We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldnt have a better experience in a Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Couldnt have a better experience in a Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Delightful little hotel - completely self service, one has to just eat breakfast to know what self service means! They have an automatic pancake maker, that actually makes pancakes on its own! A first time experience for me...Large rooms, very comfortable bathrooms, sparkling clean, on the main highway - a great choice for parents like me taking their children to UMass.

Room Tip: Rooms off the highway have lesser noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prinx74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    109
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
112
32
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I love this hotel. Free breakfast that includes omelets, potatoes, pancakes, cinnamon rolls (you HAVE to try these!), muffins, toast, and all sorts of drinks. And free daily cookies around 3 p.m. It is close to the Hampshire Mall, however, you have to jaywalk to get to the mall (there aren't any intersections close by). The room was very comfortable except the walls seemed to be thin when a rowdy bunch became my neighbors and talked loudly (I could hear everything) late into the night. The wi-fi was not very strong either. Overall, though, great service, great food, and great rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEtravels1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Hotel is clean and bright. Furniture is clean/attractive and room is set up well (although I moved the ottoman after I crashed into the second time). Comfortable bed, nice large bathroom with plenty of towels and shelves to get stuff out of the way. Stayed on the third floor, away from revelers and it was quiet. Front desk staff were very professional, well-trained. I was with a group of crazed middle aged people in town for a wedding and the staff took our weirdness in stride. Restaurants, shops, CVS, etc. nearby. Quick ride to downtown Amherst. My companions were unhappy with the breakfast but I have seen so much worse. There were yogurts, fruit, bagels and cereal if the hot options were not appealing. The breakfast room was not right off the front door as in so many places, so was a nice area to sit and chat in. And the WiFi worked.

Room Tip: Go for third floor, not facing the pool if you can. The elevator is slow though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed here for a local conference taking place at UMass. The hotel was a straight shot down 116 from the college campus, less than two miles. Parking was plentiful.

Check-in was very smooth and pleasant. My room, with two queen beds, was spacious and clean. I had friend stayed at the hotel on campus and our room was more spacious in the bedroom and the bathroom.

Breakfast both mornings was well-stocked with lots of variety. The breakfast room was clean and well-staffed. Coffee was hot & delicious and the pancake maker was hard at work! The breakfast room was just off of a little "living room" area, off the front lobby.

I did not use the exercise room or pool but passed them on my way to the stairs and they seemed clean, although on the small side (which is typical).

Check-out was smooth. I had little interaction with the staff mostly because the need didn't present itself. But they were always pleasant, smiling & engaging.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly2851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were in town for a wedding. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean, including all the common areas. Our suite room was spacious. Free breakfast was plentiful and well stocked. Located on a main road so lots of local dining options and a short drive to the college campuses. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junebugsrbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel seems quite new, and it is lovely. It was very close to Amherst College, and our room was clean and spacious. There were ample pillows, and our duvet was soft and comfortable. Breakfast was good, including some hot dishes like pancakes. The staff was friendly, and we would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: It was very quiet on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loricapress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

In this gorgeous area of Western Massachusetts – amid autumn colors, beautiful campuses, and historic towns – it’s sometimes difficult to find lodging that’s not overpriced or undermanaged. In this case – as with most IHG properties that we choose – the price and management were both excellent: large, comfortable rooms (including work space if needed); professional, helpful and eager staff; strong emphasis on cleanliness and upkeep; quiet rooms and hallways; access to local information, large shopping areas, notable eateries, and sightseeing. The only glitch in the entire 4-night stay was the Wi-Fi setup: whether that was due to off-site equipment or on-site difficulties, I don’t know; the staff did seem concerned about the situation, but that matter continued throughout the stay. Beyond that matter, we have strong, positive admiration for a well-run, handsome “home away from home!”

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasPadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear TexasPadre,

Thank you for staying with us for your recent four night stay. We are so elated to hear that you not only enjoyed the town and area but your enjoyed your stay as well. The staff was so pleased to hear that they were able to assist you with anything you needed. We do apologize about the disruption with the internet during your stay. We did have some technical difficulties and we had our internet provider working on resolving the problem. We are sincerely sorry that it wasn’t able to be resolved before your departure. We do hope to see you for your next visit to the area and thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Address: 400 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amherst/Hadley, is located in the Pioneer Valley, conveniently situated near Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith College, and the University of Massachusetts. Our 100 rooms include a business class floor and 22 suites. Enjoy complimentary, deluxe 'Smart Start' breakfast, including hot items; wireless high-speed Internet; and use of our indoor pool and fitness room. Explore all our area has to offer and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley Hotel Hadley
Holiday Inn Express Hadley
Holiday Inn Hadley
Hadley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing