We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bathroom sink didn't drain well, and the loud closing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The bathroom sink didn't drain well, and the loud closing of doors woke us up in the middle of the night, and early in the AM.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Carlton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were kept up by closing doors. Our engineers have since spent a great deal of time checking the doors to each room to ensure that they are closing correctly and with as little noise as possible. We really do appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve the quality of stay for all of our guests. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 623 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cynthia E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amy R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Howard Johnson's while getting my son from UMASS. This was my first experience at a HOJO, but not my wife's. It is noted as a 2 star hotel so my expectations were not very high. However, I was surprised at the accommodations and service. They were not bad. It was a basic room, TV, free Wi-Fi, etc. Nothing special, but it was clean and adequate for a night's stay. The housekeeping service was very good and the front desk staff was helpful and attentive. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueoneofeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

First of all, congratulations!! I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay here at Howard Johnson! We are constantly working to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable experience with us. Thank you for the kind words about both our housekeeping staff and front desk staff. They are a hard working group of individuals and they will be delighted to hear that it is noticed! Thank you for taking time to review your stay and we hope that you will stay with us again when you are in the Hadley/Amherst area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amy R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amy R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

After traveling to the bowels of the basement down a dirty, musty smelling hallway I arrived to my room where the toilet wouldn't stop running. Bathroom floor was dirty and sticky. Towels were tiny and as rough as sandpaper.Hotel has not been updated in many years. No fridge in room. Extremely overpriced due to college graduation. I paid $200.00 for a room that wasn't worth $50.00. The person who owns this hotel should try staying in it themselves.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. Though we do not have any basement rooms, I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We work hard to ensure that all of our guests have a good experience and would have appreciated the chance to remedy any maintenance issues while you were staying with us. I hope that if you are in the area again you will consider us as we provide a great value for the area. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amy R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
147 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Hadley
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
5.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley

Address: 401 Russell St, I-91 Ex 19 & Rt-9, Hadley, MA 01035-9578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range: $75 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel Hadley
Howard Johnson Hadley
Hadley Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing