We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our second summer stay at Vacation Village in the Berkshires and we already look forward to our next. Ideally located between Pittsfield and Williamstown, close to all Berkshire attractions. We stayed in the one bedroom with full kitchen and terrace, which was ideal for 2 people. It may be somewhat crowded for 4 adults, but with 2 children fine. Shopping at the nearby (20 minute drive) Price Chopper and local farm stands made for good home cooking and lower costs at restaurants.
The furniture (especially beds) need upgrading. The air conditioning system is not user friendly re adjustments, but effectively cools.

Room Tip: Choose room on second floor, not facing road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and your continued loyalty to Vacation Village in the Berkshires. We’re thrilled to know that you have chosen our resort as a home base for your Berkshire vacations. The resort is constantly in a state of renovation and maintenance and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    234
    85
    34
    33
See reviews for
246
218
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
354 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here when my son graduated from RPI and used this as our starting spot to explore North Adams and other cities. We did not use the amenities at the resort. Check in and out was easy. Our unit looked a bit dated, but everything was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth_sage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We’re happy that we could provide you with comfortable accommodations in the Berkshires and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you stay here in the summer, try not to get a 1101, 1102, etc room. This means you will be in the Basement level where you look out of your window onto a bank of limestone and a row of black tires of the autos in the parking lot.. The limestone grit is all over the porch and porch chairs.Not at all serene, if serene is what you are after. In addition, the AC was overworking and we had to wear sweatshirts the whole time we were inside. The thermostat didn't work properly. Two handymen from the facility came to correct the problem, but did not correct. So on top of havine a very cold view we had cold room as well. Can't speak for the upper level rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the problem you had with the thermostat in your room. Our Maintenance Department has reported that the issue has been repaired. We’re sorry that we didn’t meet all of your expectations and we hope that you will reconsider returning so that we may have another chance to prove that we’re a top choice for a vacation in the Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed one night at this hotel while visiting this part of the state in preparation of attending a concert at Tanglewood. The hotel is a family place with lots to do on sight,
I read that someone had trouble with their fireplace. Ours worked fine (but it was 90°F outside:-) ). Clean, safe and affordable!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your great review! Vacation Village in the Berkshires is a timeshare property that offers all the comforts of home for guests in an area that is teeming with cultural attractions. We’re thankful that we exceeded your expectations for your family vacation and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Some people are just never happy. It would be very hard to find fault with vacation village. We arrived early and were very pleased to be told that we could check in early thank you Matt for all your help and advice. We had an A and B unit and coming from the UK this was as big as some of our houses! Spotless everything you could possibly want. Yes you were limited by the amount of TV channels, but look outside its beautiful out there!!. Yes WI FI was not as good as it should have been but did it spoil our vacation of course not. Olde Forge Restaurant very good, try and visit the Bridge of Flowers they are beautiful, or just get out and walk!
So thank you all at Vacation Village you gave us a trouble and stress free week congratulation to you all.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank caroledoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review of your recent stay at Vacation Village in the Berkshires. Your gracious compliments and praises of our amenities and service are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a short vacation to the Berkshires with our 2 children (ages 2 and 5). We used RCI points and booked an A and B unit. We stayed in the A unit and my parents stayed in B. The set up was nice and the B unit was a perfect size for our family. My parents liked their unit as well.
Positives:
We arrived early (around 1:30)and they let us check into the B unit because it had already been cleaned. So it was nice to get some of the car unloaded and put food into the fridge.
-Both A & B units have full size refrigerators
-If you want to minimize the expense of dining out, get an A unit with a full stove
-Units were clean and well-maintained
-Very nice central registration with attached indoor pool. *Ask for a building/unit near the pool if you have small children* - we were in building 11
-Nice game room with pool table, air hockey and pool table as well as some arcade games. Change machines are in the game room.
-You can look at and borrow a DVD from their collection x 24 hours at a time. This is nice especially if you have young children and need something quiet to do before bed.
-They supply pool towels at the pool(s)

Negatives:
- $25 fee for Wifi and you can only use up to 2 devices
-They are very stingy in regards to providing towels/toiletries. They supply 4 full sized towels but if you are a family of 4 you will go through these rather quickly especially if you use the pool and shower more often. They offer "towel exchanges on certain days of the week, the earliest being Tuesday. There is a laundry room on each floor but the dryers on my floor were broken and we were left with a lot of clean but wet towels. I asked the concierge for more and was told they could only give me 1. I explained the situation and she did find 4 towels which she gave to me (finally).
-They charge $25 fee for housekeeping. When I stayed at Attitash Mt Village, housekeeping was included and our linens/towels were changed daily.
-The TV service is terrible, very limited channels with very poor picture quality despite having flat screen tvs
-The carpet in the unit looked like it had seen better days as did the couch.

Overall, I likely will stay here again. But be advised that there is NOTHING in the town of Hancock in terms of shops. Nearest grocery is 15-20 minutes away
Jiminy Peak is right at the bottom of the Village so that was convenient.

We took a drive down 43 which was pretty, into Williamstown. Also recommend the food @ Old Forge Restaurant and Reilly's Pub on Rt 7. Also ate @ Water St Pub in Williamstown and the '6 Pub in Williamstown.

Drove to Pittsfield b/c the brochures make it sound wonderful. But it had more of a city feel.

Finally, had a great lunch @ Sullivan Station in Lee.

Room Tip: recommend bottom floor if you have kids, top floor if you don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crgbc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and your valuable feedback of Vacation Village in the Berkshires. We love to receive reviews on our resort and take your comments very seriously as it is an opportunity for us to improve our services. We’re happy that we could overall provide you with a great vacation and we hope to share our hospitality with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We exchanged into this resort through our RCI membership and found it very pleasant and relaxing. The resort itself is well maintained and the unit we had was very clean and had everything you need. We stayed on the second floor and therefore did not hear any noise from other units. We had a unit next to the pool and due to the weather I cannot say if it would be noisy at night depending how late the pool stays open. I can definitely say we would go back again and would like to try it in the winter. As far as the $25 fee, other places even hotels charge you for wi-fi so I just consider this a wi-fi fee.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise I would get a second floor unit. If you have children I would get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your 5-star recommendation on Vacation Village in The Berkshires. We’re very happy to know that we could provide you with a relaxing getaway. We look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again the next time visit The Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
0.6 mi away
Wyndham at Bentley Brook
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
8.0 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
11.3 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
16.9 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village in the Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village in the Berkshires

Property: Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Address: 276 Brodie Mountain Rd, Hancock, MA 01237
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Hancock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vacation Village in the Berkshires 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professionally decorated in a traditional New England style, Vacation Village in the Berkshires offers spacious suites with amenities such as fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and fully appointed kitchens. Commanding a stunning view of the Jiminy Peak ski area, your home at Vacation Village will also serve as your gateway to all that the Berkshires has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vacation Village in the Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village In The Berkshires Hotel Hancock
Vacation Village Berkshires
Vacation Village At Berkshires
Village Berkshires
Vacation Village In The Berkshires MA - Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing