We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Outer Bar and Grille at Wequassett Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wequassett Resort and Golf Club

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Outer Bar and Grille at Wequassett Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a very special experience at this informal venue and would recommend it to anyone who loves to a water view. The Outer Bar and Grille is located on the grounds of the Wequaswett Resort and is open to the public -- after you turn into the Wequassett Resort, follow the signs for The Outer Bar and Grille which will lead you down to this lovely venue. On a picture-perfect August evening, my husband and I had drinks at the outdoor bar, then dinner on the open deck, both of which overlook Pleasant Bay -- the view was amazing! Our meal was very good in this informal setting -- fish tacos for me, a scallop roll for my husband, and a great bottle of New Zealand sauvignon blanc. The service was good, and the waiter did not rush us so that we could enjoy the changing evening sky. If you want a romantic Cape Cod evening, try the Outer Bar and Grille!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junhjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your review on the Outer Bar and Grille. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed the food, service and of course the panaromic views of beautiful Pleasant Bay. It is truly a special location that we are proud to be able to offer to our guests.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me at 508-430-3024 if I may be of any assistance to you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    108
    43
    20
    15
See reviews for
229
241
3
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

They promise you the world but they are a wedding factory. They are condescending and do not be fooled by their sales pitch because they stick you with a differant wedding planner. They promised us they would ONLY do two weddings in one day but they did three. If you want something special look around, a very underwhelming service staff for what you are paying.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cesheridan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We were certainly disappointed to receive your review and to learn of your dissatisfaction with your wedding. The resort prides itself on offering all of our clients a unique and customized service experience and is proud to be No. 5 on Forbes Travel Guide’s exclusive list of “Ten Top Luxury Hotels for Weddings”. It is concerning to hear that we did not leave you with a positive impression on your special day.

Although at times, there may be more than one event at the resort, our experienced catering team is there to ensure that each event receives individualized attention. I am sorry you did not feel you received this level of personalized service. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you to discuss your wedding; please feel free to contact me at 508-430-3024.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Sincerely,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have been staying at the Wequassett for 13 years and returned again this year. However the room we reserved in Sweet Pea in the winter was not available, and we were given a room in Petunia overlooking the parking lot for our five night stay. We were told that there were a lot of groups staying together and our room was not available.

Later during our stay, we returned to our room from the pool area to find no hot water available. We reported it to the front desk and heard nothing back. Later that evening, we asked the woman who came for turndown service. She radioed
in and was told the whole building was out and they were working on the problem. We had no hot water until the next morning. I understand that problems can arise but I found it unexcusable that our inconvenience was never acknowledged by the staff. I have written a letter of complaint and have had no reply.

During the nights, word for word conversations could be heard through the door to the adjoining room and light was shining in through the base of the door.

I do not know if we will return next year.

Room Tip: End room with no door to an adjoining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hadley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to speak with me regarding your recent visit to the resort. As mentioned, we were certainly disappointed to learn of the shortfalls you experienced during your stay. I have reviewed our conversation in detail with the appropriate departmental managers and they join me in extending our sincerest apologies.

We are delighted to hear that we have restored your confidence and can’t wait to welcome you back to the resort next year. In the meantime, our best wishes once again for an enjoyable remainder of the summer.

Sincerely,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
169 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed in this very beautiful resort to attend a conference in early May 2012. Even though it was rainy and a little bit cold outside, I had a great time there. I had to share the room with a colleague, but as the room was big enough, it felt very comfortable. The place is big and very, very quiet. It has several restaurants and a pretty nice bar. Food was excellent, they organized a fantastic clam bake and the breakfast options were breathtaking.
The reception staff is very helpful, they handed us cold water and maps for our morning run and they gave us a lift to downtown Chatham at no cost. I can only imagine that the place would be even better in summer or if you go there with a significant other.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Daniel;

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent conference experience at the resort. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was very helpful.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at 508-430-3024 if I may be of any assistance to you during a future visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Best regards,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This place is simply incredible - for those considering the cape, stay here. Its not cheap during july and august but to us it was worth every penny. It is clear from your first encounter with staff that these guys really want to look after their customers - this place is really service oriented, from the staff at the gorgeous pool, to the waitstaff at 28 atlantic - to the driver of the courtesy car...their concern is your happiness. Unlike many other places on the cape who simply are not wired this way because they feel they will have business no matter how they treat their customers - this place takes a different approach. The grounds are incredible, the pool is tranquil and the food is delicious. This place cost us over 750 per night but its the best money we have spent - places around the cape cost the same but in comparison are not even worth half this amount. These guys will take care of you - my husband and I will be back every year and next year we will bring our son with us - we cannot wait to see eevryone again. Thanks so much for making a huge difference on the cape.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie33232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Natalie;

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. I was truly delighted to receive your review, as we strive to make every guest feel the same way after their stay at the resort.

Our company philosophy is based on customer intimacy and our goal at the resort is to develop life-long relationships with our guests. We achieve this by offering each guest a customized service experience, an experience they are unable to get anywhere else. I was pleased to hear that we achieved this during your stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at 508-430-3024 if I may be of any assistance to you during a future visit. We look forward to your return to the resort in 2013.

Best regards,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
419 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We enjoy dining at the Wequassett as a homeowner in North Chatham. A short drive north, the entrance has beautiful gardens and driving through the property find the flowers and plantings are quite extensive. The setting is simply gorgeous.

Our favorite dining options are the Tavern as it is more casual and for lunch the dining area near the pool which offers spectacular views of the water. All the food is excellent but a personal favorite is the lobster roll. The portion is large, always so fresh and nice appointed as there is very little dressing and just lobster!

One of our favorite places to dine in the area!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loves2Research
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience. I was pleased to hear that you enjoy the resort’s food and beverage outlets and that they have become a favorite dining spot for you. Thank you also for your lovely comments regarding the resort’s gardens.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at 508-430-3024 if there is anything I can do to make your next dining experience more special. Best wishes for a pleasant summer.

Best regards,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

When you arrive you don't know what to expect, but you get ti the rooms and see the beautiful flowers around the gardens and believe that you are inside a " watercolor painting" the restaurants were good, the service very friendly and the pool and beach just made for me, " a queen" !!! The decor in the buildings is incredible the color coordination among with wallpaper and bedding was just like in a magazine, to me this place is just like that.... Out of a book !!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank regrace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback on the resort. We are delighted that you appreciated the beautiful surroundings, enjoyed the facilities, your accommodations and received the outstanding service the resort is known for.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at 508-430-3024 when you return to the resort for a future visit. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwich
4.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
24.8 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
12.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
15.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wequassett Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wequassett Resort and Golf Club

Property: Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Address: 2173 Route 28, Harwich, MA 02645-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wequassett Resort and Golf Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your Wequassett Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wequassett Resort And Golf Club Hotel Harwich
Wequassett Hotel Chatham
Wequassett Inn
Wequassett Resort And Golf Club Cape Cod, MA - Harwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing