We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff~ poor construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is a clean and modern hotel. The staff from the reception desk to the cleaning staff were all professional and pleasant.

The pool is a bit small so we waited for it to empty out . Not more than one family can be in the pool at one time. The gym, equally is small but if there is no one else there, basic and efficent.
The noise as suggested by other reviewers is the main problem. If you are a light sleeper, the noise enters the rooms easily. There is a gap between the door and the hallway. The walls are rather thin as well. The blackout curtains can be much better. I have stayed at hotels where the blackout curtains keep light out. Here they leak light and it is harder to stay alseep with the light.
The location is convenient if you are visiting colleges in the neighborhood. The best coffee shop is Amherst Coffe, less than 5 min. away by car.
The small Amherst downtown is wonderful for foodies. The best bookstore is in So Hadley. It is a must visit bookstore.
As mentioned before the staff at this hotel is excellent. Note, the hotel breakfast is not free.
For a charge there is a chef who can make omlettes and then the regular buffet breakfast. There is a wait staff to bring coffee and OJ as well.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 222 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2010

A relatively new Courtyard with all the expected amenities: restaurant, work-out room, free Wi-Fi, functional, clean rooms--no schnick-schnack. One knows what to expect from this concept. The only gripe I had was with the price for the room during this time period in this particular, rather out-of-the way town. Far too expensive!! The Howard Johnson's next door looked new and there were other choices on Rt. 9 that likely would have offered the same comfort level at a far more reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingwithdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my two girls and my aunt. We were on a road trip in new england looking at camps. The hotel appears new. The rooms were well decorated and spotless. The kids enjoyed the pool. The staff was friendly. The lobby is designed to be a common area, with a lounge area, TV and computers all in one clubby room This was great because my aunt and I were able to have a glass of wine near the kids while they used the computer. The only disappointment was the breakfast. It was nothing special, and I would have been happier if it had been free.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This is a very comfortable hotel, and the desk staff was completely on the ball -- helpful, friendly, always aware of what was needed. Things were a bit noisy in the hallway one evening, but it was the aftermath of a wedding. What can you do, and I wish the couple well.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaucerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We priceline'd this hotel last minute at a great rate. It's a step above the Holiday Inn Express where we stayed the next night.

This hotel is very conveniently located between Amherst and Northampton with easy access to the colleges, recreation and plenty of shopping movies etc. Parking is plentiful and painless.Our rooms was clean, spacious and well kept. The lobby area was nice with a large lounge bar area, fireplace and internet enable computers and free wi-fi throughout.

The pool and hot tub area is a bit small, but the gym is great for a hotel - full set of dumbells and benches, with a precor universal machine as well as precor treadmill, bike and elliptical.

Breakfast is not included and we didn't have any food here so can't comment on that.

I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunksny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

On arrival one staff member was on the phone and the other stepped away from the desk to help other customers. When the girl on the phone hung up she would not look at us and started tidying up the desk. As we stood there with our luggage she finally said “are you all set?” Did she think two people standing at the desk with their luggage were all set. Her excuse was she thought someone else was helping us. She gave us directions to our room so fast we had to ask her to repeat them twice. It was not a good way to start our stay there.
The hotel is very nice with clean comfortable rooms. The mattress was too hard for me but my husband liked it. We had breakfast in the hotel which was a typical hotel buffet breakfast with a great waitress.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lheuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

This is an otherwise nice hotel with a competent staff - but the building's structural flaws create so much noise particularly when your neighbors above do ANY walking, that I would only stay here again in an emergency.
The stomping around in the room above me started at about 11:45 PM -- went on till about 1 am and started up again at 7:15. I called the front desk to ask if she could possibly ask my upstairs "neighbors" to "keep it down." The employee was very nice - very apologetic and said she would surely call them.
I have no idea whether she did or not, as their galloping around continued at full blast. When I realized that trying to fall back to sleep would be futile, I called back and asked to be moved.
I could tell by her quick answer that these employees have likely encountered this request numerous times. My new room on the third floor was indeed better - but the hotel itself is all-around noisy. The walls are thin, you hear doors closing AND opening -- and lots of people talking even when they are outdoors in the parking lot and you are inside.
As previous posters explained some of this appears to be due to a manner of construction that uses flexible framing. I don't know enough about construction to add anything specific here, but based on what I encountered it sounds right. The ceiling did appear to vibrate or shake a bit -- and the apparent hollowness between the ceiling and floor above appears to contribute to the decibel level with every footstep.
It's really a shame cause the place is pretty, and well run.
Check in was smooth. The hotel is sparkling clean. As with most Marriotts, it's Pepsi products only, so it's all second-rate sodas and snacks in the little shop. King room was one of those disconcerting Courtyard Kings with the bed facing the window instead of the TV (when on earth is Courtyard going to get rid of this nonsensical design?). The double room on the third floor was great. The mattress and bed linens were ok, but the towels here are bad news -- non absorbent and flimsy.
Next time I will try the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobertaAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
2.1 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
5.5 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
447 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hadley Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hadley Amherst

Address: 423 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range: $143 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hadley Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Platinum award winning facility. Where modern conveniences such as 30 meg high speed internet make both visits for pleasure and work more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Hadley Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hadley Amherst Hotel Hadley
Hadley Courtyard
Hadley Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing