We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel with good location to shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    165
    142
    89
    62
See reviews for
278
56
52
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

After traveling to the bowels of the basement down a dirty, musty smelling hallway I arrived to my room where the toilet wouldn't stop running. Bathroom floor was dirty and sticky. Towels were tiny and as rough as sandpaper.Hotel has not been updated in many years. No fridge in room. Extremely overpriced due to college graduation. I paid $200.00 for a room that wasn't worth $50.00. The person who owns this hotel should try staying in it themselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. Though we do not have any basement rooms, I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We work hard to ensure that all of our guests have a good experience and would have appreciated the chance to remedy any maintenance issues while you were staying with us. I hope that if you are in the area again you will consider us as we provide a great value for the area. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Out dated, smelled old. Price way out of line for the quality of this hotel. Beds were old TV's tube tv's really

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Timothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you found our hotel outdated and old. We work continuously to make improvements and updates. We are in fact looking into getting new TV soon, just another step in making our hotel better. We hope that next time you are in the area you will choose to stay with us again. We are a great value for the area! Thank you so much for providing us with feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hadley hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Ok I was not expecting alot at this place but for the money that was spent for the room I would have hoped for a better ...everything other than the staff. 1970's formica need I say more. One TV in the lounge and fitness center was not opened as posted. Here for a U Mass graduation and they got you due to limited options available. Demand is high so we had to pay alot for this room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
2.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Address: 401 Russell St, I-91 Ex 19 & Rt-9, Hadley, MA 01035-9578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel Hadley
Howard Johnson Hadley
Hadley Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing