We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food and service. Great new restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Viera

Viera
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service. Great new restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had the pleasure to try Viera after reading a number of fantastic reviews. They have transformed a former Friendly's restaurant into a chic, warm and inviting top notch high end restaurant with terrific service and great locally sourced food. They have a nice wine menu with many choices by the glass. We started with a crab cake appetizer which was light and really tasty. The home made bread with olive oil was outstanding as well. The entrees were all phenomenal. The fisherman's stew was the best we have had, as were the salmon and chicken dishes. All were prepared expertly. Even though the dining area is small and it was a busy Saturday evening, we never felt rushed. The service was excellent even though the restaurant is relatively new. From the Hostess to the server they were competent and friendly. The creme brûlée was light and flavorful and even the coffee was outstanding. This place is a winner and we will be back soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julesjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    26
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
276 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“A Symphony of Delightful Foods/ Drink !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Excited to try this newish eatery based upon word of mouth and reviews on this site, we went to try an early dinner at 5:30. Got right in and had our choice of a table or booth. The booths are private; we chose a booth. Very clean, calm décor. BTW, plenty of parking! Servers were attentive while not annoying. Emily was pleasant and always with a smile.
Had the best glasses of wine. "Huber" under light wine and "Hook and Ladder" under full bodied. Great tasting wines by the glass. Nice that they catergorize the wines by taste. The clam cowder is the way it is meant to be made! Broth-like and including clams in the shell with bits of potato and bacon pieces and chives. Heavenly!!! Tired of the thick flour laden, all potatoes and no clams type of soup!! Husband had mussels starter and it also was divine. He had the Tuna special and I had the Baked Lobster dinner. We finished every morsel and wanted to lick the plates clean! The bread is addictive also. Choice of bottled or tap water at start.
Even though we were full we just had to try one of the very yummy sounding desserts offered.
We went with a chocolate cake with a chocolate pistachio ice cream to share. Soooo good!
Want to go back and try everything on the starter, entree and dessert menu.
Yes it can be pricey, but if you want a good meal & drinks, starters to finish, then this is the place.
The only thing I would add is an outdoor area (which does have a few tables/chairs already), to be buffered (enclosed) by tall evergreens from the traffic, some potted plants, statuary, maybe a fountain, more tables and even a vine covered structure overhead AND Voila! in heaven!! A few benches for waiting outdoors in the recessed area would be welcoming too. What a vision of loveliness!!! Meanwhile, it's all about the food inside! Enjoy, Keep this restaurant here!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johanna006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have eaten here three times now since it opened, the last two trips I ordered the chef's menu without a second thought. Never have I visited a restaurant three times, eaten different meals each time, and been blown away by the quality and taste each time. Plop Viera down in Manhattan and Chef Ben Porter instantly becomes a star. Oysters were served two ways with very creative and refreshingly light flavors added. Quail, Short rib, scallops, crab cakes - everything was a little unique, perfectly prepared and fantastically tasteful. Very tough to pick a favorite dish, but I'm including a picture here of the black garlic pasta with littlenecks, pork belly and sambuca butter. Divine. If you like food and are on the Cape this summer, you cannot miss Viera.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
328 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great new addition to Harwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went with friends to Viera after reading good reviews on trip advisor and talking to our friends who tried it. They loved it and we were not disappointed. The service was first rate and the food was very good with interesting choices on the menu. The people we went with are from Boston and real foodies and they liked it very much. We wish them luck and with the quality of the food and service I am sure they will do well. I just hope they decide to take reservations.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank psmilsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood with friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

My daughter and I were visiting Harwich on Cape Cod last week and this particular restaurant, Viera, was recommended to us. We were glad it was!
It is a relatively unpreposing restaurant on a busy road but the food and the service are outstanding. Obviously being Cape Cod, the menu is mainly seafood and it was hard to make a choice.
My daughter had salmon, which she said was the best she had ever had, and I opted for cod, which just melted in my mouth.

We shared an amazing desert.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and if we had been staying one more night we probably would have dined there again.

It is a very popular restaurant and you may find you have to wait for a table, but do persevere as it is definitely worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viera also viewed

 
Harwich Port, Harwich
 

Been to Viera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing