We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere and Good Food”

Burton's Grill of Hingham
Ranked #5 of 71 Restaurants in Hingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in The Derby Street Shoppes on Hingham's Route 53 (exit 15 off of Rte 3), Burtons Grill - Hingham is ideal for shoppers and locals, for power lunching or socialising after work. Celebrate something special or enjoy fine wine with appetisers in the beautiful bar and lounge area. A seasonal outdoor patio is the ideal escape from the office, late afternoon cocktails or a relaxing dinner with friends. Presenting contemporary American cuisine, Culinary Director Denise Baron has created an enticing selection that bridges both flavour and presentation. Burtons' menus cover crisp salads, hearty sandwiches and juicy burgers to aged beef served with seasoned butters and sauces. Baron and her staff make sure to showcase New England seafood and the superior quality of Niman Ranch pork. Whether stopping for a light pasta, celebrating a special anniversary with seafood and chardonnay, or meeting friends for a drink, Burtons will delight you.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
470 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere and Good Food”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I've been here a couple of times and always enjoy it. Last time I had the haddock which I really enjoyed. The time before I had the salmon, which also was very good. They have incredible desserts here! Yum. The service is very good and it is really a very attractive space and very clean.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    70
    29
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food,Convenient Location and Great Service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had lunch on a weekday and found the restaurant crowded and had to wait at the bar!!!
We were seated shortly and had a very attentive waitress!! We enjoyed a burger and salad and everything was delicious!! We were not rushed and had seating in a booth,which we had asked for!!!
The food was delicious,service was great and atmosphere pleasant!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went to lunch with daughter. We both had Caesar salad with bronzed shrimp. Excellent. The server was very attentive and got me some heavy cream for my coffee. The coffee is very good, but strong, and the half and half they offer feels watered down. The cream worked. Good warm bread. It is an upscale atmosphere although you don't have to dress. Some business people are dressed, but not a requirement. I always prefer a booth away from the kitchen. There is a bar side with high tables. You can be seated there quicker. Food has always been excellent, but it is pricey. It was $42 plus tip for 2 salads and a cup of coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great lobster roll”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Burton's is a solid neighborhood place. Great with food allergies, and above average food. The lobster roll was all claw and knuckle, no shredded mystery pieces. Only complaint is the lack of local beers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, but starting to slip...”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had dinner Saturday night. Seemed slower than usual so were surprised we had to wait 15 minutes for our reserved table. Took a while for the waitress to come over too. We tried the Sangria, which was ok, but too much carbonation and not enough wine/sangria flavor. For App's we had the beet salad, very tasty with goat cheese & walnuts. The complimentary bread was warm with flavored light butter spread and was delicious. I had the Bronze salmon entrée with baked potato & steamed broccoli, a yummy favorite, but not only did the price increase $22.95 ($3) but they cut the portion size!!! :-( I would rather pay a little more $ and get the standard size. Seems like it was barely 6 oz. and I felt ripped off. Usually or favorite local restaurant but if they are going to skimp on portions we will have to go elsewhere. My husband had the burger which was flavorful and although not large is still a favorite. For desert got the usual hot fudge sundae. Desserts are simple and usually great. Noticed this also shrunk in size. There is a new restaurant next door so I hope Burtons reads these reveiws ...

Although food is very good, we had to rate lower due to skimpier portions and wait time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burton's Grill of Hingham also viewed

 

Been to Burton's Grill of Hingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing