We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let the strip mall exterior fool you”

15 Walnut Local Bistro
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rt. 1A
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't let the strip mall exterior fool you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We ventured in early on a Saturday night and the room was almost full so were thankful to be seated. Found the decor and booth seating comfortable. Our waiter Elliot was exceptional.
Ordered salmon and mahi both cooked in the wood oven. The fish was excellent, still moist with a hint of smoke. Beautiful presentation with interesting parings and sauces. I was introduced to a new draft "Tank 7" and the wine list was good. Only less than stellar item was the artichoke appetizer. It was tasty but cool and greasy when served. Loved the vibe of the place.
We will return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidpI2964UJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    31
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
298 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Nice Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Very nice bistro and waitresses were all very attentive. The food is a mix of New England, seafood, pub and a little french. Great overall experience and I would go back. Clay Chowder was the best I've had in Massachusetts.

Helpful?
Thank Celling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Re: There are better restaurants in the chain”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had the steak and mash potatoes dinner which was overpriced. Potatoes were bland and steak was just ok. I was with my wife and she seemed to enjoy her fish dinner but we were also seated at a large table for two which make it difficult to converse and be romantic. Next time we'll try their other restaurants like Calas. Disappointing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I went with friends around early dinner late lunch time. we were seated right away and server came quickly. All in all it was good food, large portions, and quick service. I got the pizza and the Rhode Island calamari. The pizza is large enough to split, don't be fooled by the staff who say its individual size. Yummy but made three meals for me.
The service was good, noise level low enough for conversations, clean, brightly lit and friendly staff.

I would return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MorningGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good all around spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

15 Walnut is a great place to have dinner with friends. The food is consistently good, the wine list is fairly priced, the bar tenders know their stuff, and the service is friendly with a good sense of humor.

Even though the general vibe is upbeat, its no so vigorous you won't be able to actually talk with your table mates.

Be forewarned, the Wedge Salad is big enough to four people to split!

As others have said, don't let the strip mall setting throw you off. Check it out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 278JamesS278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 15 Walnut Local Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 15 Walnut Local Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing