We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Weekend get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband & I stayed 3 nights here's . And everything was just great the staff was kind & helpful even when we got lost we called & got directions that was great .nice conterntial breakfast . Clean & very quiet nice too sleep nice view of hotel front parking lot . Room cleaned every morning towels etc soap nice big bed very cozy.. Wake up call big tv coffee machine ice machine / soda everything close people if you stay here you must eat at golden ginger chinese sooooo yummy good price and Arizona pizza & grill best brick house pizza 4 all u pizza lovers good price & a stop & shop & whole foods ..the gym was a little small but they had bikes stepper/ treadmills & a gym pack machine the pool was cool outside great place to stay if your in Hadley 4 some time hope I was helpfull I tryed to cover everything .. Ok folks

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sexxy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    161
    142
    86
    62
See reviews for
272
55
51
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is the toilet so low to the ground?
Have they been using these same towels since 1981 or what?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?
Why is everything brown?
What is that smell?

--questions I asked myself repeatedly while staying at the Hadley HoJo

TWO DOTS BECAUSE:

(the bathroom was clean and the bed appeared free of vermin)
(gorgeous view of the credit union next door)
(neighbor's barky dog eventually stopped barking)
(the wi-fi worked and i could stream videos of a stupid guy playing guitar all i wanted)

Room Tip: Ask for second floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mocakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hadley hotels

Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nneeded to find apt so we took the cheap hotel with buffet...I am used to holiday inn express and this place was a flashback to the 70's. Buffet was weak and seriously not worth the advertisement. Room was ok but ..wow...dark and extremely dated. Staff is weak...pool services carloads of city folk and no one cares. No one checked my aaa card for discount and overall go I told my brother to go else where for umass functions...creepy old.

Room Tip: Go across street to holiday inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucylew512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My kids and I arrived late to find a sign on the front desk, "Attendant back if a few moments."
No problem, 10 minutes passed and a young man walked in through the front door smelling of pot.
He had obviously been smoking. He was pretty good at checking us in, but when we checked out 3 days later, the bill was a mess and took 25 minutes to sort out.
The front desk manager in the morning needed to wait for a younger employee to help him with the computer system. We were not told of an additional charge for a cot and more.

The breakfast buffet was not very good but restocked. The rooms are big, but old and out dated.

I would not recommend staying here, unless you need to save money.

Room Tip: No advice here. All are old and somewhat dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTraveler804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonia J, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
My goodness, we are very surprised to hear of your experience. Would you please be so kind as to contact me so that we can learn more about this situation and quickly get a resolution in place? My name is Tonia and you can reach me at 413-586-0114 ext. 1401.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Its seems that this hotel has had a decidedly mixed review. After spending a rainy weekend in the Pioneer Valley, I enthusiastically join the "very good" crowd. And here's why...after reading the reviews I carefully inspected the room and found it to be very clean, with no musty smells, etc. The room, with its unusual high vaulted ceiling, had a very spacious feeling, with beds that were soft but comfortable. The pillows are worth noting, not those rock hard versions found in most hotels in this category, but more like the downy soft pillows you find in most upscale European hotels. The bathroom was very bright, especially when both heating lamp and halogen ceiling lights were on. The only drawback was the timer that switched off the bathroom lights at the most inconvenient times. The "retro" feature of the dual shower heads is a treat. I like hotels that have windows that open and the sliding door to the balcony is a nice feature, giving me the opportunity to freshen up the room. A nice feature was the free New York Times and Boston Globe available in the breakfast room. What a welcome change from the ubiquitous news shows that greet you for your morning coffee. A great value for the price!

Room Tip: The rooms in the "300s" floor seem to feature the vaulted ceilings, an unusual feature of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I can't give it a terrible, because I've definitely stayed in worse places, but, this hotel was not good. They also price gouge during graduation, so, you can end up spending $300 for something absolutely disgusting.

Anyway, the place was ridiculously dusty, our slider track to the outside was encased in dirt (they could have easily vacuumed that!), and the carpets were covered in stains. Everything was a bit sticky too - from the remote to the power strips (which looked like someone had spilt coffee all over them).

Don't stay there if you have allergies - the dust and mold (both very much visible) triggered a migraine for me even though I left the door to the outside open until the last possible second before I went to sleep (and I wasn't in the room much except the 6 hours of sleeping).

They have a gym, but, no one in their right mind would probably use it - there is a giant window/door that faces the parking lot/Staples so anyone can just stare you running on the treadmill. There are no curtains for privacy!

Our toilet wouldn't stop running which was pretty annoying, one of our beds was broken and tilted forward, and, my favorite, there were these signs warning you not to take the towels. I don't know who would - you could see right through them and they could barely wrap around my body (and i'm a size 4).

So, I don't know why anyone would ever stay here. I didn't choose it - which is why I ended up here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed here while traveling through Hadley toward the end of April, 2012. I arrived late, after finding no rooms at another hotel. I didn't even know that Howard Johnson was still in business.

My room felt a bit tired, and my bedbug search (which I do in high-end hotels, too) only showed a couple of raisins down behind the bed, and a fair amount of dust. The bed was comfortable, and the shower had plenty of pressure and hot water (I'm referring to a negative review here). I didn't hear any noise from neighbors.

One of my (growing) gripes is lack of electrical outlets in hotels anywhere near the desk, and dim lighting as bulbs are being swapped over to compact fluorescents. The same was true here--to plug my computer in, I had to crouch in front of the low cabinet which held the TV, and the room was a little dim.

However, you make decisions about where you stay--for this trip, I was traveling without my wife and wanted to keep my lodgings as cheap as possible. For a night's "crash," this HoJo's was fine. However, if they want to survive as a business, they're going to want to think about buffing up the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gathering_No_Moss_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Address: 401 Russell St, I-91 Ex 19 & Rt-9, Hadley, MA 01035-9578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel Hadley
Howard Johnson Hadley
Hadley Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing