We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed one night and were disappointed. The staff was very nice and the place is clean. But, our room was small and cheaply appointed. The pool and hot tub were ok.

The breakfast was disgusting. Microwaved frozen everything. I wish we skipped it and paid for a nice breakfast elsewhere.

For the price, this place should be much better. I recommend spending a few extra bucks and stay at the Marriott nearby. It will be worth every penny extra.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fpmr96a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 253 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night on the 14th September en route to Salem, MA - I wanted to visit the Yankee Candle Flagship store on our way from New York (via Mystic, CT) to Salem and I know someone who works for Holiday Inn so I get a "friends and family" rate on participating hotels and this hotel is only about 8 miles away from Yankee Candle so we decided to stay here. It is a lovely and clean hotel, our room was spacious and clean with a king size bed, large TV, sitting area and a desk. We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel but the ladies on reception were very nice and happy to help and advise us on nearby restaurants for dinner. The breakfast was included in the price of the hotel and was nice, a couple of hot options (omelettes and sausages) with toast, cereals, muffins, pastries and yoghurts together with a couple of coffees, tea and fruit juices. If we're ever passing through that area again we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouLouDudley_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

It's a holiday inn express, so we weren't expecting much. It was fine, but the sheets were scratchy and rough.

We were staying two nights & wanted to extend for a third. The front desk woman told us they had plenty of room, but when I called back to book the extension, they were full. And she got very snotty with me about it.

We are moving to the Hampton Inn & will not look back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I have stayed at several Holiday Inn Express Hotels and this one was not on par with the others. It looks very nice from the outside, but the inside is in need of updating. The carpets are of the banquet-room type, and the wallpaper is very outdated 80's floral type of thing.

The rooms are a reasonable size; we had a room with two queens in the "Business" class floor of the hotel. The layout of the room was a little odd because the desk chair stuck out into the room such that it was hard to get past it. The beds were very comfortable, although the pillows were not. The bathroom was a good size and well equipped, although the bath tub was teeny tiny. The fan in the bathroom was extremely loud, and connected to the light so you could not turn it off.

We did not need much in the way of service. Check-in was very fast and the staff was friendly and efficient. For breakfast, it was self-serve and things were replenished quickly as they ran out. Breakfast was included in the rate, but really not very good. The eggs and sausage were similar to what you would get at McDonalds (pre-made, and heated up). The muffins, bagels and cinnamon rolls tasted like poor quality store-brand pastries. There was a decent variety of food, but it just wasn't very good.

The whirlpool had to be closed down when we arrived due to a problem with the water. The pool was okay, but very small. There is a lovely patio area just outside the pool area.

The "fitness center" was postage stamp sized; itsy bitsy. I did not use it so do not know if the few machines they had were in working order.

Nice to have free wifi, and there was a computer in the lounge area on the first floor.

Everything was adequate, but not wonderful in any category.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I have to echo an earlier review that the suites are not worth it. Ours was essentially a larger room that was divided in half. The front half had a fan in the wall that ran all the time, was quite loud, and really did not move air into the front of the suite. Certainly this was not worth the extra expense and we were disappointed in what they called a suite. That said, the beds were comfortable and the location was very good with easy access to all parts of Amherst or Northampton. It was a bit dated and we saw a sign somewhere that seemed to indicate the hotel was in the process of updating the rooms which would be a good thing. In all other respects this was what you would expect of a Holiday Inn Express: the pool was decent, the breakfast was OK, and the hotel was set back just a bit from the road and was very quiet. Also, the windows open just a bit but plenty of breeze came through and that was nice in the morning. I am giving it a 3 largely because the fan between the rooms was annoying and interrupted our sleep a bit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

I made this reservation by phone and was pleased with the effort the person making the reservation made to try to accommodate my family. When we arrived we had been given a very large two room suite, with two queen beds, couch, table desk, comfy chairs, a microwave, fridge and the usual. The size of the room was great and made our stay very enjoyable. We twice used the pool and had it and the whirlpool all to ourselves. It has a laundry, continental breakfast with eggs and sausage and several bread choices along with milk, juice,coffe and such. Plenty of convenient parking and stores and restaurants conveniently nearby. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familytraveling09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I booked a king suite for the week-end of June 5-7, 2010. Looking at the hotel web site, the room looked really big. Although it had all it advertised, the room did have a king size bed and a pull out couch. I've stayed in a standard room with the same ameneties for a lot less money. I even asked at the desk when we checked in if we could downgrade to two standard rooms instead, was told, all sold out for the weekend..sports team were there for the weekend.
The breakfast was minimal at best...cold eggs and not much variety for such a large hotel chain.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jt2looie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
192 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley

Address: 400 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range: $108 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amherst/Hadley, is located in the Pioneer Valley, conveniently situated near Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith College, and the University of Massachusetts. Our 100 rooms include a business class floor and 22 suites. Enjoy complimentary, deluxe 'Smart Start' breakfast, including hot items; wireless high-speed Internet; and use of our indoor pool and fitness room. Explore all our area has to offer and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley Hotel Hadley
Holiday Inn Express Hadley
Holiday Inn Hadley
Hadley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing