We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach getaway in Cape Cod” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winstead Inn and Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Harwich Port B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach getaway in Cape Cod”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Winstead Village Inn in the Chandlery Starboard room for 3 nights in July with our 12-year old daughter and loved it. We decided to stay at the Inn to be close to the pool (the Beach Resort is 1 1/2 miles away, a 5 min drive). The pool was gorgeous, in the back of the property surrounded by mature trees and beautiful landscaping. We swam 2 of the days we were there around 5pm (it was open 11am to 7pm) and had it completely to ourselves. Deciding which property to stay at was tough, but our daughter's preference was to be by the pool. The Inn isn't really walking distance to anything (you can walk to Harwich, but we found there wasn't much in Harwich to visit, other than the bike trail). The Beach Resort is beautiful, and has its own private beach going down to the public shoreline (public beach is about 3(?) miles long and the Winstead is in the middle). You will recognize the value of the private beach when you see how crowded the public beach gets on a nice day! There were plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas to use. Breakfast was served at the Beach Resort (from 8am) and there were lots of great places to sit: inside in the dining room, outside on the front porch, or out on the deck overlooking the beach - all have beautiful views of the beach and there is ample seating. The continental breakfast was included - choices were freshly baked muffins and banana loaf, various breads (we were appreciative of the multigrain bagels), a beautiful fresh fruit salad, yogurt, and various cereals.The Beach Resort is walking distance to Harwich Port, which we found to be much more picturesque than Harwich, and there are lots of great restaurants (The Sea Grille, in particular, was amazing!) The service at the Winstead is top-notch, from the completely immaculate room to helpfulness of staff in suggesting restaurants and making reservations (thanks Anne and Doug!) Our room, the Chandlery Starboard, was half of a building which has been converted, quite nicely, into 2 suites. Our suite was quite large. It entered into a living/dining room with table and chairs, pullout sofa, TV and A/C. There is an adjoining master bedroom (with sliding door) with a king bed, TV, A/C and basic kitchen (sink/microwave/mini fridge/nice glasses/dishes), with a master bathroom which has a tub/shower, and then through another sliding door, the toilet/sink. We found the suite to be very comfortable and I loved the fact that there was tons of storage, so you could really make yourself at home. The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable. The one downside, an important one for us, is that the pullout sofa bed had seen much better days.The slip covers on the sofa were stained, and the mattress was very uncomfortable. Our daughter, who is generally quite low maintenance, refused to sleep on it. Anne at the Beach Resort immediately offered to send a cot, which was adequate once we stuck some thick blankets under the crease in the middle of the mattress. To end on a good note, we would highly recommend the Winstead Inn and Beach Resort for its top service, beautiful location and premises.

Room Tip: Chandlery Starboard and Port are about 50 feet away from the pool whereas the rooms in the Carriage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mywoody, General Manager at Winstead Inn and Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Unfortunately the furniture industry has not developed the perfect sleep sofa yet. We have changed the mattresses to the foam type hoping to make them more comfortable for you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    33
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
134
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is my first review on TripAdivsor. I've always read, but never left reviews until now. Only because Winstead Inn and Beach Resort is so amazing it was worth writing about. We recently returned from our very first Cape Cod vacation with our two boys (6 & 8). The outstanding service started even before we arrived and lasted throughout. Doug spent plenty of time with me over the phone assessing our needs and helping us pick the best dates and room.

When we arrived, we were greeted by a smiling staff who parked our car because the lot was full. Our room (7) was perfect for our family. The room was very clean including the bathroom which was sporting white thick towels and spotless white tile and pedestal sink. Here are just a few of wonderful details that made the Beach Resort extra special:

- Polished wood paneling and doors
- Rich blue-colored carpets
- Welcoming stone fireplace
- Soft leather chairs
- Fresh-cut flowers
- Delicious and hearty breakfast with the "Flavor of the Day" muffins

And that's just inside. The outside look and feel was breathtaking. Words can't describe the beauty so I've attached some photos. We enjoyed a wonderful meal with a view from the front deck that you can't get from any local restaurant. Our boys loved the pool at the inland house. It was so warm and pleasant. The landscape around the pool made it feel like we were in paradise...even better than paradise.

Lastly, the guests we met were wonderful. Everyone was so relaxed and having a great time. It was like you knew everyone your entire life. We can't wait to return next year. We've officially created a new annual tradition. Thank you, Winstead Inn and Beach Resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiTownDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I just returned from vacationing on Cape Cod. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was very relaxing and the people working there were very friendly and helpful. Upon my arrival, I was greeted by Anne (who was such a sweetie!). I felt I was coming home to mom after a long time away. She made me and my family feel very welcomed. She showed us around the Inn and even had Larry (who works and lives there) help us with our bags. We had our little 5 month old baby with us so we had extra bags! Also, brought a portable crib but didn't realize that they offered that. I wish I was told before hand but that's okay, the baby wound up sleeping in our bed for most of the stay. The room we had was on the first floor. It was a bit small but cozy and most importantly, clean. The location was directly on the beach. The beach wasn't nothing to write home about. We noticed that there were tons of washed up seaweed by the water so we didn't even think about going in. There were also way too many seashells on the beach. I just didn't think the beach was that nice other than to look at during breakfast or late evening. I did enjoy their other property which was about a 5 min. drive and went to their salt water pool. We all enjoyed spending time there twice during our stay. Our baby loved it! Just to see her smile and kicking in the pool for the very first time was worth the 6+ hrs it took to drive up.

The only negatives I have for this place is that the walls are paper thin. I could hear everyone walking and their conversations which felt like they were outside my door but then again, I was on the first floor right next to the common area (living room). Also, although I enjoyed their comp. breakfast, it would of been nice to switch some things up since we pretty much ate the same things everyday (muffins, fresh fruit, etc.) but they were yummy! Thanks Doug!

In terms of doing things around the area, there isn't much but to visit some restaurants and take day trips to Martha's Vineyard or Nantucket which we did. The weather wasn't that great but overall, the trip was relaxing even with a 5 month old baby! We hope we can come back and visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blades01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have been staying at the Winstead Beach Resort since they opened (27? years) We watched it grow from a charming small B & B to the beautiful inn it is now. Gregg, the owner, and Doug are always there and ready to help in any way. It is immaculate and the porch with rockers, deck with tables and umbrellas, and beautiful beach allow you to spread out and enjoy. I cannot think of one negative thing to say. Looking forward to going to our "home away from home" again this summer.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank phyllis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mywoody, General Manager at Winstead Inn and Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
The entire staff thanks you Phyllis for your kind words. All of the staff consider the Winstead Inn And Beach Resort their home away from home and we gladly share it..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We enjoyed 3 nights here and had a Thoroughly relaxing time. The beach front setting with outdoor patio area for sunset meals allowed our family with 3 teens, just the right amount of privacy with lots of space for freedom. Within wAlking distance we could reach several popular restaurants, also affording us the distance for post-dinner stroll. The common areas are comfortable and inviting.

The rooms were well-kept with nice decor, although could use some updating at some point. The air con was a bit noisy but opening our windows was pleasant too ( luckily not hot at night). We didnt mind the ceiling fan either..The 5 person suite worked out well for us.

We found the staff helpful, accommodating, polite and eager to please. As guests we were all taken care of.

Best location and atmosphere for our holiday! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19livyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mywoody, General Manager at Winstead Inn and Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and your input . The air conditioner has been changed and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at the Winstead Beach Resort for three nights, the start of our 14 day honeymoon touring the northeast. This place was amazing and number one among all of the locations we booked in four states (MA, VT, ME,NH)! The employees (especially Doug and Gregg) are very nice and the rooms are beautiful! I would give the Beach Resort six stars if I had the ability to do so on this review. The rooms are very clean and give you the feel of being in an elegant cottage on the east coast. We enjoyed the stunning beach view and delicious breakfast daily. Everyone we meet in town keep telling us this was the place to stay. I can't wait to come back in the future! I recommend this place to any one who wants to stay in Cape Cod. A special thanks to Doug, Gregg, and all the staff who made this stop the highlight of our trip!! Beth and Jay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at the beach front property for 3 nights. The B&B exceeded expectations on many fronts including the super clean rooms; delicious breakfast accompained by home-baked muffins to the sandy beach right on the door step. So pleased we decided on this after much searching for a weekend getaway in Cape Cod. Couldn't have chosen any better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWhite80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwich Port
6.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
7.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
22.5 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Breakers on the Ocean
The Breakers on the Ocean
#11 of 19 in Dennis Port
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winstead Inn and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winstead Inn and Beach Resort

Property: Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Address: 114 Parallel St & 4 Braddock Lane, Harwich Port, Harwich, MA 02645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > Harwich Port
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Harwich Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winstead Inn and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished, yet casual and unassuming. The Winstead Inn enjoys the serenity of Harwich Center. Just 100 yards to the Cape Cod Rail Trail and only 1.5 Miles to our private beach front Beach House. Our private vehicle will transport Winstead Inn guests to and from the Beach House. The Beach House enjoys its beach front location while being only a seven minute stroll to Harwich Port village. Enjoy the beach, restaurants, and shops without ever needing your car. Cape Cod at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Winstead Inn and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winstead Inn And Beach Hotel Harwich Port
Winstead Inn And Beach Resort Harwich Port, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing