We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

John Harvard's Restaurant & Brewery
Reserve with OpenTable
John Harvard's Restaurant & Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Hancock
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Brodie Mountain Rd
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Typical pub type food. My picky son refused to eat the kid's pizza because it is more like french bread pizza then real pizza. But he had fries so he was happy. Burgers and chicken sandwiches were pretty good as well. Great view of the mountain!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    67
    57
    31
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jamesport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The food is not that great. If you're going to visit here, have the appetizers and drinks. The entrees are not good at all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NOFOWineLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
152 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Went here w/ another couple July 19, 2014. Started w/ an adequate calamari—too much esoteric stuff on it for my tastes—but all entrees were excellent: meat loaf, trout, Gouda Mac and cheese, and fish and chips.

Our server, Hillary, was outstanding: very poised and able to respond to our table's witty repartee w/ aplomb. Very helpful: Someone in our party ordered a dessert that wasn't exactly on the menu, but Hillary was able to procure it for him.

The brownie sundae is very good (although its size makes it a dessert for two).

Tab for four was <$130—quite reasonable, I thought.

Helpful?
1 Thank monocle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad food and overpriced.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stopped there for diner while staying at Jiminy peak. Our friend had fried calamari and got sick. My caesar salad had a dried dried cheese from supermarket in no flavor at all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, good view”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We came here for dinner on a Friday night in June. There were maybe a handful of occupied tables so I guess this is a good time of year to come. We had the buffalo mac and cheese and calamari. It was all delicious! Servers are very nice and food was hot and portions were big. Definitely will return to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Truckersgirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Harvard's Restaurant & Brewery also viewed

 
New Ashford, Berkshires
 

Been to John Harvard's Restaurant & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing