We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreaming of those duck infused sliders” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant

Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Harwich Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dreaming of those duck infused sliders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We'd been wanting to try this place so we waited until the crowds left. Sat in the tavern and it was quite cozy. We decided to have a tapas assortment and started with the duck infused sliders. We momentarily thought about cancelling everything else and just getting more orders of those; they were that good. Also the gambas, charcuterie plate, tuna tempura, gruyere tart among others. Outstanding. We actually saved some room for desert and our deserts (an orange flan and a light chocolate mousse) were perfect. Our server was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back to eat our way through the rest of the menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cscott55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    66
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've been twice and recommended the restaurant to friends who all rave about this hidden gem. the food is terrific. The owner is present. Fred Fried on guitar is a treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great low key dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We found this place looking for a nice dinner for our last night on the cape. Everything was great- nice and upscale but low key and not snooty! Our waitress had one whole side of the restaurant but did a good job managing her time and never seemed flustered. Food was great- oysters with a blueberry thyme sauce and grilled jumbo shrimp for an app and it was my fiance's first time having duck and it was perfect! I had shellfish pasta (homemade) and I should have stopped halfway through but it was so good I ate the whole thing!! Fiancé got a dessert that he loved- homemade cream puff filled with homemade ice cream- he polished that off too! And the owner stopped by twice to check on us and have a little chat! Great place- off the main road so not super busy but definitely a gem!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Holy Cow! It's soooo good!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The food was absolutely incredible! We are NYers and we've eaten in the finest restaurants around....Mooncussers may be in sleepy Cape Cod, but the food rivals any you could think of!
We popped in without reservation on a Thursday evening around 5pm, with 3 kids 10 and under in tow. Our waitress was lovely and so sweet to our kids. We started with the carpaccio which was perfect! And the shrimp! Oh my goodness, the sauce should be illegal!!! You could easily ruin yourself...but it was oh so good!!! Our oldest 2 had chicken fingers, but our baby (8yrs) enjoyed the scallops over asparagus risotto - heaven! I'm not sure if any of us spoke during the entrees, I think I blacked out and came to in time for dessert. I had toasted almond creme brûlée - tasted awesome - just like its Good Humor cousin. If you're on the cape, this is not one to miss!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cb592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tried this place for the first time while on the Cape for a couple days at the end of the month and couldn't have been more glad that we did. A bit crowded so we sat at the bar and enjoyed the great recommendations on food and wine by the very knowledgeable and engaging bartender. The restaurant featured a jazz duo that night too, which added to the nice atmosphere. We'll be back some day soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank schulzwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Harwich Port, Harwich
Harwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing