We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort, but very thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham at Bentley Brook
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cherry Hill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family resort, but very thin walls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Love the mountain area, great for learners and family. Major downside is how thin the walls are, it is very noisy between rooms. The noise you can hear from the hallways and above and below the rooms is almost intolerable and that is just people doing normal activities in the rooms, not mentioning if children are running in the hallways or people slamming doors.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimiaimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    133
    31
    7
    11
See reviews for
184
87
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

After staying in the jiminy peak resort condos half a dozen times, we decided to try the Bentley brook units for our annual Berkshires trip. We booked thru a timeshare owner I found on vrbo. I went with my husband, 5 year old son, and 7 month old daughter. Based on other reviews, I asked for a quiet room. When we arrived, the unit we entered had not been cleaned since the previous guest. So, we called reception and we given another unit on a high floor in the same area, but it was unfortunately not renovated. However, during our 4 night stay, we got a notice that furniture renovations were coming to our hall. Our 2 bed/2 bath unit was just fine. One room had a king bed and the other had 2 queens. There was a washer dryer in the unit as well. The kitchen had everything we needed, but no room to store anything outside the refrigerator. We were in a handicap accessible room so we had a very strange shower. While we were thankful to not have noise coming from above, the units are very close to one another and hallway noise is a problem.
We were very impressed with the programs offered. Lots of stuff for kids to do and some things for adults as well, but nothing really appealed to me. The hotel’s pools, gym, tennis courts and arcade are nice features. From the buildings on the far end of the resort (25-27), it is definitely a trek to the jiminy peak base area with the activities and restaurants. Also, it was not very stroller accessible. Not sure if I will stay here or back at the resort next year.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor in a quiet building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family & I go to bentley brook because of the location. We love the rooms and indoor/ outdoor pool. Our coffeemaker burned out and it took a while to get a new one. The room stunk from the burnt smell. The lady at thefront desk said we could not have a fan due to the fire codes. She said we could not open the windows because we were on the second floor. We were actually on the ground floor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. We always enjoy staying here and have been coming for many years. We know what to expect. This place is secluded and you're basically left on your own. Comfortable beds.

There are some things that should be attended to though. There were some crumbling parts of the wall near the master bedroom tub. The main pool really needs to be cleaned thoroughly. The steps to the pool had quite a bit of grime/debris that should be vacuumed up. Sometime in the last 10 months, they added 3 devices that will assist in lowering folks with disabilities into the pool. These things are really massive, unsightly, and worst of all - broken. The hot tub was out of order and covered with a plywood cut-out. That was really odd. At night, there is no lighting for the outdoor pool.

Generally, there just seems to be a very small staff. If they would hire a good property manager, the little things would be attended to and people would have little to find fault with. There is a feeling that almost no one works there.

If you want a getaway that is quiet, this is a great option. If you like convenience and lots of options, it may not be for you.

Room Tip: Main building is preferable. If that's not available, request a room near the elevator in the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked our first ever resort stay at the Bentley Brook Wyndham Resort, an we were overall generally satisfied. Our room was a two bedroom suite, with full kitchen. The room was spacious but more attention needs to be given to cleanliness. housekeeping services are provided by a contractor, and we found hairs in the bathrooms, and a pair of ladies panties under the bed. That was Gross!

The rooms were noisy, walls are paper thin and you can hear virtually every sound your neighbours emit, some inter room insulation wod have been a good thing. Also, make sure you always ask for a top floor room because every step your upstairs neighbour makes is heard. We figured there was a herd if water buffalo playing shuffle board with the kitchen chairs. I did complain to the front desk after midnight and to their credit, sent someone up to quiet down the noisy neighbours.

The front staff were very friendly, accessible and helpful. They had an early evening movie for the younger set, and handed out popcorn, and hot chocolate pouches for the asking, you could also rent a DVD to watch in room. The exercise room in the main building and our building were adequate, the sauna lovely, but the pool woefully inadequate for a resort of that size.

Next door at the Jimeny Peak resort, the mountain adventure park and Ariel park provided entertainment to our older kids, while us old folks played tennis.

Pub food only us available in site but some nice family dining is available in Pittsfield about 30 minutes away. Groceries should be purchased in Pittsfield prior to the final push to the resort, cuz you won't want to go out again. Plan for breakfast and lunch at your room, and plenty if dinner options in a 30 minute radius.

Saturday night a staff man built a small bonfire and handed out marshmallows to whomever asked . It created a nice little social opportunity for some of the guests who shared marshmallows graham crackers and chocolate for s'mores . It's all what you make of it. Some great local attractions, visit Mount Greylock, drive right to the summit and walk a portion of the Appalachian Trail. Visit Pittsfield, visit the Norman Rockwell museum, about an hour away, well worth the time. Dint be afraid to pull up to a lical cafe ir diner just because its nit an applebees, or No golden arches Outside, you'll fund sine great food and fine peopke.Overall a solid B+ for the resort and an A+ for the Berkshire's

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howies_wowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our stay was for a week in August of 2013 to attend a large family reunion in Pittsfield. We booked two (2) units through Susan H. on TripAdvisor ... great to work with and very accommodating.

Wyndham Bentley Brook was well kept, check-in (with Sarah) and check-out (with LeAnn) was fast, pleasant and all the staff encountered during our stay was just absolutely excellent! The grounds were beautiful (summer in the Berkshires).

The two units were spotless, very comfortable/roomy, full kitchen that’s fully stocked w/utensils & dishwasher, three satellite TV’s (living room had DVD), washer/dryer in units, and they supplied small packets of detergent, dish detergent and clothes detergent.

There's so much activities on site for everyone (was great on our one rainy day). We took advantage of the movie theater, game room, activity center and scheduled activities for both kids and adults ... kids made soap, lip balm, painted birdhouses and were in the pools every day ... adults attended the make-up session, made duck-tape wallets :-) and also were in the pools/hot tubs every day. I know there was more but you get the idea.

Minor negatives were:
Wi-Fi slowww, thought I was back on dial-up.The walls seem thin (or un-insulated) as you hear footsteps and conversation from the adjoining units in the master bedrooms.

The Berkshires (and Pittsfield) looked great, the best I can remember seeing them since growing up there years ago!

Wyndham Bentley Brook was more than we expected. Wyndham has created a super friendly and accommodating place to stay in the Berkshires and it worked out great for the extended family of nine!

Great saying to end my review:
"When you finally go back to your old hometown, you find it wasn't the old home you missed but your childhood."
-Sam Ewing

  • Liked — So much to do for the kids ... and let's not forget the great staff!
  • Disliked — Wi-Fi slowww, thought I was back on dial-up.The walls seem thin (or un-insulated), you hear every footstep and conversation from the adjoining units in the master bedrooms.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Bentley Brook. Great activities scheduled throughout the day for kids, awesome aerial ropes course and mountain adventure park next door at Jiminy Peak. Two movies scheduled every night, pool, and tennis courts. Beautiful setting in the mountains. The two drawbacks are: the rooms are very noisy, you can hear people in the other rooms on all sides and the Internet connection is extremely slow. The pros outweigh the cons in this case. We would stay here again, hopefully in a room on the top floor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCKNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
0.6 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
7.4 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
13.4 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham at Bentley Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham at Bentley Brook

Property: Wyndham at Bentley Brook
Address: 1 Corey Rd, Hancock, MA 01237-9541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Hancock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham at Bentley Brook 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham at Bentley Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham At Bentley Brook Hotel Hancock
Wyndham Hotel Hancock
At Bentley Brook Wyndham
Wyndham At Bentley Brook Berkshires, MA - Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing