We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh fish”

George's Place Fish Market
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in Harwich Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Owners Scott and Linda Kelley of Chatham and their staff are "local people providing local seafood!" We offer classic seafood meals, including fried or grilled seafood, lobster rolls, baked stuffed lobsters, and chowders. Our homemade items can be called in and made to order. Picnic outside seating
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

You're guaranteed fresh fish and if you want a fresh fried meal, then you've found the place. No calling ahead - if you want it fresh then you need to show up. A bit of an inconvenience - waiting the whole 5 minutes - but worth every bite.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hello420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    14
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good fried fish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was exctied to try this place based on the reviews it's received. The staff wasn't particularly friendly, but the fried food was pretty good.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank DRL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips anywhere on the Cape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stopped in to purchase lobster and discovered that they served food there as well Surprise ! We ordered fish and chips and will say that it's the best I've ever had anywhere. Served with fries. - not greasy soggy fries either. The batter was crispy and again not loaded with fat but crispy, crunchy and delicious. It's best to take out and we did eat our lunch in the car but that was we were so hungry and knew that the food was soooo good that we couldn't wait to take it back to Chatham.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danoRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One word . . .unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Simply a take-out fish market like no other. Great staff as well.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justagame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great lobster and a great deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had a great lobster dinner from George's while staying in a vacation rental home in Chatham. Talk about easy. We called in our order for six lobsters in the afternoon and picked them up just in time for dinner. This is a take out only fish market so don't expect a table. We took the lobsters back to our rental to eat. They were cooked, cracked and split. Best of all they were delicious! At ten bucks a pound it was also a real bargain. You can also get them live if you prefer to cook them yourself or take some home to your friends.

George's has a great selection of fresh fish and seafood. The hours are somewhat limited so get there early. They are also at the Chatham farmers market on Tuesdays.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CNY-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Place Fish Market also viewed

 
Harwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to George's Place Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing