We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Harwich Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a surprise right here in Harwich. A hidden jewel!
We will definitely return...

Good sized tapas plates, all we're great, shrimp, lobster crostini, cheese plate with cheeses from Chatham Cheese Shop, creamy risotto with parmesaem and asparagus, truffle parmesaem fries to die for...need I say any more

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nhmomjcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    68
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“From The Ruins, Rises a Phoenix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

When Cicadia closed down several years ago, there was a void and great sadness felt across the fine dining greater Harwich community. The restaurant site lay empty during the "great recession" with no apparent future. But with the resurgence of the local economy in 2010, a new restaurant was born. And over the last two years, it's only gotten better. In fact it's our favorite place to grab some small plates and good glass of wine of their interesting by-the-glass list. Our favorites are the duck-infused sliders, the scallops and the bar salad. There are regulars at the bar, but this is a friendly place that's informal, mid-priced and always reliable for good quality food. In a haven for fried fish, fried clams, pizza and lobster salad, Mooncusser's is truly a bastion of what Cape Cod dining can be.

Ambiance:
The ambiance is mid-tone wood, small tables and low lighting. Sure, there are televisions at the bar when the game is on (of course. the Red Sox) but the management is respectful of the diners within the restaurant and the noise level is usually civil; not a sports-bar environment.

Wine List:
The Mooncusser's list goes pretty deep and is good for a place on the Cape. Any winesnob will be OK with the selections here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kilojolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Anniversary Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were celebrating our 5 year Anniversary. The whole weekend was perfect. Restaurants, Inn and Mooncussers. I sent an email to them to see if they could put together something special for us. I asked for a private room first. Then I wanted a bottle of red and a bottle of white waiting for us. Then I thought, since my husband and I like to share our food, that it would be nice to sample most of the Tapas on the menu. So, we were not handed menu's upon arrival. We were taken to this comfortable, quaint room. It was a beautiful night so they opened the windows and the breeze came in. Then they started to bring the Tapas. Our favorite was the shrimp, we actually ordered another after we inhaled the first one. We saved room for dessert, creme brulee. The food was wonderful and the staff were right there taking care of us. I think the 2 of us were there for 3 hours. It was perfect. We will come back in December.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvcaicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rememberable experiencd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Thank you to the whole staff at Mooncussers for giving my whole family a truly memorable experience. We had a private party for my mother's 80th birthday and the whole family attended. Such a perfect evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, But Not Yet Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our oysters were very good and nicely presented. Unfortunately hubs found a big piece of shell in his lobster salad. My scallops were very good, but the risotto upon which they rested was a little undercooked. Service was efficient and pleasant. Live music on Friday eveng was nice. Dirty Martini should have more than two olives.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TomWithLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooncussersTavern, Owner at Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Unfortunate that a piece of shell was overlooked, our sincere apologies.

Must say surprised to read about the risotto though. It is one of our most liked, and positively commented on dish, that we serve. Cooking is often a subjective.

Please next time ask you waitress, or management to correct the problem, which we would more than happy to do. Same if you wish for more olives served with your martini.

Cheers,
Patrick Wiseman
President/Owner
mooncusserstavern.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Harwich, Cape Cod
Harwich Port, Harwich
 

Been to Mooncussers Tavern Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing