We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Merrimack Valley
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haverhill
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I couldn't believe the quality for the amazing price! Everyone was professional, and very courteous. The room was very clean, and the maids were so nice. The breakfast was great! There are a lot of great places around to eat, watch a movie, etc. Great location, excellent price!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hello Julie C,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and feel honored to hear everyone was professional and courteous. We are also happy to hear you were able to enjoy our great breakfast to kick start your day! Thank you for staying with us and we can't wait to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Merrimack Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 433 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were pleased with the cleanliness (a BIG deal!) but it was somewhat run down. Also, slightly on the high side considering being a bit run down, the particular area it's in and people it attracted. We also enjoyed the pool and whirlpool but the breakfast was bland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hello Carleen,
We’re so pleased to hear that the cleanliness of our property meets your expectations and that you were able to enjoy the pool and whirlpool during your stay. Our staff works very hard to maintain cleanliness excellence and we are happy it shows. Thank you for sharing your perspective with us on the looks of the property. We will certainly take this into consideration as we continue to make changes to the hotel based on our guest feedback and experiences. We do want to thank you for your stay at the Best Western Plus Merrimack Valley, and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel itself is average at best, but for the price, it was fine. The bed was comfortable, the TV was big, the water was hot and it was clean overall. The whole place was shabby - old funky carpets, lots of putty spots on walls and furniture - but that was to be expected and I can't say that bothered me, really. There were two things that clearly WERE very bothersome - one was the long scary walk to a HORRIBLE breakfast (cold, prepackaged or pre-cooked frozen food on the edge of stale - GROSS!). The other issue was that BOTH nights we were there, we got woken up by a car alarm that started going off at around 4 a.m. (we had gotten in late, around 1 a.m.) and continued to go off randomly all morning long, to the point that it sounded like the battery was dying. When we called the front desk about it, not only did they know it had gone off, but they KNEW the person it belonged to wasn't even on the premises! Apparently she 'regularly' leaves her car there in the lot. The response we got was "Oh yeah, sorry. She usually parks it in the back." SERIOUSLY???? Wow. Any of the good qualities I could write about are clearly overshadowed by this joke of a response.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the parking lot, it is pretty loud.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heaverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Heaverly,

I know it may seem a little late to apologize, but on behalf of our entire staff, we sincerely regret the issues mentioned in your review. It is our goal to make our guests feel comfortable and welcomed during their time with us. Every member of our staff works hard to maintain an overall positive reputation. I do thank you for your honest feedback and will address each issue in your review. I am very sorry you experienced less than our best efforts during your stay. I hope that these issues will not keep you from visiting us again and allowing us a chance to better your experience at our hotel. Once again we thank you and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Several areas of concern. Our room was Very cold only to find at the END of our stay we found the window,with no storm, was frozen open 3 inches, heat wouldn't stay on. There is a unique over powering odor ,like old perfume, in the halls. My credit card had a hold put on it for the second key. I questioned it to make sure just a hold, only to find I GOT charged. 72 hrs to get it. STAFF was awesome!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Greetings Carol D,

Thank you for your review about your most recent stay. I certainly understand your concerns about the window in your room. I have talked with the facility managers and they apologize for the issue and will be checking windows today. We appreciate your positive feedback about our staff and hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great hotel and location for even at Atkinson Country Club. Room was clean and quiet. Staff was helpful and provided local taxi numbers. Pool area was clean and they offered beverage and snack on arrival because I am a Gold Crown member.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank RobertD46238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Greetings Robert,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding your stay! We certainly appreciate your loyalty to Best Western and our hotel. Atkinson Country Club is very close to us and we are very fortunate to have a good relationship with them. We will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

room colors/appearance a little depressing, great staff at check-in. good exterior appearance. i liked the gas fireplace in the lobby. But trying to sleep in?? forget it. housekeepers--although very friendly and polite...are very load and the walls must be paper thin. it's one thing to hear other guests...but another to be awoken 2 days in a row by the cleaning crew laughing and talking in the halls.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Greetings James,

Thank you for your review about your most recent stay. I certainly understand your frustrations about the noise outside of your room. I have talked with the housekeeping manager and they apologize for the disturbance. We appreciate the great feedback and hopefully will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

the stay at this hotel was excellent, front desk people where very polite great experience all the way around kelly was very pleasent and the front desk manager travis also very polite from the hotel to the staff the service was exemplatory

Room Tip: first floor was perfect for me as i am ashtmatic and kelly on the phone prior to arriving suggested...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 649christosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Greetings Christopher,

Thank you for the great feedback! I will be sure to have the staff read your review! Kelly and Travis are exceptional team members. We are glad to have them on the team! Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverhill
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Haverhill
Hampton Inn Haverhill
#1 of 2 in Haverhill
561 reviews
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Salem
Red Roof Inn Salem
#2 of 4 in Salem
231 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel & Conference Center - Methuen MA
5.3 mi away
Park View Inn Inc.
Park View Inn Inc.
#1 of 4 in Salem
219 reviews
11.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
#2 of 2 in Amesbury
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merrimack Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merrimack Valley

Address: 401 Lowell Ave, Haverhill, MA 01832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Haverhill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haverhill
Price Range: $95 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merrimack Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Merrimack Valley, located off Interstate 495 in Haverhill, Massachusetts. This Merrimack Valley area hotel is conveniently close to Canobie Lake Park, the Salisbury State Reservation, Hampton Beach and the Salem Witch Museums. The Best Western Merrimack Valley offers spaciously appointed guest rooms, each featuring a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. This New England hotel serves a complimentary breakfast each morning. Additional amenities include a fitness center, an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, guest laundry and full business services. Pets are welcome. This Haverhill hotel is close to many area attractions including the Budweiser(R) Brewery, New Hampshire and Northern Massachusetts ski areas, the Strawbery Banke Museum in Portsmouth, and the USS Constitution in Charlestown. Guests will also be close to attractions such as Merrimack College, the University of Massachusetts Lowell Campus, the Freedom Trail and the Boston Science Museum. Corporate travelers will appreciate convenient access to the Ward Hill Business Park, Osgood Landing, Raytheon and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Merrimack Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Merrimack Valley Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Haverhill
Haverhill Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing