We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch”

Burton's Grill of Hingham
Ranked #5 of 71 Restaurants in Hingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in The Derby Street Shoppes on Hingham's Route 53 (exit 15 off of Rte 3), Burtons Grill - Hingham is ideal for shoppers and locals, for power lunching or socialising after work. Celebrate something special or enjoy fine wine with appetisers in the beautiful bar and lounge area. A seasonal outdoor patio is the ideal escape from the office, late afternoon cocktails or a relaxing dinner with friends. Presenting contemporary American cuisine, Culinary Director Denise Baron has created an enticing selection that bridges both flavour and presentation. Burtons' menus cover crisp salads, hearty sandwiches and juicy burgers to aged beef served with seasoned butters and sauces. Baron and her staff make sure to showcase New England seafood and the superior quality of Niman Ranch pork. Whether stopping for a light pasta, celebrating a special anniversary with seafood and chardonnay, or meeting friends for a drink, Burtons will delight you.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Late lunch”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were in a hurry, so they cleaned off a table right away the waiter took our order quickly and lunch was very nice. My friend had the blue cheese salad and I had the haddock Imperial. I didn't care for the cucumber salad but the haddock and the broccoli was very good. This is my second time here and it's not close to where I live; so it must be good. Had no time for coffee and desert. I would like to try dinner there sometime.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela-Pepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    70
    29
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are in the area many times during the year for business and family. Burton's is consistently good. We walked in during a busy ( Easter weekend) Saturday afternoon. The wait was going to be about 45 minutes so we decided to go elsewhere. The hostess ran out a minute after us to let us know they could accommodate our party of five.
I had the braised short ribs; tender and succulent. My college-aged daughter, who rarely eats red meat, thoroughly enjoyed a burger that was perfectly cooked. The waiter split a dessert sundae 3 ways to help us accommodate a family member with a disability. Long story but it was extremely kind and the type of service that will keep us coming back and bringing friends and family with us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam-Quest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
323 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great place to eat close to Route 3 in Hingham”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We are in Burton's a few times a year and it never disappoints This time we had beet salad- great combo of beets, goat cheese, sautéed onions, and walnuts with radish sprouts. Crab cakes are nearly all crab and mildly spiced-great. Mahi mahi was the catch of the day, prepared per your choice, and there were also 3 other fish choices. Cooked perfectly, served hot & moist. Desserts are also nice: expresso gelato with choc chips and choc sauce was divine! Good wine list and full bar next to the restaurant. Comfortable seating, quiet, restful decor,and good service. Nice place to stop between the Cape and Boston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Part of Derby Streets Shops”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The menu is great and have never had anything that wasn't outstanding.Waitstaff are friendly and knowledgeable. We sometimes sit st the bar and converse with bartenders who make super drinks. Good fun and delicious food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ediemayMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything excellent”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

A holiday treat for dinner, everything was top notch, the food was excellent for four different entrees! Service was very good also, efficient and friendly even on a busy evening. Keep up the good work, we'll be back as often as possible.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank arbreplage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burton's Grill of Hingham also viewed

 

Been to Burton's Grill of Hingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing