We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs”
Review of Econo Lodge Hadley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Hadley
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Stayed here for two nights and will never go back. Woke up with bites all over my body. The place looks clean enough but it isn't. I wouldn't recommend it. We initially had a room with two beds but we switched to a room with a King Size bed as soon as it became available... the first room felt fine [and we should have stayed in that one] but when we switched rooms, I immediately felt itchy all over. Come morning, I woke up with what looked like a red rash on my arms, back and neck. Ugh.

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank KeanaBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Hadley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 144 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2008

The Econo Lodge on Rt 9 in Hadley is simply the cleanest, cheapest place to stay when visiting the Five College area. Nothing fancy, but the property is newly built and there is a small swimming pool. It is located across the parking lot from a good number of chain stores that have popped up over the last few years but some of the rooms on the upper floors still have lovely pastoral views. They jack the price way up in mid-to-late May for the college graduations, but the rest of the year the price is a very reasonable $70-80.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mocakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

My wife and i have been travelling in northern USA for a few weeks so we have stopped in B&Bs, inns and motels.

Two nights prior to this we had stopped in an Econo Lodge in New Haven which was a complete dump.(See the review)

It was a Saturday night so the B&Bs were full so it had to be a chain motel, the Holiday Inn etc were very expensive so we tried the EL. And compared to the New Haven lodge you were in a different world.

I think it may have just been refitted as everthing looked new, the only thing that let it down was the linen, it looked a little worn. There was also free WIFI and the hotel is handy for the Cinema. At $140 it was a tad expensive but we would go back.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank Justinevw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

I’d rate this hotel a full star above the average EconoLodge. It compares favorably to nearby chain establishments at which I've stayed, but is priced significantly lower. Comfortable, clean bedding and furnishings, it is a relatively new hotel (4 yrs). Shopping center and Cinemas near hotel, with easy access to area colleges, as well as shopping / restaurants in Amherst and Northampton. Great value for area. A very minor annoyance, our two door lock key cards were erroneously deactivated after our 1st night, even though we were scheduled for a two night stay; disk person said contact with our cell phones probably de-magnitized,, although mine hardly left my wallet and other was used once on initial entry and left on table in room.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nearalbanyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

We began our college tour with a night at the Econo Lodge. A friend of mine had stayed at this location & said it was very nice. It was very clean and quiet and the hotel staff was very accommodating. Would stay again. I would not necessarily stay at an Econo but this location is definitely better than expected.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank red728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We went up to the Big E and waited too long to book a room, so all the hotels in West Springfield were full. We finally found the Econo Lodge in Hadley for a good price, $100 a night and weren't expecting much. But this is THE nicest Econo Lodge I have ever seen. The hotel looked like it wasn't that old, the rooms were nice and clean, and the front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating. The pool is nice, but really small and pass on the continental breakfast. The food isn't that good and the waffles are just frozen eggo waffles that they heated up. There's a Diner down the street though that has an awesome breakfast. The location was really good and there were all kinds of stores and restaurants to go to. The only other negative, beware going outside in the morning because there is a very, very strong "farm smell", but that's not any fault of the hotel. We probably would not stay here again just because there are other hotels in the area, but for travelers on a budget this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 1,515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

My boyfriend and I were impressed with the Econolodge on Route 9 in Hadley. We were not expecting much for $60 a night, but the lobby and room were clean, and the staff was friendly and accomodating. It's a good location since it's right between Northampton and Amherst.

The walls seemed pretty thin, as noise carried from room to room very easily. Our one complaint is that our room was on the same floor as a four family group that was traveling together, and they talked loudly and didn't know how to close a door without slamming it. This mostly happened when they were all getting ready to go somewhere together and were walking between rooms. I called the front desk and asked what we should do if the noise got any worse, and they said they would be happy to come up and take care of it, which was reassuring. Fortunately, it didn't end up being a major problem.

We had previously stayed at the Amherst Motel which is so-so for $50 a night for two people, but since it was only ten dollars more a night we thought we'd give Econolodge a try.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank essicaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Hadley
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
185 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Hadley

Address: 329 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-3535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range: $74 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Hadley 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hadley Hotel Hadley
Hadley Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing