We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience, always”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Square Cafe

Square Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Square Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Hingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience, always”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love the ways this restaurant looks, and the food never disappoints. Service is friendly and professional. Excellent wines by the glass

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizziesmomBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    40
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach VA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Classy Place for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I like to eat at places in Hull and Hingham since there is a great selection of restuaraunts around the area. We decided on the Square Cafe since we had walked by several times headed for The Snug.

It was about 2:30 on a Saturday afternoom and it was nearly empty. We were seated right away in a nice corner table giving us a nice view of Hingham. My wife likes Talbot's and their original store is right across the street along with church steeples and all that stuff.

The server was polite, professional and knew the menu. The food was significantly above average albeit, so are the prices but we knew that and frankly, didn't care. Overall, we had a wonderful dining experience and came away very satisfied. Review the pictures, the bill is on there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vbdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, just don't sit at the bar to have to put up with the arrogant bartender”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Having been to Square Cafe several times now the thing that I have noticed is that the food is consistently good and the service does not stand up to the level of the food. I get the distinct impression that this is an establishment that has a great many regulars and that the regulars get a much warmer welcome than those who do not visit quite so regularly. The bartender is rude - last time I had a drink at the bar with friends following a meal he made it perfectly obvious that he would rather be chatting to the other staff than serving us. On another occasion he thought it was really funny to mock my friend's accent. The host acts in a completely different way to customers that he knows than to new customers (makes you wonder how they ended up with regulars!). The saving grace is the food - consistently good - and the bread and dipping sauce and the desserts enough to make you return (just).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“yummy as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've eaten here before, and this visit did not disappoint. They really know what they are doing with food! The waiter was knowledgeable and honored our special requests without a fuss. And they make it possible to eat lightly -- very much appreciated! Great bread!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank amyptucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
260 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“consistently EXCELLENT SERVICE AND YUMMY FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I cannot rave enough about the TOP NOTCH QUALITY of the food and service of this restaurant. The food is OUTSTANDING----The menu is interesting and imaginative. Definitely make a reservation-----

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Argusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing