We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nouveau Italian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmelina's @ The Commons - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carmelina's @ The Commons
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boothbay, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nouveau Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Carmelina's was recommended by a neighbor! This is a five college area so we both have kids who go to school there. Food was good. Nicely presented. Don't go there overly hungry. Old world flavors but not overly abundant plates. I certainly would return!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    9
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crazy Alfredo!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

I've had a few different entrees here and I've been disappointed by all but one, the crazy Alfredo. Perfectly blended spices and sausage with the classic al dente pasta. I only wish the rest of the menu could meet these standards. The restaurant itself is a bit cramped. The service is better on slow nights and I suspect that the waitstaff is suffering from under-management because they seem to have a real desire to provide great service, they simply don't have the support to accomplish it! I will continue to visit because this place really is the best Italian restaurant in the area. I just think that it could be better.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Askmeaboutmystay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Save your money, unless of course you have lots of it to spend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

It was just "fancy" food prepared poorly, poor, slow service--despite the place being more than 1/2 empty, and just not worth it. I had been before and felt it was better, but now it's on my "don't ever go again" list. I hate to write poor reviews, but for a place that is supposed to be swanky with high prices, it should end up feeling that way through the whole meal/experience. I think it was the owner sitting at the bar saying goodbye to everyone, he should spend a little time going from table to table and asking for honest feedback, not just a generic "how was things?". He needs to know what people think.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowtiebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Wine and Desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Seafood Crazy is the best thing I have ever tasted! My husband and I get it whenever we want a special occasion restaurant. We have never been disappointed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sad state of affairs at Carmelinas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

June 23, 2012....I took my family to finally experience my FAVORITE restaurant of all times....Carmelinas. I had not been there for over a year or so. I couldn't believe it. No bloody mary mix for that cocktail. No Jose Cuervo. No A1 sauce. No mussels or prime rib.....major menu items...not specials! Remember in the 90's when the menu was huge and at the very end of it, it said: You'll find everything on this menu except spaghetti and meatballs. Well, now, spaghetti and meatballs screams at you as one of the few regular pasta entrees. OmG. No more fall off the bone shank entrees. Such a signature dish!!! Granted. The menu has been streamlined over the years but always there were exceptional specials and only the finest of cuisine on the regular menu. Not any more! One of my dinner guests did not touch his food. Some sort of pasta/seafood dish with red sauce with a monster jalepeno that just poisoned the dish. No linguine and clam sauce! In any shape or form. Whoever the new owner is....he did not buy the menu. It appears he was able to buy a couple of the signature alfredo recipes. I will say the limited filet mignon menu was delicious....I had the gorgonzola choice. The staff was really nice under the circumstances....having to disappoint with all the items NOT available. But, no mention if you wanted cracked pepper or parmesan with your meal either. Very disappointing. I want Carmelina's BACK.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissZ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmelina's @ The Commons also viewed

Hadley, Hampshire County
Hadley, Hampshire County
 
Hadley, Hampshire County
Hadley, Hampshire County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing