We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional personal… not worth staying !”
Review of Knights Inn Hadley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Hadley
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unprofessional personal… not worth staying !”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

In short: after staying three nights at the hotel, visitors were forced to pay for an additional night when they announced their intention to check out from the hotel. The visitors wanted to change the hotel because of the poor conditions of the rooms. They told the receptionist /manager of their intentions of leaving immediately after the first night of their stay. Through double talk and liess, the manager forced the visitors to pay and stay in the hotel for three additional nights. Among other things the manager clamed (lied) that the reservation had to be canceled over internet at least 24 hours prior to check-out. This turned out to be yet another lie as the reservation could not be located on the Knights Inn web site since the reservation was already honored by visitor checking in on the first day of their reservation. Be careful of their business practices if you decide to stay there!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    12
    11
    16
See reviews for
22
11
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
upstate New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This basic "strip mall" type motel met our needs perfectly. The room was clean and comfortable, included a refrigerator and microwave, comfortable bed, was quiet and close to events and shopping that we were in the area for. The motel is dated and the furniture is basic, but we were quite happy with "no frills". We didn't mind that the furniture was not in perfect condition.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lylfaceem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

If this were the last place in Hadley, sleep in your car! Owner is rude and the place is disgusting. Shower curtain was all moldy, but she did change it. Truthfully, none of us in the room would even venture into the tub even after that. The furniture looked like a dog chewed it all up; the bed made so much noise it was laughable. Well, the TV worked at least. I could go on and on, but it's not worth it - literally. Whatever you do, DON'T STAY HERE.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hadley hotels

Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Not going to spend much time on this, not worth it. Rude, Dirty, Ugly. If they spent more time cleaning and less time watching their security cameras and threatning you, it could help. Breakfast in the morning is an after thought so don't even bother.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's close to the students at UMASS. First of all they put through the whole charge before we even checked in. They tried giving me something different then we had booked. Owner (who is nasty and a real shyster) told us he does the cleaning himself and it looks it. Hairs in the bathroom, so much dust under the TV (TV's that still have dials on them!), the smell in there was horrid, but there are no screens on the windows so you can't open them for long, the towels were paper thin as were the pillows. Just not anywhere worth the money. We have been staying in the area for 8 years now and I've never experienced anything like this. Only chose if desperate!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umasstravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking to stay in the Amherst/Hadley/Northampton area for a staycation of sorts. We chose the Knights Inn, as it was the least expensive option of all the accommodations in the area. Located on Route 9 in Hadley, it is near many other hotels, as well as restaurants, the movie theater, the local mall, several grocery stores (including Whole Foods and Trader Joe's, if you prefer those types of places), CVS Pharmacy, the post office, it's all right there within a mile or two. I didn't meet the owner, as my boyfriend checked us in, but he didn't report any problems. The Knights Inn is a motel and it is only one floor. It is a "no-frills" option, as it were, but I found it to be clean and adequate for our one night's stay. Yes, the TV is a bit old. Yes, there isn't a ton of counter space in the bathroom. Yes, it's odd that there is no actual blanket on the bed, just the comforter that everyone who stays in a hotel takes off, expecting a blanket underneath. Yes, the air conditioner is loud. But it has a fridge and a microwave, it has wi-fi, it has cable (including HBO), it has a free continental breakfast (which I can't comment on because we didn't indulge). It was clean, relatively quiet, and cheap. There is a Mexican restaurant literally right next door that people seem to love, though I've never been there. Bottom line? I can't complain, I'd stay there again, and I think some of the reviews touting this as an awful place are unfair. It's a bit outdated and if you are looking for a luxury hotel, look elsewhere. But if you need an inexpensive, clean place to stay for a night or two? This is a decent value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chedeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Staff so friendly after a 7 hour drive. Very helpful with my dumb questions. Maybe a mid to high price but with the colleges in the area you can't find a better deal. Huge bathroom big room, quiet. Love it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekster37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hadley hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
171 reviews
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
141 reviews
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Hadley

Property: Knights Inn Hadley
Address: 208 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Hadley 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor heated pool; comfortable Cloud 9 bed; wireless internet access, On the House hot breakfast buffet, 100% Hampton guarantee, 24-hour coffee/tea in lobby, business center, conveniently located just off I-91, minutes from UMass Amherst, Smith College, Hampshire College, Mt. Holyoke College & Amherst College. Minutes from downtown Northampton. Hotel opened in 2005. #1 Hampton Inn in New England according to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Hadley Hotel Hadley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing