We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised! You have to take all reviews with a grain of salt.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Merrimack Valley
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haverhill
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Arrived @ 11AM and were allowed to checkin early, thank you!! Wonderful stay. Recently renovated King room was very clean large and comfortable. Sheets, towels and pillows fresh and crisp. Polite and friendly staff. A/C worked to perfection, it was 95 degrees and room cooled off within seconds of turning on. Pool was large and very clean and breakfast also had hot eggs, bacon and waffles, as well as the continental fare.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islesgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thanks so much for your very positive review! We love hearing about all the amenities and hotel features you enjoyed at our hotel. We hope you will choose to stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Merrimack Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 433 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for several nights and though we did not experience any real issues, the hotel needs to have a makeover and is showing its age. The halls are not properly AC'd, so they, along with the elevator, are not comfortable to be in. This in turn causes the rooms a little longer to cool down as for a couple days, the AC was turned off after the room was made and we had to turn it back on, upon our return. (The elevator was last inspected in January 2011, according to the card attached inside) The hotel is non-smoking, but it does allow pets and coupled with the hot halls, old and quite frankly, worn carpet, the "smells" were evident at times throughout the hotel. On the positive side, the rooms were nice, comfortable, and large for their size. The complimentary breakfast was good, with hot foods included, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. For those reasons, I give it a rating of "Average". It is in an area convenient to 495 and downtown Haverhill, but the grounds, halls, elevator, and overall decorations, are in need of a makeover and massive upkeep. Free wi-fi, but was never able to connect wirelessly. If they would spend some money, to bring the hotel up to Best Western expectation, in addition to the positives I mentioned, it would be a place I would return to stay at. Again, for a night or two, or just driving through, it's worth the quick stop, but probably, at this point, nothing more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your recent stay with us and are glad to hear you found our rooms large and clean, plus our hot breakfast enjoyable and our staff friendly and accommodating. We are continually updating our property, but appreciate your candid feedback so we know what areas we should address as a priority. As a side note, we are at the mercy of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts for our elevator inspection we do however have it regularly serviced by a licensed company. Thanks again and we hope you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Right off Rt 495 at exit 49, this motel was clean and bed were very comfortable. Although the service was aloof and almost impersonal the room was good and the a/c was GREAT. Considering it was 90+ outside and in the hallways, the room was a cool 64 and sleeping was easy.

Nice breakfast included in the price and worth staying at if you need a room in the area for a night or 2.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daltjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We’re glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Our goal is to provide our guests with a clean and comfortable place to rest and it sounds like that’s exactly what you experienced. Thanks for providing us with this feedback and we look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel was great to stay with my husband and son. We used the pool which was clean and big. The room was clean and comfortable and a great staff! The shopping center is across the street and it is located very convenient to the highway. Also our little trip into Haverhill was delightful. Breakfast was more than expected, lots of great options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCortez224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We’re glad you had such an enjoyable family stay with us! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our pool, rooms, breakfast and location. We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip.

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Advertised great place in so many ways...you have to be kidding! This is not an acceptable hotel. We arrived at midnight and I realize the attendant may have been tired, but there was a line to check in and she treated all of us like a number, not guests. She could have cared less. When we got to our room, after going down a long dark hall that was very grungy looking and had cigarette smoke in it, we came to our room. Opening the door to a mild dew smell, we were not impressed with the double beds and the window being open on ground level. The small room smelled so bad we called the desk and they replied it was what they had. It was so late we were not going to move and to where? The next morning we tried their breakfast...well the bacon was so thin you could see through it. The bread was dried out. It was not good and there were so many people. I would never stay there. A lot of other people seemed unhappy. Upon check out we were just a number again. Their front area may look all reminded and nice, but don't look much further, because it isn't! One just left something at the pool side and the attendant just stood her ground and would not let them retrieve their item because the pool was closed. The staff was just not welcoming, like they see too many people and they take their entire business success for granted.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLily11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory stay. We strive for customer satisfaction from all our guests and make continued improvements every day to our hotel and service. I have noted your feedback and will be sure to include this into our next training to ensure all guests receive the high level of service we provide.

Thank you,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

To spend over 100.00 per night for this hotel is insane.
We arrived after midnight, got our keys and went up to our room and they did not work. Went back down to get new keys---came back up and the keys still did not work. Repeated the same step yet again and still no luck. Very, very frustrating experience! We ended up calling a relative that was in an adjoining room to open the door for us at 130 in the morning! The person that checked us in was obviously tired as she kept yawning. Perhaps she needed more sleep?
The door to the bathroom did not close without being forced. The sink did not drain.
I just think to spend over 100.00 for a property like this is crazy. Thank goodness it was just for 1 night. If I would have spent 50.00, I would not complain.
I do not recommend and will not return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear you experienced some frustrating parts of your stay. We encourage all guests to bring any room issues to the attention of the front desk staff who are trained in promptly taking care of any concerns. We have many amenities at our hotel for our guests to enjoy and we hope that you will be able to stay with us again to enjoy our hotel to its fullest.

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our family stayed at the Best Western in Haverhill Ma on 6-23-12, Can not say enough good things about this place.. Clean rooms, hotel staff very friendly, right off of 495 the security gaurd there went out of his way to help us get some sheets for the rollaway bed the pool and whirlpool was wonderfull and breakfast was awesome always refreshing and adding more so there is always enough for guests to eat.. yes there is a shopping plaza across the street but you couldn't hear a thing slept like a baby. We will come back and stay here everytime we are in the area. Best Western in Haverhill as long as you keep our experiance as wonderfull as it was you have a long time customer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salvatore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

We are very glad you loved your stay! Thank you for leaving us this great feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit. Thanks for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverhill
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Haverhill
Hampton Inn Haverhill
#1 of 2 in Haverhill
561 reviews
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Salem
Red Roof Inn Salem
#2 of 4 in Salem
231 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel & Conference Center - Methuen MA
5.3 mi away
Park View Inn Inc.
Park View Inn Inc.
#1 of 4 in Salem
219 reviews
11.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
#2 of 2 in Amesbury
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merrimack Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merrimack Valley

Address: 401 Lowell Ave, Haverhill, MA 01832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Haverhill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haverhill
Price Range: $95 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merrimack Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Merrimack Valley, located off Interstate 495 in Haverhill, Massachusetts. This Merrimack Valley area hotel is conveniently close to Canobie Lake Park, the Salisbury State Reservation, Hampton Beach and the Salem Witch Museums. The Best Western Merrimack Valley offers spaciously appointed guest rooms, each featuring a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. This New England hotel serves a complimentary breakfast each morning. Additional amenities include a fitness center, an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, guest laundry and full business services. Pets are welcome. This Haverhill hotel is close to many area attractions including the Budweiser(R) Brewery, New Hampshire and Northern Massachusetts ski areas, the Strawbery Banke Museum in Portsmouth, and the USS Constitution in Charlestown. Guests will also be close to attractions such as Merrimack College, the University of Massachusetts Lowell Campus, the Freedom Trail and the Boston Science Museum. Corporate travelers will appreciate convenient access to the Ward Hill Business Park, Osgood Landing, Raytheon and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Merrimack Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Merrimack Valley Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Haverhill
Haverhill Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing