We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to run or ride”

Wompatuck State Park
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Hingham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philly
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A place to run or ride”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Looking for nearby trail to put in a 10 miler or so, I went online and got some MA state DCNR info for local parks near Hingham. Trails are shared and paved throughout this large state preserve just off the main road, and the loop I ran for about an hour was adequate but not impressive. Better suited for biking. The area is weel labeled and correspond with the free maps, but there is NO distance markations?? On the other hand, there's no smog/exhaust from cars which you could enjoy while running down local roads. A nearby running store suggested Worlds End which I will try on a future trip to the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HikingTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great campsite, could do with some facility investment”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My review is "very good" but it is fair to say we had an excellent time. It was actually the biggest and nicest camp site we have had (booked well in advance and on the outer loop), in about 6-7 experiences in state and national parks. The loss of the star comes because of the condition of the showers and bathrooms, which need some investment that clearly the state of Mass does not have. The park itself is unusual in that the 12 miles of trails are 90% paved. Great for our bikes, if slightly surreal - the paving of nature is usually reserved for outside the park system. That said, the park is huge and densely forested and somehow the paving didn't seem as terrible as expected. Easy to get to Boston, JFK library and Quincy for the Adams sites, and lovely towns in the immediate surroundings. Friendly staff and good family atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arrived in a 30-foot motorhome towing a car and we stayed for 3 days. Our campsite was rustic but had 20amp electric service and we had water a short walk away. We filled the motorhome's 40 gallon fresh-water tank and had enough for our stay.

The park has many trails and paved bike paths which we appreciated. There are also many isolated ponds which are only discovered by hiking. The park also is the site of a former munitions storage facility, so there are munitions bunkers here & there throughout the forest. Most of these are filled in and overgrown with trees but they are still visible, and look like small hills. We did find one bunker that was empty and exploring it was an eerie experience.

This is a ''wild'' park in that the hiking & bike paths are not well marked but we like that sort of thing...we weren't looking for a Disneyland experience! The park is also close to Boston and we were able to go into the city after a 30-minute drive; getting back, however, was not so quick because we were in the evening rush-hour traffic. Going into Boston is not something we would do again as this State Park has so much to offer and we could easily spend a week here discovering its charms.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SamLantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good park to mountain bike”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a good park to mountain bike. Bring your map and your phone in case you get lost. I have always stayed to the right side of the park and have learned to avoid the far right called the south side. Also a good place to run, get spring water, camp although the bathrooms are dirty. Holly pond is a nice place to bring kids fishing. It is nothing fancy but you have 4000 acres of nature so that is the beauty of the park.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rathgar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pleasant camping close to Boston”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

RVers sometimes have a tough time finding accommodations close to major cities, but this state park is close to Boston, affordable ($17 for sites with electric), and very relaxing. Sites are in dense woods, and you can take some nice walks or bike rides in the park. Within a few miles, however, there are a couple of ferry lines that will take you across the water to Beantown and all its attractions.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rip2632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wompatuck State Park also viewed

 

Been to Wompatuck State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing