We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Merrimack Valley
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haverhill
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We recently stayed here only because our grand son's hockey team was. Our room was okay, but we did not find the hotel very clean. The carpets in the hallways are soiled and the the girl at the front desk is not friendly.

The worst part of our stay was that we were awoken at 2am in the morning by a caller suggesting they were the front desk. The caller said "the computer had crashed and they needed our credit card number". Obviously, we did not give it to them, but they called 2 more times. This ruined our sleep and made us feel very uncomfortable and unsafe. Our theory is this hotel is being cased.

There are people living in the hotel, which makes it feel like low income housing. We feel one of these "tenants" are related to the 2am call. How did they know grand parents were staying in that room? They knew because they saw us enter the room and had hoped they could take advantage of us.

One of the kids on the team also had their gear stolen and had to miss a game. How sad!

It is certainly not worth the price tag either.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeLuvCruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 442 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Think this was the second time staying at this location (a common stop for us to ME from MI), but I will comment on the most recent stay. Nice Room, clean, good A/C, comfy beds. It was odd that the bathroom counter was water damaged and warped. Otherwise the room and bath were up-to-date and well appointed. I was pleasantly surprised that pets were welcomed - we travel with a mid-sized lab mix - which can make finding a hotel difficult. We made reservations for this stay but it is good to know they allow pets for future stays. I always clean up after our dog, but noticed that others did not, even though disposal bags/bins were provided at the far North end of the property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoniff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our sports team stayed here on a recent road trip. Everyone noticed the odd smell immediately when entering the hallway. Our room was quite large and fairly clean, but others had a similar smell in their room. We thought we were getting a decent group rate, but it appears we could have stayed at higher end hotels in the area for $20 cheaper.

One family from another team checked out early when they found bed bugs. I am not sure how it was handled by the front desk, but I am sure they will be posting something and I look forward to reading it.

While they seem to have a very strict no smoking policy ($150 penalty), the long-term renter in room 157 was allowed to chain smoke in his room. It was not hard to figure out as the smell was coming from his room. We complained to security, but they did not seem to care about it. I would definitely avoid rooms in this area (around back of hotel). They seem to have many long-term renters and unfortunately most of our team was in this area. If you are a sports team, you probably want to avoid this hotel just for that reason. The lack of rules was to the liking of the kids as they could play in the hall until the renter in room 157 would complain.

The kids did like the pool and the free breakfast. However, they did seem to run out of egg and bacon pretty quickly and you had the feeling the long-term renters (and friends they let into the hotel through the side door) were eating well.

If you do stay at this hotel, do not leave anything in your vehicle. We had one vehicle broken into and gear stolen.

The girl at the front desk hates her job. I think her name was Karilynn (?). She has no idea that she works in the hospitality business. We seemed to be bothering her and she was never at the front desk. It is unfortunate as the manager on duty seemed to be trying his best.

If I ran this hotel, I would close down, re hire and renovate/clean. This hotel needs a fresh start – get rid of the seedy long-term renters and that smell. Having long-term renters takes away from the Best Western brand (will avoid in the future) and the status of the hotel. We travel frequently and this is the lowest quality hotel I have stayed in 15 years. Anyone that has posted "excellent" must have stayed at another hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the back of the hotel. Make sure there are no long-term renters that are allowed to smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halifaxvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear your stay was unsatisfactory. We adhere to a very strict cleaning policy and standards regarding smoking in the hotel. I assure you, we promptly address any issue brought to our attention by our guests. We have frequent trainings and improvement meetings and I will be sure to pass your feedback along in that meeting. We are always striving to improve our guests’ experiences and I would encourage you to contact me if anything was left unresolved from your stay.

Thank you,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We chose this hotel for it proximity with Boston City and the price. We stayed for 10 days. Breakfast is ok. Size of the room was perfect, not too big. The bathroom was clean. We could control the air conditioning which was great because I hate it when it’s too cold. There is a fridge in the room so we could prepare cold water bottles for the next day in Boston and keep food. There is a grocery store just in front and a movie theatre just beside (only 3 movies though). Good restaurants near by. Overall a really good experience for the price. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathQc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend our hotel. We greatly appreciate your visit and your compliments about our property. We strive for all our guests to experience a relaxing and comfortable stay and glad you received that. We look forward to having you again!

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stopped here for one night enroute from a DC suburb of MD to Maine. It is pet friendly which was a must since we were traveling with the dog. It made for a good stopping point with a lot of miles under our belt. The lobby is pleasant. We were housed in the back building, and walking in building D, there is a definite musty, mildew smell. The smell was not evident in the room. It was a clean, rather large room with two honest queen size beds, not the little doubles. AC worked great. The CVS in the parking lot is very handy. Fridge and microwave in room were nice touches. Didn't swim in the pool. Breakfast in the morning was pretty good. The bagels were good, and the eggs and bacon standard. Having the complimentary breakfast helped ease the sting of a rather costly rate for a highway stop by of 161.00.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank LiisaB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed a large, clean room with a great AC unit, as well as the fridge and microwave. It sounds like you had a very pleasant stay and we enjoyed having you as our guest. We hope you will stay with us next time you pass through again. We appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,
Steven Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Arrived @ 11AM and were allowed to checkin early, thank you!! Wonderful stay. Recently renovated King room was very clean large and comfortable. Sheets, towels and pillows fresh and crisp. Polite and friendly staff. A/C worked to perfection, it was 95 degrees and room cooled off within seconds of turning on. Pool was large and very clean and breakfast also had hot eggs, bacon and waffles, as well as the continental fare.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islesgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thanks so much for your very positive review! We love hearing about all the amenities and hotel features you enjoyed at our hotel. We hope you will choose to stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for several nights and though we did not experience any real issues, the hotel needs to have a makeover and is showing its age. The halls are not properly AC'd, so they, along with the elevator, are not comfortable to be in. This in turn causes the rooms a little longer to cool down as for a couple days, the AC was turned off after the room was made and we had to turn it back on, upon our return. (The elevator was last inspected in January 2011, according to the card attached inside) The hotel is non-smoking, but it does allow pets and coupled with the hot halls, old and quite frankly, worn carpet, the "smells" were evident at times throughout the hotel. On the positive side, the rooms were nice, comfortable, and large for their size. The complimentary breakfast was good, with hot foods included, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. For those reasons, I give it a rating of "Average". It is in an area convenient to 495 and downtown Haverhill, but the grounds, halls, elevator, and overall decorations, are in need of a makeover and massive upkeep. Free wi-fi, but was never able to connect wirelessly. If they would spend some money, to bring the hotel up to Best Western expectation, in addition to the positives I mentioned, it would be a place I would return to stay at. Again, for a night or two, or just driving through, it's worth the quick stop, but probably, at this point, nothing more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your recent stay with us and are glad to hear you found our rooms large and clean, plus our hot breakfast enjoyable and our staff friendly and accommodating. We are continually updating our property, but appreciate your candid feedback so we know what areas we should address as a priority. As a side note, we are at the mercy of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts for our elevator inspection we do however have it regularly serviced by a licensed company. Thanks again and we hope you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverhill
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Haverhill
Hampton Inn Haverhill
#1 of 2 in Haverhill
574 reviews
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Salem
Red Roof Inn Salem
#2 of 4 in Salem
234 reviews
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel & Conference Center - Methuen MA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
5.3 mi away
Park View Inn Inc.
Park View Inn Inc.
#1 of 4 in Salem
223 reviews
7.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merrimack Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merrimack Valley

Address: 401 Lowell Ave, Haverhill, MA 01832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Haverhill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haverhill
Price Range: $102 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merrimack Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Merrimack Valley, located off Interstate 495 in Haverhill, Massachusetts. This Merrimack Valley area hotel is conveniently close to Canobie Lake Park, the Salisbury State Reservation, Hampton Beach and the Salem Witch Museums. The Best Western Merrimack Valley offers spaciously appointed guest rooms, each featuring a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. This New England hotel serves a complimentary breakfast each morning. Additional amenities include a fitness center, an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, guest laundry and full business services. Pets are welcome. This Haverhill hotel is close to many area attractions including the Budweiser(R) Brewery, New Hampshire and Northern Massachusetts ski areas, the Strawbery Banke Museum in Portsmouth, and the USS Constitution in Charlestown. Guests will also be close to attractions such as Merrimack College, the University of Massachusetts Lowell Campus, the Freedom Trail and the Boston Science Museum. Corporate travelers will appreciate convenient access to the Ward Hill Business Park, Osgood Landing, Raytheon and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Merrimack Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Merrimack Valley Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Haverhill
Haverhill Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing