We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel but breakfast not included”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence
Manalapan, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel but breakfast not included”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are never sure why some Marriott hotels include breakfast (Fairfield Inn) and some don't (Courtyard), but overall we were happy with this hotel. The mattresses, bathrooms, everything, super clean and comfortable. Staff welcoming, responsive, friendly. They had great suggestions for local eateries and gave us directions when we needed them. They also supplied extra towels and toilet paper in our room within minutes of us asking. Great place centrally located to the colleges and small town centers in the Amherst area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    76
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
102
32
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have not stayed in a hotel with a more professional, cordial, go-out-of-their-way-to-help-you staff. The staff at check-in went out of their way to be helpful and I thought it just could not get any better. However, the staff the next morning was just as good (General Manager, my stay was 3/28 so you can identify the staff on duty). This was even more extraordinary since the hotel was sold out due to an admitted student orientation at UMass on Friday.
This is a tip for anyone ordering food delivery. Don't. Drive to the restaurant and pick it up yourself. Many of the nearby restaurants use the services of a delivery service. We ordered dinner and it arrived without eating utensils. I had a hard time believing a delivery service would not anticipate the need for eating utensils if the delivery was to a hotel.I was told it was not included because I DID not ask for it. So why don't you have your order taker to ask? After all, she asked me if I wanted to add the tip right then and there. The manager said eating utensils are not included because, 'we would have to buy it.'
So, I had to change out of my pajamas and go hunting in the hotel for silverware. Lucky for me, the hotel staff was much more accommodating than the delivery service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

After 5 nights in a Manhattan hotel, we really enjoyed the spaciousness of the rooms at the Marriott! The rooms are well designed, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful and there was a nice looking pool and exercise center although we didn't have time to use either. Just a few minutes away from downtown Amherst by car. While we were staying there was a lacrosse team at the hotel and they were a bit raucous. I'm not sure if that is a regular occurrence, but you might want to check when you book and ask to be put in a room away from the team!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

While I appreciate the finer amenities of a good hotel - poofy comforters, blackout drapes, tasteful art, yummy room service - the bottom line for me is decent internet. I'd rather sleep on the floor and have a solid signal, than sleep in a 4 poster bed with 20 color-coordinated pillows and a hand-carved headboard -- and be without internet. I need high speed internet for my semi-serious hobby of raiding in massive multiplayer online games; my husband needs the same, and my son needs it for maintaining his winning streak in online strategy games.

At this hotel, internet was great (<50 ms lag) until folks started logging on in the evening. The hotel's bandwidth cap was reached about 8 pm, at which point, everyone and everything crashed, and stayed that way.. My (virtual) teammates were killed as me, their healer, disconnected repeatedly and had enormous lag spikes.. My husband was thrown out of his game. My son, who had paid an entry fee to an online competition and was winning, had to leave the competition. None of us could recover. Once the bandwidth cap is reached, Bluestreak (the hotel's internet provider) doesn't allow further people to log on (which in general is a service to those already online, but still is infuriating to those who can't get online or who were kicked off).. We knew the risks of trying to actually use hotel internet - it's often just terrible - but were hoping against hope that this particular hotel had managed to outpace the usual dreadful internet delivery problems hotels have.

My ongoing small service to the online community is to write reviews about hotel internet and try to suggest to hotels that they increase their bandwidth and get a decent signal - nothing elaborate, just something approaching what you'd get in terms of reliability and speed if you were at home using DSL or cable. So, in this case I did talk to the hotel front desk, and they said they'd gotten permission to upgrade the internet (yay!), but how soon and how much were rather nebulous. By the way, their router placement was fine (many bars); it was just the overall bandwidth that was the major issue (continually disconnecting, or no ability to log on at all)..

Here's hoping the hotel management fixes this problem, because otherwise, this was a very nice hotel. Beautiful 2 room suites, capable staff, insanely good location if you're touring the Amherst-area colleges (as we were).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pretre_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean W, General Manager at Courtyard Hadley Amherst, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We are on the last leg of our Internet improvement strategy. We have installed fiber optic, 30mg up 30 mg down pipeline. The hardware needed to carry such a large bandwidth is slated for install during the month of April. We are very aware of the importance of uninterrupted Wifi through out the hotel,. I'm happy to report that thru feedback from our guests such as yourself, we will have the best network in the region in a matter of weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and I am never disappointed. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The rooms are large and well appointed. You don't feel cramped. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. Mat was excellent. We had breakfast at the hotel, it is not included with the room but the price was reasonable and the quality of the food was good. We will be back next year.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank disneyworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, CT
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were in Amherst touring the University and this hotel was perfect and looks like a new hotel. It's clean and very convenient to just about everything. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff couldn't be more helpful. We're hoping to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouthport
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

First stay, as we attended Open House at Umass for accepted students Fall 2013. Room was spacious and very clean. (I am super Picky!!!). Average furnishings. Bathroom nicely done and shower spray was even sufficient, instead of a trickle.
Had a lovely glass of wine in front of fireplace in lobby. Staff was super helpful, from great recommendation for dinner to excellent service in the lounge.
Asked for 3rd floor room, very quiet, with view of Holyoke Range. Noticed you are able to open windows, they look like regular house windows and have screens, so you could enjoy fresh air instead of "canned hotel" air if you wished. Will be back over the next 4 years :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean W, General Manager at Courtyard Hadley Amherst, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Wonderful area to attend college, I'm an Aulmni Class of "93"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
2.1 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
457 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
171 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hadley Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hadley Amherst

Property: Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Address: 423 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hadley Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Platinum award winning facility. Where modern conveniences such as 30 meg high speed internet make both visits for pleasure and work more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Hadley Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hadley Amherst Hotel Hadley
Hadley Courtyard
Hadley Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing