We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money we paid.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not worth the money we paid.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We picked this hotel for our anniversary get-away even though it was on the expensive side because they had a "beautiful hot tub and indoor pool." But, we were disappointed to find out that the hot tub was closed and the pool water was so cold I couldn't get in. The desk clerk didn't bother to tell us that the hot tub was closed or we wouldn't have stayed. We had walked all day and were really looking forward to relaxing in the hot tub. It would have been nice if they would have offered something for the inconvenience and I would probably not be writing this bad review. The breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I'm terribly sorry for the inconvenience you encountered at our facility. Our website was updated with a travel advisory due to our hot tub being down for repair, but nonetheless, I'm disappointed you were not able to experience the hotel the way you had envisioned it. I'd love to speak with you to arrange something nice for a future date that would allow you to enjoy the hotel for a night away! Please reach out at your earliest convenience to discuss the possibilities. Thank you for leaving your feedback, I hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    111
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
116
32
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed there on June 9, 2014 for one evening. It was pleasantly spacious, clean, well appointed and well maintained. I was very impressed and would stay there again. Though the coffee was a little weak, having a quick bite before departing was also nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EjwEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights while I was helping my daughter pack up to come home for the summer. The front desk employees were helpful and friendly as always. I asked for a room on the first floor and it was very nice - much easier than using the elevator and pulling suitcases. They had a nice table of cookies, brownies, drinks etc one day for students who graduated. The free breakfast was good two days out of three. One day the eggs were cold and sausage was dry. The room was nice and I slept well. We will definitely stay here again when we visit. A good deal for what you pay. Parking was excellent (I always found a space near the front entrance).On our way out, my daughter & I were struggling with our luggage and an employee helped us with our luggage - very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridaforever09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is clean, comfortable, and convenient. The staff welcomed us warmly, and this feeling lasted throughout our stay. The wi-fi was somewhat weak, but other than that the stay was very nice. Professionally managed hotel.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room at the back of the building and if you park in the back you will be very clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calumetsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Delightful little hotel - completely self service, one has to just eat breakfast to know what self service means! They have an automatic pancake maker, that actually makes pancakes on its own! A first time experience for me...Large rooms, very comfortable bathrooms, sparkling clean, on the main highway - a great choice for parents like me taking their children to UMass.

Room Tip: Rooms off the highway have lesser noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prinx74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I love this hotel. Free breakfast that includes omelets, potatoes, pancakes, cinnamon rolls (you HAVE to try these!), muffins, toast, and all sorts of drinks. And free daily cookies around 3 p.m. It is close to the Hampshire Mall, however, you have to jaywalk to get to the mall (there aren't any intersections close by). The room was very comfortable except the walls seemed to be thin when a rowdy bunch became my neighbors and talked loudly (I could hear everything) late into the night. The wi-fi was not very strong either. Overall, though, great service, great food, and great rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEtravels1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Hotel is clean and bright. Furniture is clean/attractive and room is set up well (although I moved the ottoman after I crashed into the second time). Comfortable bed, nice large bathroom with plenty of towels and shelves to get stuff out of the way. Stayed on the third floor, away from revelers and it was quiet. Front desk staff were very professional, well-trained. I was with a group of crazed middle aged people in town for a wedding and the staff took our weirdness in stride. Restaurants, shops, CVS, etc. nearby. Quick ride to downtown Amherst. My companions were unhappy with the breakfast but I have seen so much worse. There were yogurts, fruit, bagels and cereal if the hot options were not appealing. The breakfast room was not right off the front door as in so many places, so was a nice area to sit and chat in. And the WiFi worked.

Room Tip: Go for third floor, not facing the pool if you can. The elevator is slow though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
171 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Address: 400 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amherst/Hadley, is located in the Pioneer Valley, conveniently situated near Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith College, and the University of Massachusetts. Our 100 rooms include a business class floor and 22 suites. Enjoy complimentary, deluxe 'Smart Start' breakfast, including hot items; wireless high-speed Internet; and use of our indoor pool and fitness room. Explore all our area has to offer and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley Hotel Hadley
Holiday Inn Express Hadley
Holiday Inn Hadley
Hadley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing