We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Merrimack Valley
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haverhill
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great value, location, and staff! My husband and I drove 18 hours with our 6 month old son so when we arrived we were exhausted! We were greeted by a very friendly Tanya who checked us in quickly so we could finally relax and rest! We had a great stay and the staff was accommodating, friendly and extremely helpful our entire stay! Tanya even recommended several restaurants that we are dying to go back to!! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Meg K,

Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus for your most recent trip to New England. We are very happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay and you got to experience our local cuisine while in town. Our desk staff is always available to give recommendations on the local area. We look forward to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    129
    78
    47
    41
See reviews for
169
94
29
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've been staying in this hotel for 11 years as my hotel local business choice. Although General Managers, & staff changes, the consistency in cleanliness, service, terrific staff attitudes, friendliness, value is second to none... for this location. I say this with respect to the hotel industry inwhich I served as a manager & executive for Four Seasons hotel properties & Mirage Resorts in Las Vegas. I use this hotel for my international business clients from Canada, Europe, & the Middle East.

This is why I have a business account at this property for now... 11 years & counting.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bighue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Bighue,

Thank you for your loyalty to Best Western we appreciate your business!! We strive to achieve excellent service and cleanliness and are pleased that you have encountered this over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridegefield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Ditto on all the run-down, smelling bad, bad area, very shady clientele reviews already listed here.(a young woman actually threatened a few of our girls with 'a beating' while they were walking through the hall and they viewed the girl and her male friend in a heated argument)
We were booked here with a summer sports team for my daughter. We stayed with the team and that is the only reason I stayed after seeing the motel. I should have not stayed.
A few days after coming home, my daughter noticed a bug on her leg just after getting up in the morning. We had never seen a bed bug before and she didn't know what it was flushed and thought no more of it. - 2 weeks later I saw another one of these bugs and researched - it was a bed bug.
Long story short - hadn't been away any where for months and months before - no sleepovers - no visitors to our home and no one in my daughter's room since. The only place we could've brought these home from is the Best Western "plus". They were located in our home on the bookcase where she hangs her overnight bag and also in one corner of her bed.
Called to report to the management. - very nice young man but I knew they would never admit to bed bugs. He let me know next day they had the room checked thoroughly and none found. Of course.
Bed bugs were contained in my daughters room with no evidence of this having been a long term problem - in fact the bug sniffing dog team that came and the actual exterminator confirmed there was no evidence of the bugs being here for any length of time at all. Seeing the actual bugs but no fecal drops- they found a couple more bugs as they treated the room. I had found several more on the floor and in the bed just before they came.
So - this 'reasonable' room has cost me approximately $3,400 in the past 3 days. Best Western will not refund 200+ we paid for the room. I have contacted the Haverhill Health department and when I asked if they needed the address they said " Oh, no, we know it."
I warn you to either check thoroughly before putting your things down in any room or pass this town and go tho another for lodging.
The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is about the management during our stay. He was very accommodating of certain requests the team made and very nice. Unfortunately he works in a hotel that has bedbugs that doesn't remedy the situation properly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Betsdeb,

I am sorry you are frustrated. We work very hard to provide guests exceptional cleanliness. In this day and age unfortunately bed bugs are part of our industry. As discussed with our General Manager, the room was found to have NO bed bug activity. Also, your report stated a week or two after your stay was your first sighting, this is not typically the case should bed bugs be tracked from one location to the other. Again, we do apologize to you and your family to have to go through this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Haverhill hotels

Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our first Best Western experience. Arrived late at night. Even managed to get some discount at front desk! Receptionist was so helpful. Room was clean and adequate to 4 of us (2 adults, 2 children). Price-performance rate is one of the best in BW chain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SasaPeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello SasaPeric,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at Best Western Plus in Haverhill. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience for your first time at Best Western. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you stay with us again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, NY, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel was clean, comfortable and convenient . It was right on the detour we had to take to get to family we were visiting. The staff was not just helpful, but friendly. And before our trip when I was choosing a hotel, no one else could beat BW's reasonable rates.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello Karen S,

Thank you for you recent review. It is nice to see that you recognize our staff as Best Western strives to achieve excellent guest service. We hope you signed up for Best Western Rewards to save on your next stay. If you have any questions please give us a call at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is an outdated hotel and needs to be rennovated! The room was uninviting....hot and stuffy, smelled like trying to coverup stale cigarette smoke, water pressure in shower was bad, tub was stained, holes in bedspread, hallways were hot and some areas smelled bad, carpets stained, my bed was only half made when my room was serviced, breakfast was minimal and not that good...should I go on? Would only stay here if it was one night and passing through and got a great rate. Sorry!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Greetings Bette,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize your stay was not as you expected. Certainly I would like to discuss your stay with you personally. I do understand you stayed with us during a record breaking period of summer for this area, but nevertheless, please contact me directly at dana@bwmerrimackvalley.com.

Best,

Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I thought the staff was amazing they were always smiling and always courteous. I also enjoyed the breakfast with a waffle maker what else do you need?! I will be staying and would absolutely recommend for a friend or family members to stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murph12327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are so happy you enjoyed your time here in Merrimack Valley! We really strive on customer service and it is so good to see your appreciation towards that. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverhill
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Haverhill
Hampton Inn Haverhill
#1 of 2 in Haverhill
530 reviews
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel & Conference Center - Methuen MA
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Salem
Red Roof Inn Salem
#2 of 4 in Salem
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
5.3 mi away
Park View Inn Inc.
Park View Inn Inc.
#1 of 4 in Salem
200 reviews
11.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
#2 of 2 in Amesbury
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merrimack Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merrimack Valley

Property: Best Western Merrimack Valley
Address: 401 Lowell Ave, Haverhill, MA 01832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Haverhill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haverhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merrimack Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Merrimack Valley, located off Interstate 495 in Haverhill, Massachusetts. This Merrimack Valley area hotel is conveniently close to Canobie Lake Park, the Salisbury State Reservation, Hampton Beach and the Salem Witch Museums. The Best Western Merrimack Valley offers spaciously appointed guest rooms, each featuring a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. This New England hotel serves a complimentary breakfast each morning. Additional amenities include a fitness center, an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, guest laundry and full business services. Pets are welcome. This Haverhill hotel is close to many area attractions including the Budweiser(R) Brewery, New Hampshire and Northern Massachusetts ski areas, the Strawbery Banke Museum in Portsmouth, and the USS Constitution in Charlestown. Guests will also be close to attractions such as Merrimack College, the University of Massachusetts Lowell Campus, the Freedom Trail and the Boston Science Museum. Corporate travelers will appreciate convenient access to the Ward Hill Business Park, Osgood Landing, Raytheon and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Merrimack Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Merrimack Valley Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Haverhill
Haverhill Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing