We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Though not consistent, we still like it”
Review of Nino's Steak & Chop House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nino's Steak & Chop House
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Though not consistent, we still like it”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Went on a night that was not busy. Service was excellent. Food is still good, but as I reviewed before, not consistent. I asked that the Linguine de Mare be made fra diavolo (with only slight heat). The accommodation was made, but the heat was NOT SLIGHT. Fortunately, the extra heat was still palatable, but not the way I ordered it. The ambience of this restaurant helps make it a true value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eagle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Terrible steak”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I ordered a ribeye medium rare and got a rare. I sent it back and recieved well done. I can only imagine that it went to a microwave. The staff was curteous. The wedge salad was also a chop salad. I won't return. This is a one and done

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OldManBinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Generous glasses of wine and a nice martini. First time in my 65 years that I've been served a shrimp cocktail and the shrimp still had the entire shell on, not just that little piece at the tail. Pretty strange. Like peel and eat shrimp, but not appropriate for a shrimp cocktail. Had a ribeye with peppers and onions over polenta. Tasty, but the peppers were very hard and very difficult to cut with a knife. More so than raw ones. Polenta was a fried "cake" which was OK, I just prefer a loose serving. Lots of pasta dishes and Italian menu choices, but was surprised when we asked for cappuccino that they don't have any. I'll never understand why a restaurant won't buy a machine to make espresso/cappuccino when they can charge a good deal of money for a cup (make more profit) and make people happy. I would return if we were in the area because we liked it.....just making observations.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retired01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“..."outstanding building outside,average food inside"”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Came here on a Friday night with group of 10 friends.Bar area was very nice,sunken seating on one side,with fireplace which should have been roaring on a cold night. We had a private dining room off the main room, where our service was below average from the waitress--either she had too many tables on a busy Friday night,or just a poor waitress--slow on drink refills,disappeared before we could order,did not ask if appetizer or wine would be wanted,then the food took forever to get delivered. I have to say the prices were very reasonable,i.e. fettucene alfredo $10.95 and the food portion was large. Nino's may be a nono in the furure..................

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikecapp45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford,md
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprise”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Easy find along rte 53. Unique quirky stone building that fulfills anticipation with its menu.. The kind of restaurant you hope will be just as good the next time you visit. This year (2012) it's been excellent three times.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lawrence294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nino's Steak & Chop House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing