We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Merrimack Valley
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haverhill
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I were on our way to Maine for a two week vacation when we stayed for one night at this Best Western. The hotel is showing its age and is in need of some fresh air. This is a nonsmoking hotel; however, the smell of cigarette smoke lingered in the air. The carpeting both in the room and in the hall should be replaced as quickly as possible. Only one of two key cards worked and we bought the wrong one with us when we went out for dinner. We had to return down a long hall way to reach a house phone, eventually a new key was given to us so that we could reenter the room. We had a good time at a nearby restaurant, the 99, and would recommend that you try it. On our trip home we chose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
Thank Happygrandma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Happygrandma20,

Thank you for your recent review. I apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced while with us. We are indeed a 100% non smoking hotel and often we do have the ocassional guest who surpasses that policy. We do have a great housekeeping staff, so I suspect your sensitivity to the smell may be higher than mine. Please check back with us as we are preparing to "freshen" up our hotel in the next year or so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Merrimack Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 433 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for the first night after flying in to Boston airport. The hotel was easy to find, clean and had a good size swimming pool and fitness centre. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was incredible!
Would recommend to stay at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteEd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear CharlotteEd87,

Thank you very much for the great feedback! I love seeing "Brilliant Hotel and Excellent Value" as your heading as we truly strive for both! We are priced very competitively with the area, and our staff is always on top of making sure to offer the best available price to our guests. We hope to see you again soon as we are a great stop for the fall foliage season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 28, 2013

It is an older hotel, but they keep it clean which is the best. The pool was an added bonus, and the breakfast was awesome for us and the kids. Close to everything. We originally got the hotel just to sleep, but with a really rainy day we had to use the pool facility to keep the kids happy. And happy they were. The pool was clean and a lot of indoor fun. The whole place was clean. It was a nice job by all the staff to keep up the clean atmosphere. We will probably stay there again in the future, and we would reccommend it to other families. Close to a number of great restaurants near bye, including Olivia's Italian Restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear recent guest,

I am so happy to hear your vacation went great! It is good to hear that our services and hotel facilities met your needs. We are very close to many local Haverhill establishments, including Olivia's. We will be sure to continue to recommend to all of our guests. Have a great upcoming Fall season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at the Haverhill Best Western while in the area for a quick weekend to myself....I had actually made another reservation at another BW (I'm a loyalty member) but decided Haverhill was closer to what I wanted to do. I found the rate much lower than my other reservation which was pleasant considering it was the summer peak season...I had an idea that it would probably be older building due to the price....and it was. But the staff were very polite and helpful, and it is obvious that a lot of care still goes into the place even with its age. The room was a bit small but still comfortable and not crowded...the bed a bit firm but definitely comfortable.....and the bathroom was immaculate. The morning breakfast was just ok....but in fairness I got there very late and I believe I got the tail end of what was being served....overall I was very happy with the stay....it was what I expected and definitely nice for the value cost of the room.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Greetings Anthony T,

On behalf of the entire staff, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am happy to see that your stay was pleasant. Although a bit older of a building, the team does a terrific job keeping up with the cleanliness and condition. I appreciate your continued loyalty to Best Western Hotels. Please come back and check out our new loyalty recognition program we have in place for our Rewards Members!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have recently stay at the best western in Haverhill mass, with my boyfriend. Every staff member was extremely nice and welcoming, especially Tanya Marie Murphy, she answered all of our questions and was quite knowledgeable about everything! Also I really respect the fact that they have active military discount seeing that my boyfriend is active military!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Greetings Kristen S,

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for the wonderful comments about our staff, especially Tanya! We really do appreciate our Military guests. We love to provide a Military discount, so please call again to inquire about this rate @ 978-373-1511.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The outside of this motel was certainly made enhancing with all the hanging ivy geraniums along with the over 6 foot white petunia towers surronding the entries. The front desk personnel, both checking in and checking out were exceptionally freindly and helpful. The room itself was large and clean with all working amenties making for a pleasant stay. The halls and the elevator floors could have used some cleaning due to trash left by travelers. The breakfast in the morning was good and kept filled by a very nice lady employee. I would stay here again if in the area.This motel is pet freindly, so if you have an allergy to pet's, find a different motel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Greetings EF F,

Thank you very much for your review! We have had so many compliments about our flower towers! The staff who have kept up watering these all summer have done a terrific job! We work very hard to provide guests with exceptional service. I will let the breakfast attendant know of your praise! Please contact the hotel directly next time you are interesting in booking with us @ 978-373-1511. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The motel is like most other motels that have an indoor pool and are designed to attract travelers looking for low cost accommodations. The value is good and the hotel provides most of the amenities you need - there is food, shopping and a pharmacy very close by. The breakfast, which is included is both hot and cold with coffee to go. If basic is what you are looking for this is as good as many.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Greetings Ray K,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am happy to hear your stay met your needs. In this day and age, hotel chains are very competitive with one another. I am happy to hear we have everything to suit a travelers needs when staying in the Merrimack Valley. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverhill
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Haverhill
Hampton Inn Haverhill
#1 of 2 in Haverhill
562 reviews
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Salem
Red Roof Inn Salem
#2 of 4 in Salem
231 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel & Conference Center - Methuen MA
5.3 mi away
Park View Inn Inc.
Park View Inn Inc.
#1 of 4 in Salem
219 reviews
11.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
#2 of 2 in Amesbury
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merrimack Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merrimack Valley

Address: 401 Lowell Ave, Haverhill, MA 01832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Haverhill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haverhill
Price Range: $95 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merrimack Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Merrimack Valley, located off Interstate 495 in Haverhill, Massachusetts. This Merrimack Valley area hotel is conveniently close to Canobie Lake Park, the Salisbury State Reservation, Hampton Beach and the Salem Witch Museums. The Best Western Merrimack Valley offers spaciously appointed guest rooms, each featuring a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. This New England hotel serves a complimentary breakfast each morning. Additional amenities include a fitness center, an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, guest laundry and full business services. Pets are welcome. This Haverhill hotel is close to many area attractions including the Budweiser(R) Brewery, New Hampshire and Northern Massachusetts ski areas, the Strawbery Banke Museum in Portsmouth, and the USS Constitution in Charlestown. Guests will also be close to attractions such as Merrimack College, the University of Massachusetts Lowell Campus, the Freedom Trail and the Boston Science Museum. Corporate travelers will appreciate convenient access to the Ward Hill Business Park, Osgood Landing, Raytheon and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Merrimack Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Merrimack Valley Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Haverhill
Haverhill Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing