very clean and quiet, which is far more important to us. The only glitch we found in the room was an outlet in the bathroom didn't work. No big deal. The reality is, this is a tremendous value considering what other budget level motels are charging in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkBowhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyoke
1.4 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
803 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
178 reviews
8.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
#5 of 17 in West Springfield
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Holyoke-Springfield/North
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
168 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 671 Northampton St, Route 5, Holyoke, MA 01040-9517 (Formerly Economy Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Holyoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Holyoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Holyoke, Massachusetts. Our hotel is close to the Connecticut River, Children's Museum at Holyoke, Six Flags New England, Yankee Candle, Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame, and the Big E. Take advantage of outdoor adventures and astonishing landscapes at Mt. Tom, Holyoke Heritage State Park, Mountain Park, and Stanley Park. Indulge in seasonal sports at Fitzpatrick Ice Skating Rink, Fun Time Lanes, or Ledges Golf Club. Our hotel is conveniently located near many colleges including University of Massachusetts Amherst, Smith College, Mt Holyoke College, Holyoke Community College, College of Our Lady-The Elms, Hampshire College, and Amherst College. Sample a taste of New England at any of the local restaurants including The Log Cabin, Delaney House, and Friendly's. Americas Best Value Inn Holyoke offers state-of-the-art amenities, a convenient location, and a helpful 24-hour front desk staff. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access available throughout our hotel and guest rooms. Take a breather in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, satellite TV with HBO, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, alarm clock, radio, and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Holyoke, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Holyoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing