We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, not too crowded” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red River Beach

Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Harwich
Attraction details
DeWitt, New York
Level Contributor
533 reviews
250 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Very nice, not too crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We aren't beach people and don't normally spend entire days at the beach, but we do like an occasional visit for a few hours. We had a very good time at Red River Beach.

First, we are not locals and we were able to pay at the beach for a one-day $15 pass. Don't let anyone tell you that the beach is restricted to residents because it is not true. I didn't find the $15 fee objectionable for such a nice beach and our group of four people.

The beach is a nice blend of fairly fine white sand, with large amounts of shells washing up for those who like to collect them, and a very pleasant place to walk. Yes, some seaweed does wash up, but not in any quantity that would deter even a landlubber from going in the water. You might also find interesting things like horseshoe crabs and hermit crabs and the like, at least we did on our visit. There are some submerged stones when you wade out, but not enough to make swimming unpleasant.

We especially liked the cleanliness of the beach, and that it wasn't packed solid with people. There was enough room that we never felt crowded.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good walking Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

The day we visited this beach, the tides were high, and good waves for swimming. There were sea shells and rocks for collecting along the shore. When you arrive after 4:00, the parking is free and a perfect time for the beach. Good walking Beach!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank linda4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiskdale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beach days”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Visited the week of July 20th. Beach was okay. Not many waves and a lot of seaweed. Lots of shells for the kids to play with. Road down from the house we rented needs a sidewalk. Walked to the beach every day and the cars drive too fast on the road going to the beach, The wheelchair that is available for people with disabilities to use is an awesome idea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Lifeguards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a quintessential south side of the Cape beach. The Town of Harwich keeps the beach nice and clear of seaweed. They have bathrooms and there is a great food truck for lunch or snacks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome and clean beach great for little kids!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Red river beach is awesome!!! To top the beach off even more than it being clean and great for kids is the "food runner". Food runner is a big trailer that retired veterans work there, the food is great!! I highly recommend you go to this beach because it has everything you need to have a great day with family!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Tyler51602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red River Beach also viewed

 

Been to Red River Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing