We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Tapas!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant

Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Harwich Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“GREAT Tapas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We went with another couple and were able to try many things on the menu. They served 2 different kinds of mussels, one was a mustard, and was with a drambui (sp?) sauce-both were outstanding. The pork belly tapas wasn't 100% what I was expecting, but it was tasty. We also had 2 desserts, the creme brule and a chocolate bread pudding. Both were good, but not THE most amazing I've ever had. The atmosphere is great, with live music and a cozy "house-like" feel. A must visit if in the Harwich Cape Cod area!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelers1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    66
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakwood, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Going back tonight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Met Patrick & Annie - <3 owners <3 - Super people people! To die for burgers last night...bringing friends for tapas 2nite! Great chef as we heard from someone earlier in the day. Laurie, our server was very helpful with suggestions for these two foodies eating a late nite dinner! Great music, too! - Everyone was friendly and ready to please.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Another excellent visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We visit once or twice a year and this trip was every bit as good as the others. Brought some friends with us - nice to see the larger dining room in use and very full. Beef carpacio was amazing, we also had oysters and calamari. Dinners were scallops, sea bass and an elk tenderloin special - all were fantastic. Great service, waiter was very helpful with our gluten free issues and it's always nice to see the owner fully engaged in what is happening in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MAM0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not your "old Cape Cod tavern"...foodies do NOT pass this place by!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stumbled upon Mooncussers Tripadvisor while looking for a new, interesting place to dine last week. After reading many positive reviews we decided to make the drive and give it a try. It was worth the trip!

Menu is an eclectic mix of tapas, burgers and a slightly higher end range of entrees. The restaurant itself is an older house and the restaurant is made up of several different rooms. Each room is a little different, with wide plank flooring, wood tables/chairs, 2 bars (again, not a "bar scene" as previously mentioned) and a couple of smaller rooms that would be able to accommodate private dining for smaller parties of 8 or 10?

We started our evening with a few tapas - The Gambas which was comprised of 3 very large shrimp in a tomato/garlic/paprika sauce with some bread for sopping it up!! Delish! Truffle fries were very good, but I would have preferred more truffle but I love my truffles, so that might be just my taste. We shared the Ribeye which was cooked perfectly, and we enjoyed every last bite! The owner made visits to all the tables, and was knowledgeable and friendly. Our only complaint- and it's a small one- would be the wine pours are on the lighter side. We remedied that by buying the bottle and will only order wine that way from now on. Still a great experience and we will be back soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeFoodie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our "date night" dinner here last night. We were both impressed with the menu and especially pleased with the pan seared scallops and tuna dishes we selected. It seemed a lot of locals mentioned the Cape Sea Grille as being the best around but it was obvious none of them had found Mooncussers Tavern. And after my brother ate at the Sea Grille and reported just a good experience there, I am convinced the Mooncussers should be rated higher. Our waitress, Alex, was very good and the service otherwise excellent. We later learned from the owner that this was their fourth year open. I truly hope for a long and prosperous run!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grafton_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Harwich Port, Harwich
Harwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing