We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dramatic Room and View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twenty Eight Atlantic

Twenty Eight Atlantic
Reserve with OpenTable
Twenty Eight Atlantic is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 65 Restaurants in Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pleasant Bay Road
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
354 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,041 helpful votes
“Dramatic Room and View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My second trip to the Wequassett's principal restaurant. Overall a very enjoyable experience. The highlight is the high ceiling dining area with wonderful views of the Chatham coastline.

Food and service adequate. Servers were engaging and well prepared. For the Cape and excellent alternative.

My only complaint...for the second time, they seated us at a round table that was entirely too small for our party of 8. Make sure when you reserve that you get an adequately sized table.

Was this helpful? Please let me know.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Knownews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    28
    13
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Great location & food; pity about the small table in the back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Staying at the Wequassett resort, we obviously wanted to try this fine dining restaurant. We are not early diners, so we arrived at 28 Atlantic at around 9 PM. Even though the place was not full and there were plenty of tables vacant across the restaurant, we were seated at one of small tables in the back of the restaurant which meant one of us had a nice view of the restaurant, one of us had the 'nice' view of the dividing wall between 28 Atlantic and the adjacent Thoreau's bar & restaurant. During the entire evening, we were the only guests actually dining at this row of tables in the back. As we didn't have a reservation and suspected the other tables might have been reserved, we didn't ask for another table but when we saw the restaurant get emptier and emptier we thought: who would seat guests at a very small table in the back of the restaurant when not needed? We had a pleasant evening, however, our frustration in many restaurants in North America is that we often fail to understand the seating policy: we have had many occassions where we spotted a vacant seat but when the hostess said something along the lines of 'I've just walked around and there is nothing available at the moment.' In all cases, we got the vacant table but it's just annoying and not customer focussed. Anyway, we were dissappointed that also 28 Atlantic suffers from this and seated us at the smallest available table which later on also turned out to be inconvenient for putting the plates on as there simply was hardly any space. Then, the food was good for both the starter and the main course. Our waiter was friendly and flexible when we wanted to have an ingedient substituted. The what we suspected was the head waiter was very friendly and helpful as well; the rest of the staff could losen up a bit. For European standards, the timing of the food was fine; however, at some stage the head waiter came to report that the main course was underway (we had no issue) so probably something had not gone according to plan. All in all a great location - inside & outside - good food, friendly staff and good service, but a lost opportunity re the seating. Taking the reputation and price level of this restaurant into account, hence an average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb family meal---location, food, service--top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had anniversary family gathering at Wequassett Inn and main dinner at 28 Atlantic. Had to spend a bit of time in planning and discussions with multiple staff but what a terrific stay and dinner. Breakfasts were good and main dinner @ 28 Atlantic was 10 out 10 by all measures. Salmon, steak, cod, lobster---all perfect.

Suggest you do spend the time to ensure site/staff understands what your needs are and your effort will very likely be rewarded with an outstanding dinner and experience.

All had a fabulous time !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chelsea254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Frankly, I am shocked at the negative reviews and wonder if these folks are confusing 28 Atlantic with a different restaurant. I have dined at 28 Atlantic many times over the years and have never had a bad experience, ever. The food and service are several notches above all other restaurants on the Cape. The folks who work at 28 Atlantic make you feel as if you are the most special person on the planet, visit after visit. I bet it is tough to get a job there as it appears they have extremely high standards. I was there last night celebrating a birthday and had the Grilled corn & lemon risotto. My husband had the duck. Both were eclectic and outstanding. I would like to add that I am not easy to please. The jazz afterwards, with a scotch, was a great way to top off a perfect evening. Wish I'd known about the jazz festival a long time ago.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank capecodwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My best friend and I went out for a girls night to 28 Atlantic a couple weeks ago, and we absolutely loved every minute. The hostesses were friendly and since we made a reservation we only Waited about a minute until we were brought to a table right by the window overlooking the water. We both went with the chefs four course selection that evening which featured the best oysters I'd ever eaten and a delicious pannacotta watermelon goat cheese presentation to the sole and risotto dish and really every bite was mouthwatering and delicious and I didn't want it to end!! Would recommend to
anyone looking to spend some extra money on the best food and beautiful place and attentive, non-interruptive service. Everyone needs a taste of 28 Atlantic! Can't wait to be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Capegirly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twenty Eight Atlantic also viewed

Harwich, Cape Cod
Harwich Port, Harwich
 
Harwich Port, Harwich
 

Been to Twenty Eight Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing