We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Wonderful Dining Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant

Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Harwich Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our "date night" dinner here last night. We were both impressed with the menu and especially pleased with the pan seared scallops and tuna dishes we selected. It seemed a lot of locals mentioned the Cape Sea Grille as being the best around but it was obvious none of them had found Mooncussers Tavern. And after my brother ate at the Sea Grille and reported just a good experience there, I am convinced the Mooncussers should be rated higher. Our waitress, Alex, was very good and the service otherwise excellent. We later learned from the owner that this was their fourth year open. I truly hope for a long and prosperous run!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grafton_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    61
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow! This is one amazing restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I've spent my summers in Harwich for the past nine years and driven past this restaurant for several of them. What a mistake that was! The tavern has a very cool atmosphere and has live music on many evenings. The food, a mixture of tapas, burgers and entrees is unique, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious! We got two tapas...a tiger shrimp dish with an amazing tomato based sauce and a steak and eggs plate served over rice with Bernaise sauce. The owner's son explained to us that he and a friend worked on creating the dish while he was playing hockey and had to eat a lot of protein. It was really good! For dinner, my husband and I split a seafood primavera made with fresh pasta, shrimp, scallops and little necks that included some perfectly cooked vegetables. Also a great choice. I can honestly say this was one of the best meals I've had in a long time. I'm just bummed I couldn't make room for the chocolate bread pudding for dessert! The only criticism I have is that we waited a long time for our food. Everything seems made to order and it was well worth the wait! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“When are we going again, Honey?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Soon....he said.....very soon! We let this restaurant sit for 3 years before actually dining here. I misjudged it by its name and assumed it was just a pub....this is NOT just a pub. It's a lovely establishment owned by a kind french/american couple who understand food, presentation, and good service.

My husband and I FINALLY made it here the other day and loved our meals. Seafood and veggies were the crux of my meal and that is always a score for me as I never like good food without the accompaniment of nicely done vegetables, (asparagus, fresh corn and red onion). Our server was exceptional and friendly, (although she was new). It goes without saying that whenever the owners or management visits each table to "check in" service is usually very good...and it was in this case too! The bar area is comfy and lovely also. I think we will plan on going back soon to sample the classy looking bar in the back as well! Don't miss this one!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orlandogal307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food and service both fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The meal was extraordinary and our Irish waiter was amazing. I would highly recommend this for a night out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank klsmith12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
226 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My only regret about this place is that I didn't find it sooner.
From the minute we arrived I observed a confidence about the quality of the food which was not misplaced.
A family owned and run establishment which takes immense pride in the overall dinning experience.
The French love of food and the American attention to service shine through. Superb quality of food cooked to perfection. Service was excellent and we never lacked for anything. The server was able to help us with our numerous questions.
The menu is really good with a fresh feel about it. On this occasion I had the the tuna which needless to say was perfect. However the burgers which are a slightly cheaper option sounded awesome. They have a little duck fat mixed in for flavour! There is a wide tapas menu which maybe is the way to dine here.

There are two bar areas but it's not a bar scene. Lovely seating area to unwind in before or after a meal.

Will return. Best bit ...it's just down the road from where we stay on the Cape! Happy days if we can afford it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_HInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing