We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown, shabby hotel with poor service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
656 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
“Rundown, shabby hotel with poor service!”
Reviewed February 22, 2008

This place sits in a prime location and could be a nice place. It has been there since before I was in high school and has always held the same standards, a rundown, shabby old hotel that needs a serious upgrade and renovations. The place looks nasty from the outside and it used to have a Howard Johnsons restaurant attached to it, but that is no longer. It is surrounded by brand new hotels in fact one across the street is a Holiday Inn Express and outshines this place. The spot is a haven for local college students from the 5 colleges to frequent and party and do who knows what. Don't let the cheap prices fool you, this place is not even worth that price. The rooms are rundown, the linens are old and the bathrooms are falling apart. Even the hallways and the lobby are beat up. Skip this place and pick one of the 20 other hotels in the area that are a bit more expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    170
    150
    94
    67
See reviews for
290
59
56
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2007

Stayed 3 days because there were no other options of where to stay on short notice - reserved a room here a month prior to the date of arrival. The carpet was so stained and moldy that I would never think of walking on it barefoot; the furniture was the same way and gave pause to sitting directly on the material coverings. The room was not vacuumed, bathroom was not washed, waste paper containers never emptied in the 3 days there. They only changed the towels and remade beds. This used to be a nice and convenient place but has gone downhill in the past few years. Major rennovations are needed beside proper maintenance. They put a permanent safe in the room and charge you per dium for it whether you use it or not; they charge $20/night for a dog - I would not have my dog step directly on the carpeting as it was worse than any place outdoors that the dog would step. We complained but it did not matter as they know that all rooms locally were filled.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank auntimarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hadley hotels

uk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

Myself and my partner have just come back from a week at this hotel for a family wedding,here is a quick run down of how we found the hotel.
The room was large, 2 double beds, lge tv,fridge,microwave,air con,electronic room safe(charge),2 chairs and a table, overhead shower in bath,lots of room to spread out, very comfortable beds.
The staff were very friendly and keen to help with any questions.

The outdoor pool and sunbathing area was great, if you get a room with a balcony or veranda it is easier to get to the pool as we were up on the fifth floor and it was quite a trek.

This hotel is in a great area on a main road with shopping and restaurants right nearby (walmart etc) try applebees diner,its fantastic!

We had no problems at all with this hotel, the only thing we seemed to find was the housekeeping could be looked at a bit more,having worked at travelodge I expected the sheets of our bed to be changed once during our one week stay but only the top sheet was not the bottom(believe me in that heat u need it changed!) I asked for a sheet at reception and changed it myself,also we noticed our toilet was gettin a bit smelly, so think they could improve a bit in these areas.

This hotel is in a great area, it was my 1st time in America and this made it so comfortable,relaxed and safe.

We will stay again in the future!

  • Liked — its location and quality of room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tuscan159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca NY
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2007

This hotel is really in need of renovations - the room we stayed in was really dirty and windows were slimy. We were also given a smoking room, which added to the insult. The breakfast was okay, but the breakfast room has only three tables, so peoples had to stand around while eating - not pleasant. I stayed three weeks before at Holiday Inn Express across the street. What a difference!

  • Liked — Close to Amherst College
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sledet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2007

This hotel has really gone downhill. I just returned from the place and my room upon check-in was filthy. Light bulbs were out, the carpeting was sticky, there was sticky stuff on the a/c, the mattresses were dirty. I checked out a few more rooms--the staff was nice and patient--and all were really filthy. The garbage cans in the bathroom were sticky and dirty, the towels were paper thin and the room smelled. I stayed in a dog friendly room, smoking allowed. Maybe the non-smoking rooms were better. But I would recommend dog lovers leave their dogs home and stay somewhere else. This practically ruined my vacation up in NOrthampton. The continental breakfast was also awful. There is no one cleaning up after everyone, the bagels were old and stale, no muffins by the end of the week, bad coffee, bad o.j. You will be fooled by the nice lobby. This place used to be nice. Don't know what happened. Seedy characters in the smoking rooms as well. Altogether filthy.

  • Liked — It takes dogs.
  • Disliked — Absolutely filthy rooms. And I checked about 4 of them before choosing the least filthy one.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DogloverNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

I stayed here for 4 months while working locally. My company booked me in as I had a dog and cat with me. The staff couldn't be more nice, from the front desk to the coffee lady, from the maintenance man to the housekeepers. Over Christmas, they fed my cat and when my dog passed away, they gave me flowers.

The rooms are large and comfortable - great beds! Housekeeping was thorough and kept everything clean. For a realatively older motel, this one has kept its shape. The hall carpet on my floor was cleaned while I was here, too. The parking lot is well lit and it is convenient to the local mall and shops.

My company got a great rate. I would imagine that with some internet work or maybe a call to the front desk, one could find a bargain too, off season - it was packed this fall with 5 colleges around!
All in all, had a very comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms
  • Disliked — Very busy at times.
  • Tips/Secrets — The fifth floor is quieter than the 1st and 3rd.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Karol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

I really enjoyed my stay at the Howard Johnson in Hadley. I was there with my sister visiting friends at UMass and it was so easy and convenient to get to the campus! The rooms were clean and they have a free continental breakfast in the morning, too! The front desk staff was soooo nice and helpful when we were asking directions and figuring out where to eat! They had a nice looking outdoor pool too, but it was closed for the winter when I was there. Overall, I definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the five-college area (Amherst/Hadley/Northampton).

  • Liked — clean rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room in the back section of the building - they have balconies/patios!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank megaberri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
457 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Address: 401 Russell St, I-91 Ex 19 & Rt-9, Hadley, MA 01035-9578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel Hadley
Howard Johnson Hadley
Hadley Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing